We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
449
262
68
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
262
68
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaloha condosair conditioningocean poolgolf courseocean frontthe big islandtennis courtsliving roomthe security guardgrocery storecleaning feesmall baygreat condocondo complexkeahou bayminute drivekeahou shopping center
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in April and it was absolutely lovely. The condo had all accomodations in the kitchen (dishes, pots/pans, utensils, coffee, toaster, juicer, dishwasher) plus dish soap & detergent. Washer & dryer and detergent. Televisions in the living room & bedroom, snorkeling equipment, body boards, books & beach towels. Also had regular bathroom and full size master bathroom. We upgraded to ocean view and I thought it was completely worth it. There is nothing more relaxing to me than sitting on the lanai watching the ocean, almost feeling the mist from being so close. There were ceiling fans but no air conditioner, which wasn't as hot as I thought it would be, but we closed the blinds on the side that the sun came in and we went in April when it wasn't scorching.
The location was great, not to far from downtown, although a rental car is a must. The condos have a security guard so it is somewhat like a gated community, unless you are staying there or visiting, there is no thru traffic. We felt our car was secure and we felt safe walking to and from the 3 pools that were all central to the condos. Grounds were very clean and lovely, with a tennis court and golf course. Keahou bay is walking distance to go on a boat tour or to rent a kayak or balance board.
Although housekeeping didn't come clean while we were there, we had to take our garbage out and contact the main office to request extra towels (which they delivered right away), it was nice to not be bothered or worry about someone coming in our room. Everyone was very friendly and made sure we could contact them if we needed anything.
My only complaint, which is something that I could have fixed, is the noise while sleeping. A sleep machine or some kind of louder fan would be nice because it gets stuffy so we left the windows open, and although we could hear the ocean (which was wonderful) we could also hear people leaving in the morning fairly early and the birds start chirping like they are on drugs about 4 or 5 in the morning.
Lovely, relaxing and beautiful. I would recommend this place and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We just returned from 5 nights at the Outrigger Kanaloa, room 1704. What a fabulous ocean front condo - you could hear the waves crashing from every room in the house. The deck is great for having breakfast or just relaxing and reading a good book.

The front desk was very helpful! An added bonus was the new Sam Choy restaurant just up the hill! We ate there 4 times in one week and had our picture taken with Sam himself!

Room Tip: I would splurge for the Ocean Front condos whenever possible to fully appreciate the Kona experience!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is the place to stay if you are looking for a totally relaxing getaway. Grounds are gorgeous and entire property is immcaulate and quiet. Lots to do around the area if you choose to do so. Location is perfect, just 5 miles from Kona, with small shops and ktagrocery store and Longs just up the road. Kona coffee farms close. Beginner snorkeling close. This was our second stay at kanaloa and plan to return again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelqueen3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently stayed at Kanaloa @ Kona - all 28 of us. We rented 8 condos - 1 condo for each family. The people at the resort are constantly cleaning and grooming the property, and the office staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Although they advertise that they have wi-fi, we found that most of the rental units had ethernet hookups and only a minority had wi-fi (1 out of our 8 units). Our group ranged in age from 8 to 77 and there were no complaints. It is a very safe place for children to run between units. The housekeeping staff comes in every third day to clean and freshen the linens. If you need extra towels for the pool, just ask and they are delivered to you.

Room Tip: If you are not used to humidity, be sure and ask for a unit with air-conditioning. Most of the units just have ceiling fans.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The location of this resort is the best! Convenient to shopping, state parks, yet very quiet and peaceful. The ocean views are astounding.We throughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The gounds were well maintained and very attractive. The variety of flowers and plants on the property was a delight. The three pools offered a relaxing oasis for reading or swimming. We found the the barbeque gills convenient, clean and available. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront units have a spectacular view. Quieter units are by the golf course. Pools are convenient for families.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews