We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works for me”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Works for me”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Friendly staff, Hawaiian-owned, good breakfasts, very clean rooms and right in the middle of town. Stay in the tower, 4th or 5th floor facing the water and it's all good. Free wireless in the lobby.

If you're looking for value stay here. If you're used to luxury, this won't work for you but if you don't care about that and you're looking for clean and decent, it's fine.
My stay was made even better by the front desk staff who were super nice.
Book online and get a better deal than in person.
Thank you Kona Seaside.
Back in rainy Vancouver, BC now.

Room Tip: Choose "the tower" 4th or 5th floor with a view of the water, not the side facing Pahala R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syowoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    535
    262
    57
    57
See reviews for
245
506
121
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Kona Seaside is a fabulous find in Kona should you wish to be near to just about everything. It is an easy walk to Kona Brewing Company, the beach-side shops and restaurants and both grocery and drug stores. The hotel is older and dated but the price is right and it is exceptionally clean. With two swimming pools, a neat garden space and hotel access to two great restaurants, this is a great place to stay for a visit to Kona. The rooms in the garden wing have recently been redone we were told, and the beds were new and extremely firm. Noise level is moderate as you are on a main intersection but the location and the service is great. If an upscale resort is what you are looking for, don't bother but if you want to have access to all Kona has to offer and not spend a fortune, call on Kona seaside.

Room Tip: The main part of the hotel has an elevator. Rooms in the garden wing require walking up stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camodoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The service overall was good, but there were times when nobody was helping at the front desk and others when it took everyone at the front desk to help one person, leaving others waiting. I asked about bike rental and the young woman I asked didn't know, but others did know about activities in town, so it depends whom you ask when trying to find out what to do and where to go. Internet connection is awful, very slow, I had to use the lobby computers and they're limited to 15 minutes... you have to pay for internet in your room ($8.95), pay for parking ($5), but the pools were good. The bed was the worst, awful, bed springs creaking. But it was clean and friendly staff. I paid more to get a decent view, wasn't really worth $115 a night, but maybe $89. Oh, free breakfast at Tante's, the service varied everyday, one day I couldn't get the waitress to serve me so I left and the food (as with all the restaurants) varied as well, some days good, some bad. Go with this information and you'll be happy, wonderful island!

Room Tip: Get the garden view for quiet. The pool view may also be on the street side and louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldhopper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I and three children stayed at the seaside. We enjoyed a kitchen with a large refrigerator a full sink and stove. This service in the hotel was terriffic. We asked for rollaways and received them immediately. The room was clean and we had ample towels. There was also Internet access available. The Kona Seaside is close to shopping centers and the airport. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melsamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel for 3 nights while vacationing on the Big Island. It is close to the main airport and within walking distance of the beach, shopping, restaurants and Kona Brewing Company. We were in the main hotel building on the 4th floor. Our room was large with 2 double beds, a dresser, a desk and chair, a small balcony with 2 chairs, and a bathroom.

Let's begin by saying that these accommodations are older than what you will get with a Hilton or Marriott property. Our carpeting was a nice 1970's ocean blue shag; the beds were not meant to imitate boutique hotel comfort and the bathroom needed updating. But, this does NOT mean that the hotel isn't clean or well-kept. Quite the opposite. Our room was very clean, no signs of mildew in the bathroom despite the age, the entire property was well-maintained and our entire stay was very quiet, making for a good night's sleep. I have three complaints with the room: 1) The beds are uncomfortable. If you like a hard bed, then this is your place. I think Kona could do well to spend some money to update their beds and linens. 2) The towels are thin. Again, spend a little more to add a touch luxury. It's things like this that can make a spartan stay more special. 3) An iron was not provided in the room. To obtain one, you had to borrow it from the front desk during normal business hours. The front desk staff told us they had to start doing this because they had so many irons being stolen. I can't imagine anyone wanting to steal an iron and lug it around in their luggage, but I'm sure it happens.

I should mention that the hotel provides a shampoo/conditioner combo, lotion and soap. A hairdryer can be found in the dresser drawer of your room. Our room had a ceiling fan and a window a/c unit. The window unit paired with the fan provided adequate temperature control and the room cooled down quickly, even when we turned the a/c off because we would be gone all day. The a/c unit was a bit noisy, but both of us do OK with white noise.

We found the front desk staff to be very helpful and accommodating. No issues with rudeness or impoliteness as others have stated. Our modus operandi is to treat others with respect and be pleasant, even if you're not happy with something. You will typically receive respect and a pleasant attitude in return. The front desk staff always greeted us when we returned to the property and in the morning.

We purchased a breakfast plan which included free breakfast at Tante's every morning. This free breakfast is limited to coffee, tea or juice and your choice of 3 breakfast entrees, one continental and 2 that were heartier. I would have preferred more variety to choose from but, given the price we got for the room and the free breakfast, I wasn't going to complain because Kona Seaside was a bargain in Hawaii!

I did not know about the $5.00/night parking fee. I either missed that while perusing reviews and information or it is not clearly advertised. Again, you cannot beat $5.00/night but no one likes a surprise when it hits the pocketbook.

If you are planning to head to Volcanoes National Park and you do not want to do a lot of driving, you may want to stay in Hilo instead. Roundtrip was in the 4-5 hour range from Kona Seaside. When you've spent all day at the park, it can make for a very long and tiring drive home, probably in the rain and in the dark.

My husband and I agreed that we liked Kona Seaside and would certainly consider staying there again. You cannot beat the price and who cares if the room is decoratively challenged? As long as it's clean, comfortable (see my suggested improvements above) and quiet, who cares? You're on vacation not to spend time in the room but to get out and see the world!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chompypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
20.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,734 - ₹ 12,950
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing