We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, comfortable and well equipped unit!”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The three of us arrived at the condo late in the afternoon after a tiring plane trip and were so impressed by the warm welcome provided by the owner in the form of a large basket of delicious fruit placed prominently on the kitchen counter. The kitchen is well equipped; the living room furniture is attractive and comfortable; and the mattresses on both beds are very comfortable. The unit is large and has a beautiful full golf course view and a large lanai with cushioned lounges for relaxing and enjoying the views.

The reservation process was easy and straight forward. The price was definitely right!
We will be back,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasperDogCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 461 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

Review:
This condo really exceeded our expectations. It simply had everything; amazing ocean and sunset views, newly refurbished pool and hot tub just steps away, and peace and quiet. We practically lived on the lanai and ate every meal there.The grounds and pool were kept scrupulously clean everyday. The kitchen was loaded with every sort of cooking equipment, pots, pans, casserole dishes and even condiments. For a Canadian, the only thing missing was a tea pot! The beds were comfortable, the linens were pure cotton, the fans kept the rooms cool. We were grateful for an abundance of beach towels, mats, coolers to take to the beach, ice machine in the fridge, even flippers and beach shoes. When one of us couldn't find their passport and keys, one of the security came up and went over every suitcase until they found it in a underlying hidden pocket which we missed. Crisis averted! We loved our stay so much that we've gone back to the website just to look wistfully at the photos of "our rooms" in condo 2403 and Kanaloa. We'll be back next year to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fivehappyvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We spent five nights in unit 1606, a 2-BR, 2-bath ocean view condo around 1500 sq. ft.. It's on the north end of the complex overlooking the golf course, and the ocean is close and just off to the left, clearly visible from the lanai. The complex was built about 1980, and is well kept. We were on the third floor, and the master bedroom was in the loft, another floor up. If the unit had been on a lower floor, I think we would not have needed air conditioning. However, since it was on the 3rd and 4th floor, it was definitely warm up there, and the AC made it very comfortable. I guess I'm not crazy about paying the extra $15 per night, but........... Staff are friendly, grounds are beautiful, three pools, nicely located about six miles south of downtown Kona, easy access yet secluded. We liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlr98686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This lovely condo complex has ocean views from many rooms and is next to a small cove where waves roll in constantly and provide the soundtrack for a great stay. It's close enough to Kailua-Kona's hustle-bustle to make driving to restaurants and shops easy, but far enough to be away from its busy-ness to be peaceful, romantic and relaxing. Management is attentive and efficient. The condition and location of individual units varies widely, so look closely at photos.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindahagenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This is fabulous condo. It is very spacious, well kept, nice furnishings. The views from the living room are fantastic, Lamai overlookks ocean which is only yards away! We enjoyed watching many sunsets from the Lania, having breakfast many mornings out there as well. Condo is supplied with almost anything you would need include coolers, beach chairs, spices... The location is great- you are not in the middle of the busy part of Kona, but a short drive away. The resort itself is also very nice. Very nice pools, tennis courts, grills. I would have this place tops of my list to stay when we go to Kona again. Kathy made it very easy to transact business - a big Mahalo! We have vistited all the Hawaiian Islands and keep returning to Kona for the diveristy and Kharma the Big Island offers. This was our second stay at this condo resort - would stay here again without question

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGuenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
9.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.0 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,941 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
7.5 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 11,611 - ₹ 24,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing