We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
29 Palms Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Motel(Twentynine Palms)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
9 Palms Inn(Twentynine Palms)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms(Twentynine Palms)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Rancho Dolores Motel(Twentynine Palms)
US$ 120
US$ 87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 122
US$ 113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell House(Twentynine Palms)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
249
92
20
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
92
20
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoshua tree national parkorganic gardenshrimp and scallopsfault linean oasisenclosed patiobottle roomice chestguest houseoatmealhard boiled eggshomemade breadlounge chairsunique placevisitor centerlove this placehigh desert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here with a friend during my visit to Joshua Tree. We stayed in the Apache Plume, an adobe cabin on the easternmost end of the grounds (which meant stunning sunrises right outside our patio). The grounds themselves are charming--the hotel is in an oasis on the edge of the park. It has a decent-sized pool which I attempted to use exactly once, only to be defeated by the cold (the desert in February is decidedly not hot). The room had a fireplace (which meant s'mores) and a separate little dressing room where the closet was, which was nice for some extra privacy. The heating system took a while to warm up but kept us toasty even when the temperatures dropped into the 20's at night. We ate at the restaurant our first night there. The food was tasty but definitely overpriced (even by our jaded NYC standards). Margaritas were spotty--excellent the first night, really bad on an afternoon two days into our stay. Overall, this place is cute and very convenient to the park. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AmoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I travel to 29 Palms for business, and discovered this inn last trip and will never stay at a boring chain hotel there again. You get your own funky bungalow (mine was purple) with plenty of silence, a crackling fire laid out for you each night (fireplaces in most of the rooms), birds flitting around the cacti and palm trees just outside your door each morning, and reliably good food grown in the garden and served up in the restaurant, poolside, each evening. Add live music at the restaurant, a very eclectic mix of hippies, Los Angelenos on weekend getaways, Marines, and the odd European family, and you get the best experience in 29 Palms, hands down. Don't expect wi-fi in your room or a new flat screen TV - just enjoy being in the desert.

Room Tip: Hotel website has descriptions of the rooms. Some are around the oasis, some closer to the desert, farther from the restaurant & pool. I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjkielpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Some are freestanding adobes, some are duplexes, one is Japanese-style and one even has it's own deck over the pond. The Inn is situated in an oasis on the edge of Joshua Tree National Park. We stay here every November and really enjoy watching the migratory birds that gather at the oasis. If you need TV and all the amenities you should look elsewhere, but if you like character and charm, you'll love it here.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The 29 Palms Inn is a fantastic place to base your visit to Joshua Tree National Park, and other places of interest in the High Desert. The heritage cabins even come complete with fireplaces! The restaurant on site is a great place to dine, with a woonderful menu at reasonable prices, and interesting diners including many local residents.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 8 pueblo bungalows built in the early 1950's
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I've enjoyed the 29 Palms Inn immensely over the decades. It's wonderful in every season. To start off, the Margaritas at the charming bar (are the chili lights still up?) take the edge off the 10-hour drive. In spring and summer the pool has a retro glamor appeal which makes the heat bearable, almost festive. In the winter, respite and a warm place for shelter. I have happy memories, my face crammed into the corner window of the Hermitage, watching the winds swirl leaves and such around while coyotes howled. It's a magical place.

Best food in the valley with the most culture. Rooms are unique, charming and comfortable. The cottages are separated from each other with lots of gorgeous desert to wander in. Stay here and you'll love it!

Room Tip: Haven't tried them all yet. Some are more 50's than others. The adobes are nice. The hermitage is magic!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonoma_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews