We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just refurbished - now fresh & beautiful location”
Review of Kona Billfisher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Billfisher
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just refurbished - now fresh & beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We are orginal owners way back in1977, have used the Billfisher every year but one, for one month, Bought another unit in 2000 & now stay two months each summer.This is the best location in Kona, walk to everything!! Still a tourest destination worth visiting. Complete rehab this year & it's beautiful with new furnishings, paint & a large contigient of owners present. We love our summer home & welcome you to enjoy it also. Aloha!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ourporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The kona Billfisher was a disappointment, the location is fantastic as it is a 5 minute walk from the strip which is wonderful but the rooms are not very nice, it was clean but so small and the fridge and closets were rusty, the beds were hard the air conditioner is loud. It has coin laundry, you have to take out your own garbage, your only allowed to change your towels once a week, I think it would of been ok for just two people who want to save some money and stay outdoors all the time but definately not somewhere to go for comfort or luxury. The pool was ok at least it goes to 8ft and was not busy. The $50 check in fee is a rip, the fee for air conditioning is the norm in Kona. I would recommend the Royal Kona across the street it was nicer and has a great Luau.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We (married, 30s) stayed at the Kona Billfisher through RCI and almost didn't book because of some reviews, but we are glad we did. It was a great value. I always would rather spend my money on food and activities, and the Kona Billfisher did its job--a clean place to stay with a kitchen.

Our 2nd floor one-bedroom unit was the perfect size for two. Small kitchen had a full-sized refrigerator (although the outside of it was rusty, the inside worked fine). The bed in the bedroom was nice and firm. Small bathroom had lots of cabinet space. The sofa bed seemed uncomfortable if you had four people, but it was fine to sit on for us. Our unit had extra blankets, beach chairs, and mats. For how we vacation, it worked. Not a 5-star--if you're okay with not being waited on, it's good. Paying for air conditioning is no fun, but understandable. Would have liked a mat in the entry since we had to take our shoes off. Towel exchange twice a week was great (many timeshares that we've stayed at only do it once).

The place had tons of people that were decades older than us, (like 3 or 4 decades older!) but that meant it was pretty quiet. We might have been the youngest ones there, except for kids. It seemed fairly family-friendly with a non-party atmoshere, which was fine with us because we needed sleep for our activities! We didn't use the pool or other facilities there (who needs a pool when there's beaches to go to?) The front desk didn't impress us (we felt they were a bit anal--doing their job, I suppose, but a little rudely), but the cleaning staff seemed nice and prompt.

The location is the best. A short 5-minute walk (or less) to some good restaurants on Ali'i -- Bongo Ben's, U-Top It, Island Lava Java, Lulu's, and many more, and a short drive to other places in Kailua-Kona. I would stay here again if I got a decent price that I could afford.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SKPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

If you are looking for a clean comfortable time share place to stay at Kailua, this is it.

Close to everything, no pressure to buy anything, especially more timeshare. Reasonable facilities, internet available at a hotspot by the pool, good if a little expensive laundry facilities, & nice pool.

5 star it isn't, but it's all quite comfortable. 2 only slightly negative comments, the aircon is available at an extra price, but the quick run we gave the system convinced us that the noise probably wasn't worth it. As it turned out it was totally unnecessary in September.

And the 1 bedroom units are really not adequate for additional guests who are not your children. The pull out bed in the couch has ( as most of them do) a bar in just the wrong place for an adult to enjoy.

Those comments aside, we had a ground floor unit in G block. The large Lanai had a view to the water, and was very comfortable.

With those minor grumps, we loved the place. The Luau across the road was fantastic, breakfast places and shops in very easy walking distance, and there was a beach not far away.

For people who think of Hawaii as lots of white sandy beaches, it's had some good advertising, but with the exception of Waikiki on Oahu not as common as you'd think. Having said that Kailua is one place with a few sandy stretches between the lava flows, and has some excellent snorkelling. If you are lucky you can dive with the Manta's ( they were eating at a different hotel the night we tried), and visit the best little find anywhere - the Sea Horse Farm, not touristy, but great fun.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Stayed at the Kona Billfisher for one week in Unit O2. Nothing wrong with unit nor anything at the Billfisher. Grounds kept immaculate, good sized pool. Unit had a great view was in good shape although dated. Very clean and everything worked.

Close to the water,shopping and restuarants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.3 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,188 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
487 reviews
0.5 km away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
311 reviews
0.4 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#12 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Billfisher? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Billfisher

Property: Kona Billfisher
Address: 75-5841 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1329
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,670 - ₹ 18,098
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Billfisher 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kona Billfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Billfisher Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Billfisher Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing