We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel on the water, great sunsets.”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed there last November, my son liked watching the crabs on the rocks below in the ocean. Nice place, the managers were very nice and helpful. There is no phone in the rooms, and no aircon, but just a ceiling fan and the breeze outside. There was a nice continental breakfast in the morning. And you have to arrive early for good parking. We stayed in one room the first night, it was just a room, and the second night we moved to another room with a small kitchenette. The bathroom in the first room the first night was a little small and cramp, especially around the toilet area. The bathroom was larger the second night. The waves can be heard at night, if you're a light sleeper it may bother some people, but for me it was fine. There is a nice white sand beach about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. They do have a nice little swimming pool. The managers let my son light the tiki torches in the evening, and he enjoyed that. I noticed in other reviews that some people complained about highway noise, but it didnt' bother me. Also this may change, if you want to make a reservation you have to phone it in, and can't do it online. If I remember correctly, I think they only take cash, and no credit cards.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room or above if you like privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miteydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

I really don't know how much an ocean front room can cost, but this one is amazing for $100 per night. Went swimming right outside the room, saw lots of reef fish. This is an amazing place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChemistryProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Before you go to Hawaii, be prepared for sticker shock -- everything costs about twice as much as on the mainland. That includes hotels, car rentals, restaurants, and groceries.

In that context, the Kona Tiki Hotel is a great value, perhaps the only Kona coast waterfront hotel with rooms around 100 USD per night including tax (kitchenette rooms are about 120 USD).

The usual resort amenities are absent, but so are parking and resort fees. What you do get is a waterfront room with roaring surf and gorgeous sunsets.

The pool is small, the parking is tight, and traffic on adjacent Alii Drive is heavy; but the atmosphere is laid back, and guests form a loose-knit pool-side family at cocktail hour.

The hotel was built in the 1950’s and has been well-maintained (but not modernized) since then. Remember jalousie windows? Filigree balusters? Board and batten? Bingo! The Kona Tiki has them, and lots of other old Hawaiian charm too.

The resident managers rotate. Gary and Michelle, who were there during my most recent stay, did an outstanding job of making guests welcome and helping them enjoy their vacations.

Granted, the hotel’s deposit, cancellation, and cash/travelers checks only policies are stiff, but these are logical based on the small size of the hotel (only 15 rooms), which gives the owner less leeway to cover losses.

Guests don’t seem to mind. Many are perennial returnees, and the Kona Tiki Hotel was running near 100% occupancy during the winter season of 2011-12 when the average for the Big Island was around 65% overall.

If you are not sure that the Kona Tiki is right for you, consider hedging your bets and splitting your stay between the Kona Tiki and a more conventional resort.

Preferring the value end of the hotel spectrum, we have enjoyed internet specials from the Outrigger Keauhou (adjacent to the great snorkeling of Kahaluu Bay); the Royal Kona Resort (near downtown Kailua-Kona, formerly the Hilton before it moved to Waikoloa); and the semi-luxurious Hapuna Prince Hotel (on the best beach in Hawaii).

We have not stayed at the Casa de Emdeko condos in Kailua-Kona, but friends have liked them. We have not stayed at the Paniolo Greens condos, which are on a golf course several miles inland from Kohala beaches, but their ratings have been good and prices have been very low recently on bidding websites.

All in all, we have been returning to the Big Island more often than the other Hawaiian islands because of the great variety of landscapes and activities it offers, even though one must drive farther to enjoy them (a rental car is almost essential).

We enjoy the Kona Tiki as a great value in Kailua-Kona, with a wonderful waterfront (but not beach) location and a charming old Hawaiian atmosphere.

Room Tip: -01 rooms are closest to traffic, and -05 rooms farthest, but the adjacent surf muffles most traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My extended family filled 3 rooms from xmas-new year's and had an amazing time! We ate every meal by the pool and watched the sunset with cocktails in the same spot every night. Yes, our room was a bit noisy during the day as it was right next to the road but at night there were very few cars out and the sound of crashing waves made for deep sleep. Great place for a family reunion!!

Room Tip: third floor away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My Partner and I spent two nights here and have to say how nice it was. The Managers Gary and Michelle (and Kevin) make the visit very personal. They are always just a few steps away and are absolutely pleasant helpful and are very nice people. The rooms are quaint and clean, right on the water and the waves are extraordinary at all times of the day. Having the kitchen and the fridge made our room excellent opportunity of dinner on the patio on the ocean! Nothing better, awesome views from the pool deck. Saw a pod of dolphins swim by during breakfast, can't be beat. Excellent open front walk to "downtown". Very nice place.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean front view and it is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
7.8 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 3,633 - ₹ 7,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing