We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy experiencing unique, historic Inns I highly recommend this one. Each room/cabin has a different feel and all of the”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Some are freestanding adobes, some are duplexes, one is Japanese-style and one even has it's own deck over the pond. The Inn is situated in an oasis on the edge of Joshua Tree National Park. We stay here every November and really enjoy watching the migratory birds that gather at the oasis. If you need TV and all the amenities you should look elsewhere, but if you like character and charm, you'll love it here.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for 29 Palms Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

The 29 Palms Inn is a fantastic place to base your visit to Joshua Tree National Park, and other places of interest in the High Desert. The heritage cabins even come complete with fireplaces! The restaurant on site is a great place to dine, with a woonderful menu at reasonable prices, and interesting diners including many local residents.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 8 pueblo bungalows built in the early 1950's
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steveston_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I've enjoyed the 29 Palms Inn immensely over the decades. It's wonderful in every season. To start off, the Margaritas at the charming bar (are the chili lights still up?) take the edge off the 10-hour drive. In spring and summer the pool has a retro glamor appeal which makes the heat bearable, almost festive. In the winter, respite and a warm place for shelter. I have happy memories, my face crammed into the corner window of the Hermitage, watching the winds swirl leaves and such around while coyotes howled. It's a magical place.

Best food in the valley with the most culture. Rooms are unique, charming and comfortable. The cottages are separated from each other with lots of gorgeous desert to wander in. Stay here and you'll love it!

Room Tip: Haven't tried them all yet. Some are more 50's than others. The adobes are nice. The herm...
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonoma_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

we stayed here only for 1 night, as it was early in our holiday, but wished we could have stayed longer.

It was located in a quiet spot set well back from the main road in 29 Palms. A feeling of calm and relaxation came over us immediately on arrival and we were not disappointed with the room or facilities.

There is a lovely pool to relax beside and an excellent bar and restaurant serving wonderful food. We sat outside to have dinner and were entertained by a man playing calming pan-pipe Indian music, which created a wonderful atmosphere in the desert setting.

The grounds around the hotel are very pleasant, with an oasis and lake,etc

The breakfast was fairly basic - just oatmeal, bread, jam, coffee and orange juice, but sitting outdoors in the early morning sun was delightful.

This is definitely the best place to stay near Joshua Tree National Park - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have lovely surroundings.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I had stayed at 29 palms back in '98 and '99 and loved it but was unsure if it would live up to my romanticized memories that had from over 10 years ago - but it did! We stayed in the Forget Me Not bungalow which felt like a homey cabin. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. I had mentioned at check in that we were on our honeymoon and within 5 minutes of our arrival, a bottle of champagne was waiting at our door! It's true that the rooms are a little worn but for me, that added to the charm of staying in the middle of the desert. The dozens of bunnies outside of our bungalow also added to the charm!
We ate all of our meals at the lovely poolside restaurant. Our meal the first night was phenomenal - one of the best I've had in awhile and the staff was jovial and warm. I love that they grow their vegetables in a garden that's right behind the restaurant (and fun to tour!) and that all of the bread is homemade. Local musicians had been hired to entertain the outside guests so though our meal the second night was not nearly as good, the atmosphere made up for it. I also loved that locals from neighboring towns were eating at the restaurant as well.
We spent our days hiking in the NP, laying by the pool and the front desk 'concierge' even called in a masseuse to give us in-room massages. Overall, 29 Palms was an amazing first stop on our honeymoon. In my opinion, independently owned inns beat out chain hotels every time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
631 reviews
2.8 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
498 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: ₹ 4,556 - ₹ 18,222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing