We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2504 - Nice Place with a great view!”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This condo was very nice, clean, spacious and comfortable. There is a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, 2 bathrooms, and balcony. It was well maintained and employees responsive to any needs or requests. There were pools, but we didn't have time to try out.

We booked through Expedia so there were a few things that I wish were different.
-- There was an extra $200 charge for cleaning (after we left), 2 days of ac, and tax.
-- The fans and internet didn't work but turned out they were unplugged with outlets behind furniture that we had to move to plug in.
-- The bedroom was not on the ocean side so we didn't have the cool ocean breeze for sleeping which is why we decided to get ac after the first night.

Specifc good things
-- Close to airport and beaches
-- Secure area
-- Good key system
-- Labeled parking spot
-- Balcony with great ocean view

Room Tip: Ask if condo with bedroom on ocean side is available for cooling at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alemania28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Aloha,

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay. I will review your concerns with my team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

We had a 2 bedroom condo for 6 nights. It was huge. 2 bathrooms, 3 balconies, full kitchen and all the amenities you would need.An undercover car park was included.
I was pleasantly surprised to see all the things that were included. Shampoo, soap, body lotions and even complimentary laundry powder. There were tennis rackets and balls available as well.
We checked in and out at the Royal Seacliff further down the road and this was no problem at all as you have to pass it on the way from the airport anyway.
We certainly didn't need air-con as there were plenty of ceiling fans (including outside on the balcony).
There were alot of stairs to our apartment but that didn't bother us.
There are ground level apartments so If they are needed I would imagine it would be easy enough to specify at time of booking.
We were made fully aware of the cleaning fee so no problems there for us. The cost was offset by not paying hotel or resort prices.
The Kanaloa is a great place to base yourself for a Big Island holiday and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Aloha,

It is good the hear that Kanaloa At Kona Met all of your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Five of us stayed for three nights. As our kids said, they can't think of anything that wasn't great about this place. The beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed. The air conditioning worked well. The view is wonderful out over the ocean, as advertised. We watched the sunset while having dinner on our lanai, and also from the volcanic rocks near the shoreline. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed. Beach towels are provided, but not any other beach equipment. We had access to the three pools on the property including one overlooking the ocean. The KTA grocery store and other shops and restaurants are in the shopping center adjacent to this complex, within walking distance (we drove). Coolers are provided. The wifi is good. Mindy, the owner of the condo, answered any questions and had a gift basket of island fruit and other treats for us at arrival. An assigned covered parking spot is near the door to the condo. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Condo. This was unit 1502, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We booked Condo 164 through Aloha Condos and can recommend both the property and the process. The condo is spacious and as it has an extra pull-down bed and two bathrooms, could be shared by two couples or would suit a family. The lanai looks out over both the golf course and the sea, AND the sunset, and the views are fantastic. There is no aircon but if you open the sliding doors the constant sea breeze will do the cooling just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Kanaloa. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My party of 2 might not have needed all the space of condo but it was wonderful to have it! I wish I had known there were several flights of stairs leading up to and inside the unit as well as the availability of air conditioning in some units only with an extra fee. Once I was rested from the flight the stairs weren't a problem and I was able to get the AC turned on quick (and it was totally worth it). However, these small nuisances were far outweighed by the quiet location and the gorgeous view from the lanai.

Room Tip: The ocean view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizzieHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
9.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.0 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
7.5 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 11,583 - ₹ 24,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing