We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stop over on our way to LA”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop over on our way to LA”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a one night stop over with our family. We stayed in the mackenzie suite. Perfect for a family. The room was cute, no peeling paint, nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel is unique! The staff were helpful and friendly.Lovely pool area. We had supper which was delicious, with live entertainment, by Bonnie a great musician. Complimentary breakfast, a bonus in the US. Very good value. Would come back. Also loved the swing outside our room.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for advice when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annamaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    86
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
90
150
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Insane. Outrageously expensive. 29 Palms Inn, you are NOT Palm Springs....quit charging like it!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 13emmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are a pet-friendly hotel, and in order to maintain the level of comfort our guests expect we implement an extra cleaning routine after a pet has stayed in one of our guest rooms. We charge a one-time $35 pet fee to cover the cost of this extra cleaning.
Thank you again for taking the time to communicate your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the 29 Palms Inn twice now and wouldn't hesitate to recommend (and I will be going back). Fantastic food, great atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff - this place was one of the essential stops on our coast to coast drive (having stayed there a few years earlier).

Waking up with the desert literally on our doorstep was an unforgettable experience and one we're anxious to repeat.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyOfKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Since I have to live in a house on an unpaved road, with flaking paintwork, dodgy wiring, and an old enamel bath, the supposed 'quaintness' of the cabin we stayed in at 29 Palms was entirely wasted on me; it felt very ordinary, at a very cheeky price. If you are from the UK, for example,not North America or Scandinavia, the feel of this inn may be all too familiar, in that it's a bit shabby, a bit tired and wildly over-priced, just like some taking-the-mickey English B&Bs and guesthouses that play up their "character" rather too hard. I should never have booked this inn - I didn't think twice about what all the references to 'character', 'cozy', 'charming', 'quirky' were actually saying. My own fault, and I'm sure many visitors find it quite delightful (if, for example, they are lucky enough to be going home to a house where the plumbing works, and the streets are paved). So, not for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank happygolucky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I am writing this review at the request of my child, who absolutely loved our brief stay (one night only) at the 29 Palms Inn. We stayed in the MacKenzie Suite, which has a porch swing that we enjoyed while watching the stars, eating a slice of cake and ice cream taken out from the restaurant. Food was very good (a continental breakfast is included and was excellent - fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade lemon-poppy, pumpkin and zucchini-chocolate chip breads and passable coffee) and the service at the entire facility was friendly and prompt. We were sorry to leave and wished we could have spent another night. Note that the property is probably not for neat freaks or those who are accustomed to chain hotels, whether they be mid or upper level. You must take some quirks along with the charm. As an example, we were a bit hesitant to enter our room when we first saw the outside of the building, but inside was clean and inviting. If we are ever in the area again, we would definitely book a room here. There is much to appreciate if you are in the right frame of mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
594 reviews
2.8 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
492 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
420 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
307 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,513 - ₹ 18,053
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing