We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Kona Magic Sands #303”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Magic Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Magic Sands
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Kona Magic Sands #303”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This location is perfect if you want to stay close to Kailua's touristy area but far enough away for it to be quiet.

Pros:
- Beautiful view of the water (I got to see dolphins playing one morning!)
- Great kitchen -- fully stocked with tools, pans, utensils, etc.
- Plenty of towels for showering, beach and kitchen.
- Good hair dryer and straightener!
- Washer and dryer with detergent and dryer sheets
- Snorkel gear!

Cons:
- No in unit wifi, we stole from someone else.
- Bed is VERY firm, too much for us.
- Bathroom is a little too open ... noise wise.

Overall, a fantastic place and we would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    43
    18
    14
    11
See reviews for
16
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The bedding was worn. I found some newer sheets in a closet which I put on the bed. The bed is hard and well worn. Some of the furniture have rips in them. At least the TV is new and the place is clean. If you want to see and hear ocean waves, this is the place, but don't expect more than bare-bones accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was a great get-away spot for my hubby and me.The studio was clean, cute, and roomy. The bed was extra comfy, and everything we needed was there from cooking apparatus, to seasonings, to boogie boards! We ate on pretty dishes at a table practically on the ocean. The view was stunning, and we could even watch colored fish in the water from inside the condo. The ocean sounds soothed us to sleep, and mornings brought the chance to play at the lovely white sandy beach next door. We swam in clear water with sea turtles and saw spinner dolphins in the distance. A truly magical Hawaiian vacation!

Room Tip: Units are individually owned and maintained. 310 was one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed there this summer in unit 106 it was great. We found the unit in vrbo.com. We were a little apprehensiveness at first due to the large deposit $500.00. But after we communicated with the owners we realized they had allot of amenities worth protecting and they just purchased two 21 speed mountain bikes. Hey we left too early to enter Ironman championship "might of won". The place had everything you needed in it. Like laundry soap and even quarters for the machines. The laundry room is clean and down the corridor. My wife made me carry the laundry so I know. There was a nice king bed with lots of pillow and the bedding was new. We liked the pool our friends would come over from the other hotels because my pool was ocean front and not crowded. We were right there and handed out the drinks through the sliding glass door, all of our drinks were in plastic cups. The owner did have nice dishes and margarita glasses. Hey even the big flat screen turned out and faced the pool was able to pick up the ball games and won my bet. So going back to the chores of cooking for our pool buddies we had a nice little kitchen with everything you needed and more. Plus we had allot of towels and our friends used them and there was still more in the linen closet. The unit is 1st floor so no stairs to climb and the view is great being by the pool and interacting with the other travelers. I had to help a couple old people carry their luggage up the flight of stairs. They wanted to trade for a lower unit after they found out there was no elevator. The building is a concrete so there is no upstairs noise unless you are yelling up to your buddies. Well that's it for the place I will stay again and I like the Debbie and Dave they were great owners and their help only a phone call away. As for the magic sands beach next door it was gone there was a little sand. So the pool and studio made up for it along with my new friends. Much maholo and aloha from the future Hawaiin after we save up.

Room Tip: Go to VRBO.com and check out their sight if there is no deposit required they have nothing to loose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in this wonderful unit for 7 days in late July (just came back) and simply can’t say enough great things about it. This complex is located on the best beach in Kona. Location couldn't have been better. It is a short driving distance to lots of shopping and dining options, quite a few within walking distance. As for the unit itself, it is beautifully furnished and equipped with everything we needed or even more (they even had a wine cooler-wow ! that was awesome). Everything is brand new and good quality. The bed was large and very comfortable (there was also an extra pull-out sofa that sleeps 2). Nice finishes in the bathroom .We enjoyed being able to prepare our own food (the kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals) and eat it on the nicely furnished Lanai watching incredible sunsets. We also found the sounds of the waves very relaxing. A few great restaurants are within walking distance, if you feel you need a break from cooking. The third floor location adds more privacy as neighbor condos cannot see down into your space. The beach is right there below, just walk out the door, down the stairs and there you are. Perfect for swimming or snorkeling. This complex has also a swimming pool and barbeque grill – which we used a lot. There was central air conditioning, but we found it to be comfortable with the fans and the ocean breezes. We have been to Big Island several times, but this was our first condo experience in Hawaii and this was by far the most enjoyable stay. The price is very affordable too, not cheap but much less than hotel/resort and the experience of being in your own condo is MUCH better than what you'd experience in a hotel. We don’t know any hotel located so close to the ocean. You can almost touch the waves from the lanai. This place is simply magic. We highly recommend it to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nycman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.4 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.7 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
1.6 km away
Kona Seaspray
Kona Seaspray
#13 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Kona Nalu
Kona Nalu
#25 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.8 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.1 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#10 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Magic Sands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Magic Sands

Property: Kona Magic Sands
Address: 77-6452 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,956 - ₹ 13,095
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kona Magic Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kona Magic Sands Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Magic Sands Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing