We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A REAL OASIS IN THE DESERT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A REAL OASIS IN THE DESERT”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

stayed here one night, wish that I had been able to stay longer. stayed in cabin z and it was clean and comfortable. the restaurant was good, had a ny strip that was good quality and cooked exactly as I ordered. staff was friendly and professional. what you really pay for here is the oasis, it is absolutely beautiful, the only one privately owned and solely for guest at the inn. our room had a tiny tv, but who wants to watch tv in a paradise like this? don't go here expecting luxury, go here for the experience, the tranquility and beauty of the oasis. you may never want to leave

Room Tip: cabins x,y, and z are the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    84
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
148
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

If you would like an earthy low frequency stay near Joshua Tree then the 29 Palms Inn is a great choice. It has a certain charm of it's own and you get to feel the surrounds of the the desert while being insulated from the main road and the rest of 29 Palms which is nothing special.

We stayed in one of the Adobes with the private courtyard and it was very comfortable. I like to be able to open windows and get fresh air at night which you can do here. It was also nice touch to be able to sun bathe in privacy. It also felt very safe and secure.

To me there was a bit of the Hotel San Jose (Austin) in the 29 Palms, not quite as tailored but certainly a similar character in ways.

The bed was super comfy and we weren't disturbed until a couple with a Prius (say no more) checked out early and decided to open and close their car door a million times and have a loud conversation outside our window before leaving. Otherwise everything went smoothly. Dinner was delightful ~ amazing breakfast included. Admittedly the hot tub could do with a makeover (asap).

It is very down to earth and that's the way we like it. Walking around the grounds with oasis and seeing their veggie garden really added to our stay.

We are not into the sanitized hotel experience. One reviewer said "Huge Disappointment". It sounds like they should have stayed in Palm springs at a Boutique Hotel who would cater to their every whim, seriously. Oh dear the dust from the unpaved roads, LOL!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Look at the map of the grouds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sijcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I am not sure what everyone is raving about - the place does not justify the rates at all! It's a bunch of painted shacks on a patch of dirt. I get the attempt at being artsy, but this is not artsy, it's kind of sad - everything is falling apart and it's really dirty (not just the dust from the unpaved roads, but the fact that it's not being cleaned properly). We stayed in the "Forget Me Not" room which is apparently one of the better ones (!). As we walked in, the stench from the fireplace was so strong that I seriously thought about sleeping in my car as it was too late to look for anything else (it smelled like someone was grilling meat in it for a long time and never bothered to clean it or even air it). We tried opening the windows but only half of them had screens on. The sink in the bathroom as well as the shower looked like they have not been properly washed in years, the fixtures were falling apart and were covered with rust. The drapes were dirty and I didn't even want to think about the clenliness of the sheets as I got into bed. I tried hard not to touch anything. There was nothing romantic about the experience. We could not wait to check out and were really glad that we booked the place for only one night.

One bright spot - we had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent: tasteful and fresh, artfully arranged on our plates and plentiful. I would definitely stop by for food if I am ever in this area again, but would never stay a night here even if they gave me a room for free. On a flip side, the restaurant was very, very loud in the morning and the promised complimentary breakfast did not live up to the hype that it was made up to be. The food was so and so but there were long intervals when there was not enough coffee or juice or bread, etc. The eggs were brought in after we were almost done. They also had only one toaster to 20 plus people so the lines were pretty long...

Oh, almost forgot - don't bother with the hot tub (they call it a spa). Located in a shack by itself under a lock, it's a plastic tub covered with a dirty plastic cover that you have to hoist up yourself and place aside(?). We did not venture in, one quick peek was enough to heal you of any desire for it.

In short, there are so many nicer places in and around Palm Springs area (and on a driving distance from Joshua Tree Park) for the same money that there is absolutely no reason to stay in this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29palmsinn, Innkeeper at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
The Inn is an historic property with many of the cabins being built in the 20's and 30's. Most of our guests appreciate that we make every effort to maintain these old buildings in such a way as not to destroy their historical character. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and hope you will come again .We thank you for your comments and have looked into the specifics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Artsy and off the beaten track--we didn't stay there (we were camping in Joshua Tree) but it's a great place to stop and have dinner. The meal was a bit uneven (can't recommend the chicken marsala though the rib eye with blue cheese was lovely) but the ingredients were fresh, the wait staff were enthusiastic, and the setting was great. The beer was good too.

Room Tip: Didn't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank JB-in-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We came to this place for a Road Scholar class that we were taking, but will certainly be back even without a scheduled class.

The setting of this inn is at the Oasis of Mara, so there is a lovely pool of water with palm trees, and a wind blowing through and giving a lovely rustling sound. The units are mostly separated and private. We were in The Hermitage which is a wooden unit with twin beds each of which is up in a window. Looking out at the stars at night was wonderful! This is the only unit that has a small fridge and a microwave. Be aware that the trade-off is a bathroom that is out one door, a couple of steps across a deck and in another door. This was no problem for us, and reminded us of a place that we had rented when we were just married.

The food in the restaurant is prepared by a genuine chef, and the offerings for our group of 22 was very tasty and well prepared. We ate from the menu in the restaurant on our last day, and offerings were tempting. The food that we chose was very good.

Room Tip: Look at Inn's website/photos before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestravel1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
541 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
402 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
270 reviews
4.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
248 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,534 - ₹ 18,137
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing