We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal!”
Review of Umekes Ali'i Plaza

Umekes Ali'i Plaza
Ranked #19 of 311 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: “UMEKE” is the Hawaiian word for “bowl.” At any Umeke’s eating establishment, a majority of menu items are designed to be served in bowls. Owner and Head Chef Nakoa Pabre is a seasoned professional who takes pride in giving customers the freshest, most exciting and varied menus that the Big Island has to offer. Guests typically design their own custom meal by selecting from a wide variety of Hawaiian inspired entree items accompanied by their choice of sides. Umekes prides itself in serving dishes using local ingredients that are of the highest quality. We source as many ingredients as possible from local fisherman, farmers, and ranchers. Our renowned poke is always created with only the freshest fish from Hawaiian waters as we aspire to share the boat to bowl experience with all of our guests. Over the counter poke bowls, beer, and our famous lemonade are served at this establishment. Only outdoor seating is available.
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We went to this restaurant about 45 minutes before closing. The food was good and fresh. We never had a POKE bowl and was not sure how to order it or what to expect. So, with that in mind, I ordered a tuna bowl. I was not expecting an Ahi tuna salad along with rice (not my favorite, too sticky) and my side was a salmon "something" as I wasn't sure what I was ordering, just trying to be adventurous. So, it was good but I was hoping for something hot. Guess it was my fault but there was no good descriptions of the food.My hubby got lucky with his choice of short ribs. They were warm and flavorful and had sauce that could be used on the rice to spice it up. He also got the salmon "something". Which was good but didn't seem to go with the rest of the food. So all it all it was good, and next time I am going to ask a LOT more questons before I order. If you know what a POKE is then you are good. If not, best to ask.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ilene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Ali'i Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We recommend our "Hottie" poke if you like spicy, or you could always ask for some hot sauce to turn up the heat. Some of our most popular dishes we recommend on your next visit are our poke nachos, fish tacos, and of course our poke bowls. We hope to have you join us again someday soon.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018

This became our go-to lunch stop, we eventually went to dinner at their other restaurant which was also delicious. Had a few varieties of poke and the grilled ahi belly over a few days, great flavor on everything. The side dishes were delicious as well. We're going to miss this place, it tastes so much better than poke back home. For Kona prices it was a good deal - $14 for excellent food in a very casual setting with very friendly staff who get the food out quickly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dxmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Ali'i Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our fresh poke and service! We hope to have you join us again someday soon during your next trip to Big Island.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

By far the best poke that we had during our two weeks in the islands. Very fresh, bright flavors, generous portions, and reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Weminuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Manager at Umekes Ali'i Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our poke bowls! We hope to have you join us again during your next visit to Big Island.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Restaurants like this are the reason why I am using TripAdvisor. A hidden gem, but absolutely worth trying! Very fresh food, fair prices, don't have to miss a beer, fast preparation. Seats outside in the shadow. I can highly recommend this place.

Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Ali'i Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Aloha Oliver,

Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to have you join us again someday soon to try out more local favorites.

Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

At first we were unsure if we wanted to stop here it got recommended by a local we ran into at the beach at first we said why not it’s something new and when in Hawaii be like the locals right well when we got there I started second thinking like your about to eat some raw fish. We didn’t know what we were looking at we ended up having a plate with two choices of fish rice and a side. I’m glad we ended up stopping it was the best meal we had in the islands

Thank rjeffries54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Ali'i Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Aloha,

Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our poke bowls! We hope to have you join us again someday soon to try out more local favorites.

Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umekes Ali'i Plaza also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Umekes Ali'i Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing