We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
449
262
68
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
262
68
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaloha condosair conditioningocean poolgolf courseocean frontthe big islandtennis courtsliving roomthe security guardgrocery storecleaning feesmall baygreat condocondo complexkeahou bayminute drivekeahou shopping center
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We had a 2 bedroom condo for 6 nights. It was huge. 2 bathrooms, 3 balconies, full kitchen and all the amenities you would need.An undercover car park was included.
I was pleasantly surprised to see all the things that were included. Shampoo, soap, body lotions and even complimentary laundry powder. There were tennis rackets and balls available as well.
We checked in and out at the Royal Seacliff further down the road and this was no problem at all as you have to pass it on the way from the airport anyway.
We certainly didn't need air-con as there were plenty of ceiling fans (including outside on the balcony).
There were alot of stairs to our apartment but that didn't bother us.
There are ground level apartments so If they are needed I would imagine it would be easy enough to specify at time of booking.
We were made fully aware of the cleaning fee so no problems there for us. The cost was offset by not paying hotel or resort prices.
The Kanaloa is a great place to base yourself for a Big Island holiday and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Aloha,

It is good the hear that Kanaloa At Kona Met all of your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Five of us stayed for three nights. As our kids said, they can't think of anything that wasn't great about this place. The beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed. The air conditioning worked well. The view is wonderful out over the ocean, as advertised. We watched the sunset while having dinner on our lanai, and also from the volcanic rocks near the shoreline. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed. Beach towels are provided, but not any other beach equipment. We had access to the three pools on the property including one overlooking the ocean. The KTA grocery store and other shops and restaurants are in the shopping center adjacent to this complex, within walking distance (we drove). Coolers are provided. The wifi is good. Mindy, the owner of the condo, answered any questions and had a gift basket of island fruit and other treats for us at arrival. An assigned covered parking spot is near the door to the condo. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Condo. This was unit 1502, and it was great.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We booked Condo 164 through Aloha Condos and can recommend both the property and the process. The condo is spacious and as it has an extra pull-down bed and two bathrooms, could be shared by two couples or would suit a family. The lanai looks out over both the golf course and the sea, AND the sunset, and the views are fantastic. There is no aircon but if you open the sliding doors the constant sea breeze will do the cooling just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHEN_KAK, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Kanaloa. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My party of 2 might not have needed all the space of condo but it was wonderful to have it! I wish I had known there were several flights of stairs leading up to and inside the unit as well as the availability of air conditioning in some units only with an extra fee. Once I was rested from the flight the stairs weren't a problem and I was able to get the AC turned on quick (and it was totally worth it). However, these small nuisances were far outweighed by the quiet location and the gorgeous view from the lanai.

Room Tip: The ocean view is well worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizzieHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Kanaloa at Kona has a great location on Big Island - easy access to all parts of the island. Outdoor facilitets are very nice - 3 different pool areas, tennis court and a walking path on the coast area. A very nice Golfcourse is the neighbour to Kanaloa. Indoor facilitets are very good - everything is working and nothing is missing. Furniture and design hasn't been changed since they opened (1970).... We had a very pleasent week.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews