We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kanaloa at Kona Unit 1803 AWESOME for families. LOVED IT!”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our family stayed in unit 1803 for 5 nights in April of 2012. We absolutely loved the place. It was easy to book with the owner on the aloha condos website and it was cheaper to do that than book through the Ourigger Hotel.

Our unit was large and had two bedrooms and a loft. Everyone had their space but came together for breakfast and dinner on the large lanai. The view was gorgeous - right on the water with spectacular views day and night.

We chose not to pay for a/c and were just fine without it using the fans.

You can tell the owner is trying to update and improve the condo a bit at a time. The master bathroom was terrific with the double headed walk in shower.

The beds were all very comfortable. I loved how the windows were permanently open but locked. I loved the fresh air and hearing the waves right outside the condo.

We enjoyed the washer and dryer being in the unit which made packing lighter being able to do a load of clothes.

The grounds are very nice and felt safe. We could park our car fairly close to the condo with a short walk. THe pools were clean and the pool area was nice with lots of chairs and a bbq.

The condo is close to downtown kona and a shopping center with restaurants, grocery store, and a cinema.

We loved that the owner stocked the condo with beach toys, snorkel gear, cooler, beach chairs and umbrella, and boogie boards. This saved a lot of money renting these items.

The only down side was a couple of cock roaches but hey it is the tropical islands, we just threw them outside. Also a lot of the dishes were dirty and we had to wash them. This isnt the owners fault but maybe he needs to spot check the cleaning peoples work or have them double check the dishes when someone checks out. ALso, the handles fell off of a few drawers in the kitchen while we were there just by opening the drawers.

These are really minor issues...
We would definately stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olystacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in April and it was absolutely lovely. The condo had all accomodations in the kitchen (dishes, pots/pans, utensils, coffee, toaster, juicer, dishwasher) plus dish soap & detergent. Washer & dryer and detergent. Televisions in the living room & bedroom, snorkeling equipment, body boards, books & beach towels. Also had regular bathroom and full size master bathroom. We upgraded to ocean view and I thought it was completely worth it. There is nothing more relaxing to me than sitting on the lanai watching the ocean, almost feeling the mist from being so close. There were ceiling fans but no air conditioner, which wasn't as hot as I thought it would be, but we closed the blinds on the side that the sun came in and we went in April when it wasn't scorching.
The location was great, not to far from downtown, although a rental car is a must. The condos have a security guard so it is somewhat like a gated community, unless you are staying there or visiting, there is no thru traffic. We felt our car was secure and we felt safe walking to and from the 3 pools that were all central to the condos. Grounds were very clean and lovely, with a tennis court and golf course. Keahou bay is walking distance to go on a boat tour or to rent a kayak or balance board.
Although housekeeping didn't come clean while we were there, we had to take our garbage out and contact the main office to request extra towels (which they delivered right away), it was nice to not be bothered or worry about someone coming in our room. Everyone was very friendly and made sure we could contact them if we needed anything.
My only complaint, which is something that I could have fixed, is the noise while sleeping. A sleep machine or some kind of louder fan would be nice because it gets stuffy so we left the windows open, and although we could hear the ocean (which was wonderful) we could also hear people leaving in the morning fairly early and the birds start chirping like they are on drugs about 4 or 5 in the morning.
Lovely, relaxing and beautiful. I would recommend this place and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We just returned from 5 nights at the Outrigger Kanaloa, room 1704. What a fabulous ocean front condo - you could hear the waves crashing from every room in the house. The deck is great for having breakfast or just relaxing and reading a good book.

The front desk was very helpful! An added bonus was the new Sam Choy restaurant just up the hill! We ate there 4 times in one week and had our picture taken with Sam himself!

Room Tip: I would splurge for the Ocean Front condos whenever possible to fully appreciate the Kona experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is the place to stay if you are looking for a totally relaxing getaway. Grounds are gorgeous and entire property is immcaulate and quiet. Lots to do around the area if you choose to do so. Location is perfect, just 5 miles from Kona, with small shops and ktagrocery store and Longs just up the road. Kona coffee farms close. Beginner snorkeling close. This was our second stay at kanaloa and plan to return again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelqueen3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently stayed at Kanaloa @ Kona - all 28 of us. We rented 8 condos - 1 condo for each family. The people at the resort are constantly cleaning and grooming the property, and the office staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Although they advertise that they have wi-fi, we found that most of the rental units had ethernet hookups and only a minority had wi-fi (1 out of our 8 units). Our group ranged in age from 8 to 77 and there were no complaints. It is a very safe place for children to run between units. The housekeeping staff comes in every third day to clean and freshen the linens. If you need extra towels for the pool, just ask and they are delivered to you.

Room Tip: If you are not used to humidity, be sure and ask for a unit with air-conditioning. Most of the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
9.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.0 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
7.5 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: ₹ 11,625 - ₹ 24,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing