We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Kona  Sunset Taken From Lanai (Patio)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Kona  Sunset Taken From Lanai (Patio)
Private Beach at Kona Isle View from Lanai(patio)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Beautiful Kona  Sunset Taken From Lanai (Patio)
Private Beach at Kona Isle
View from Lanai(patio)
Manucured Garden with Ocean Breezes
Ocean Front Lanai (Patio)
Well-Furnished private Bedroom
Newly Renovated Kitchen
Another photo of our new kitchen
New furniture in the oceanfront living room
Another photo of living room
Another Beautiful Sunset
Steps to Water Edge
Oceanfront Picnic Area
Beautiful Sunset at Kona Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Niels M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in paradise”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was my second stay here and just as good as the first time. When I walked in the door it was like I had come home. The immediate sense is of peace and quiet.... At night the sound of the waves send you to sleep and in the morning the bird song awakens you. What a great way to decompress on a holiday.

The view out the doors to the ocean is amazing and the sitting outside to watch the sunset with a cold drink is the perfect way to end a day!

The condo itself is immaculate and has everything you need for a short or long stay. I'm already looking forward to when I can return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfieonva...
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and private with stunning vistas!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Aloha! I've separated my review into sections:
Booking & Arrival: Jennifer takes care of everything you need to know, when you need to know. Effortless to find the location (we rented a car), assigned parking spot, and keyed entry.
The location: This is my 15th stay on the Hawaiian Islands, and second on The Big Island. This condo complex was quietly off the road (no traffic or pedestrian noise), was oceanfront, with beautiful views and the wonderful sounds of waves crashing on lava rock. The grounds were kept clean and manicured by the resident manager, Carol. There's lots of colorful birds, flowers, and green grass. Also a private beach area and BBQ area with lots of seating. The pool is small with comfortable chaise lounge chairs and large umbrella tables. It's a 5 minute drive to all the restaurants and shops of Kona, and a 10 minute drive to Safeway, Walmart, Costco. There's no smoking allowed anywhere on the grounds, including the parking lot. Most followed this rule; we had neighbors that did not.
The D2 Condo: Ground floor condo with a nice-sized lanai, with 2 large comfortable chairs and table. We spent a lot of time here, watching the waves and birds and a sneaky mongoose, who kept to the side tree area. Patio doors that open wide with screen doors. You'll want to keep these closed if you don't want birds coming in visit. They're tenacious! Everything you need is here: beach towels, extra foam fold-up beds, towels, toiletries, cleaning supplies, lots of bedding, pillows and towels, coffee maker, BBQ supplies....just everything! It's really comfortable and spacious in the kitchen/living area. The bathroom is very small, and gets no air circulation. It also smells a bit pungent, like sewer. Every so often, the drain in the shower area backs up suds and black dirt, which could be part of the issue. (I'll be sure to let Jennifer know). We left the fan on continuously in the bathroom because of the smell and humidity. We enjoyed the large overhead fans in all the rooms; we're from the prairies, and found it very humid with no air-conditioning. (That being said, air-conditioners are loud outside, and we didn't have to deal with that from any of the condos. It was beautifully quiet). Excellent Wi-Fi.
Cleanliness: the condo is cleaned prior to arrival, so the surface-cleaning of kitchen and bathroom was shiny. However, this condo could use a big cleaning. The floors were swept, and only in visible areas, but not washed and were dirty. There was dirt and sand under the mats and behind the couch had lots of dirt and a dead gecko. The decorative palm tree's leaves are needing a washing - that's a lot of dust. The towels and sheets were very clean and fresh.
Tips: Carol told us to take our trash out every night and not leave anything around that a cockroach would like. We were diligent about this; even if we left for a few hours, we sealed the garbage and put it in the fridge. Recycle. Visit the little library near the office. It's well maintained and stocked with LOTs of good books.
Encounters: We encountered a gigantic cockroach in the bathroom and on another occasion, the largest centipede we had ever seen (also in the bathroom). We purchased (and left) 2 cans of roach/bug spray. It's the tropics. And Carol had already warned us about the size of critters. Everything is 'big' on the Big Island!
Summary: Jennifer is lovely to work with and personalizes her communications, making everyone feel special. The condo is fabulous, for its location, size, amenities, and view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Morning coffee on the lanai
Liked least: No air-conditioning (but we managed without!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Aloha Alva and Paul,

Your kind words and comments are much appreciated.

The plumbing issue has been taken care of and our cleaning lady will be paying more attention to the detail. Thank you for telling us about the issues.

Although we have pest control regularly. it is not uncommon to see ""bugs"" on the tropical Island. However, we shall ask for reinspect and respray.

So glad you had a great time at our oceanfront condo at Kona Isle, please come back soon. You are wonderful couples and great guests.

Aloha,
Jennifer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikealey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect morning view”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Jennifer's condo in Kona for a week last week and it was a wonderful stay. Ideal location about a mile from Kailua Village and all the restaurants and shopping. Easy walk along Ali'i drive. We spent many morning and evenings on the condo just relaxing and listening to the waves crash. Much better than being in a hotel! Thanks Jennifer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finelight...
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This unit has everything we were expecting !”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This oceanfront 1 bedroom condo is an excellent value. It is on the first floor facing the ocean and has all the comforts of home. The complex is perfectly located within walking distance (if you take regular walks) to town. Jennifer, the owner is a pleasure to deal with. She went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this condo and wish we could have stayed longer. Be sure to take a swim in the salt water pool next to the property that is filled by crashing waves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent condition of the unit and hands on interaction with the owner.
Liked least: As is the case with most of the Big Island, the beach was rocky and not for swimming.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladysOKC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple and confortable place to stay and enjoy the ocean view”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Easy and convenient check in-out. The place was very confortable and enjoyable. The comunication with the owner was easy and kind. The views and the sound of the sea make this place unique!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean view and location
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 125
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing