We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotel experiences we have ever had!”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Hotel experiences we have ever had!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent 14 days at the Kona Tiki, and wish we could have stayed longer. Wonderful location -- right on the ocean. Great couple that manages the facility (Michelle & Gary). They made the stay there just perfect. Nice continental breakfast with wonderful Kona coffee. We were on the 1st floor and enjoyed the view and the waves crashing on the shore. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to have some ear plugs just to be safe. Te pool was perfect and the rooms were exactly as advertised -- clean, and just what you need in Hawaii. We did not miss the TV or the telephone. We had a kitchenette, and prepared our dinners in our apartment. That really saved us some money. The hotel offers coolers, some snorkeling gear, maps, and ICE! You will need a car to visit all the places on the island, but you can walk to town from the hotel in about 15 minutes -- a nice walk.

Room Tip: We were glad we had a kitchenette. 1st floor is great (and you do not hear any of the other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    136
    37
    7
    22
See reviews for
45
238
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the hidden gem of Hawaii. Great views, great location and all around awesome affordable spot. It was our 2nd time at the Kona Tiki and we highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chopsy1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed three nights on the third floor ( no elevator) in a suite that had a full kitchen, with refrigerator, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. The room had also a very nice under the gable table to eat "al fresco"and one inside. There is no AC but the ocean breeze is so nice that is no needed. The location is very nice. It is walking distance of a small beach and a mile or so to a bigger one and it has a pool. There is a bucket with left-over snorkeling gear that can be borrowed. Most of the restaurants and stores are on the same road a couple of miles north or south.
The hotel is as close as it can be to the ocean and we enjoyed very much sleeping with the sound of the waves. The couple managing the hotel were very nice and helpful. Parking is free but somewhat tight on space. Still we managed without any problem. Breakfast has pastries, fruits, juice, milk, coffee, and hot water for tea or chocolate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcoPoloGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Usually I'm right in sync with other Trip Advisor reviews, but I don't see what the fuss is about this place. Other than being cheap, it didn't have much to offer. It's really noisy at night between the surf (no gentle waves hitting the shore - it's big waves crashing against rocks) and the highway (every motorcycle and truck sounded like it was a few feet away). Parking was a pain, and there was no hot tub. I also had to make reservations 9 months in advance to even get a room. It was quite a walk to restaurants or any snorkeling areas. The room was nice and clean, and the people are very nice. But I don't see why people go there year after year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carson city
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed there last November, my son liked watching the crabs on the rocks below in the ocean. Nice place, the managers were very nice and helpful. There is no phone in the rooms, and no aircon, but just a ceiling fan and the breeze outside. There was a nice continental breakfast in the morning. And you have to arrive early for good parking. We stayed in one room the first night, it was just a room, and the second night we moved to another room with a small kitchenette. The bathroom in the first room the first night was a little small and cramp, especially around the toilet area. The bathroom was larger the second night. The waves can be heard at night, if you're a light sleeper it may bother some people, but for me it was fine. There is a nice white sand beach about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. They do have a nice little swimming pool. The managers let my son light the tiki torches in the evening, and he enjoyed that. I noticed in other reviews that some people complained about highway noise, but it didnt' bother me. Also this may change, if you want to make a reservation you have to phone it in, and can't do it online. If I remember correctly, I think they only take cash, and no credit cards.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room or above if you like privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miteydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
7.9 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
239 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,610 - ₹ 7,219
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing