We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Gorgeous sunsets right from your lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous sunsets right from your lanai
Dining on the lanai Plenty of seating for dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Gorgeous sunsets right from your lanai
Dining on the lanai
Plenty of seating for dining
Dining Table
Kitchen with stainless steel appliances + granite counter tops
Living Room with beautiful piece by local Kona artist Robert Thomas
Looking down from 2nd fl loft
2nd Bedroom Loft with Split A/C System
Catch a glimpse of the ocean right from bed!
Master bath + walk-in closet
Master Bath (Shower + Tub)
Beach Toy Closet
Main floor layout
2nd floor layout
Solar-heated pool
Punahele Penthouse
Kona Brewing Co
Punahele Penthouse 
Luxury Condo
Panorama view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trail7433...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say. It was perfect for everything. Close to start of the paddling races, the view from the lanai perfect for seeing the canoes, watching the dolphins and turtles, and watching the sun go down. The accommodation itself had everything we needed. Having travelled from New Zealand (and my family from Australia) and having beach gear available to use was a bonus. Thank you Brett for your helpfulness. My grandson and his Dad did the manta ray snorkelling as you suggested and loved it. Also great that Hurricane Lane did not cause the canoe races to be cancelled. Perfect holiday venue. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela J
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 couples vacationing ”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

This was everything we expected and more. The location is waterfront and convenient and central to restaurants, bars, shops and farmers market. The patio overlooks the bay and we watched spinner dolphins every morning. It was beautiful decorated and so completely equipped with everything we needed and more. The kitchen had amenities we didn’t expect, and there was beach chairs, towels, and toys. There was plenty of seating both inside and outside on the deck. We give this a A++ rating and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bus_visit...
Madison, WI
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Whenever I get to Kona, I want to stay here again”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

LOCATION: It is in the heart of the action across the street from the ocean. There are a lot of good restaurants and waterfront bars within easy walking distance. Having a parking spot meant we could frequently just leave the car and go on foot.

LAYOUT and FURNISHINGS were well beyond what we expected. There is a large lanai with extremely high quality furniture as well as a ceiling fan (with remote). The living room has lots of comfortable places to sit. The dining room table seated the 4 of us with lots of room. Both sleeping areas were great. There were good mattresses as well as both drawer and closet space (with hangers) so we were not living out of our suitcases. With 2 couples, we were slightly worried about the loft for one of the sleeping areas however it worked extremely well.

AMENITIES were also terrific. The kitchen was very well equipped with pots, pans, and utensils, lots of plates and cups and glasses (including wine glasses). There was also pantry space for storing food and a high quality refrigerator. There were also lots of “nice touches” such as 2 pair of good quality binoculars for checking out wildlife, boats and people in the water. The toy box with beach equipment was very useful. It had boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, etc.

HOSTS and COMMUNICATIONS – before leaving, I had some questions and request of Brett and Dianne. They were extremely responsive and accommodating. They provided a large packet of very useful information on using equipment in the condo as well, check-in & out procedures, accessing the pool and bbq as well as information on things to do, etc.
During our stay, I needed medical treatment which required extra time in Kona. Although the penthouse was already booked following our planned stay, Brett and Diane went out of their way to be helpful. Among other things, they offered to contact friends who also rented condos to check availability. They also made a point to check on me. I have rented over 30 condos and houses for vacations and without a doubt Brett and Diane are the absolute nicest and caring hosts I have ever encountered.

If I visit Kona again, I will try to schedule it so that I can stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hockeyfam...
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just came back from a wonderful vacation in kona. This condo is great and made our trip memorable. It is very well appointed to suit all your needs. Can,t wait to go back to kona

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
We absolutely love to hear that our guests had a wonderful vacation!! Thank you for staying at Punahele Penthouse, and we hope you return to the beautiful islands soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experienc...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Kona!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
7
people found this review helpful

The place is superior to any other brand name hotels in Kona. We have stayed in Sheraton, Hilton, and other vacation rentals in Kona that cost $250-$300 before. However, this penthouse was much better than our previous experiences. First of all its location and view are one of a kind. Pictures do not tell the whole story. You have to be there to know what it is like on the penthouse and see a panoramic view of the ocean. There are a couple of shopping malls nearby and within walking distance. It was very convenient. Secondly, the condo is brand new. The appliances are all name brand. The owner totally remodeled the inside from the ceiling to the floor. He seemed to use the highest quality materials and welcome guests as if they were part of his family. For example, I had to print something and there was a new laser printer upstairs. Wow! I seldom find the owner of vacation rentals going the extra mile to take care of his guests and Brett is definitely one of them. I know some vacation rentals in Hawaii that charges for air conditioning, which is additional money that the guest has to pay for. I think there is no hospitality in this situation. However, the owner of the penthouse condo does not charge you for air conditioning. Lastly, you can see cruise ships, professional swimmers, surfers, snorkeling people, fishing boats, etc from the lanai. The best thing to do is to watch the sunset from the lanai while eating dinner. Our family was there for a week and it was fantastic. We will not go to other places when we visit Kona again. This could be your vacation place that has everything you need away or more from your own house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for the awesome review! We are so happy you had a wonderful vacation. We truly do appreciate our guests and feel like they are just an extension of our "hawaiian family." MAHALO!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing