We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harmony Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 114
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
9 Palms Inn(Twentynine Palms)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms(Twentynine Palms)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Campbell House(Twentynine Palms)
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Dolores Motel(Twentynine Palms)
US$ 120
US$ 87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 122
US$ 113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
324
129
34
20
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
129
34
20
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomhot tubjack kerouaccommunal kitchenjoshua treefull kitchentoaster ovendesert gardenhiking groupthe owner managermorning coffeeown mealscookie cutterdown the roadtables and chairsceiling fanhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed two nights at the Harmony Motel. The highlight is the POOL! Sooo refreshing after a hot day in the park and surprisingly very clean. The hot tub was clean too but the jets don't work so it's like soaking in hot water(pump needs replacing). The grounds are well-maintained. My bedding was questionable. Sheets were old and pilled and one of my pillows was so old that it folded in half by itself. It should be discarded. My bed cover was torn and the blanket had holes. The good part is that the a/c is adequate to sleep in and the bathroom was clean and fine. No wash cloths are provided so bring your own. The common area comes in handy for getting hot water and coffee in the morning. The owner is pleasant too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and the grounds.

However there seems to have been some disatisfaction with some of the amentities due to a lack of communication to management.

The jets of the hot tub is in perfect functioning order, the jets are set on a timer, as some guest prefer using it and some do not, ( there is a sign at the spa that indicates this). If you had requested it be on to the a staff member on duty would have assisted you on this. You did request more towels and this was provided to you immediately. We are disappointed and apologise with your dissatifiaction on the beddings, if you brought this to our attention we would have looked into it immediatedly ( as your comfort is priorty for us ), unfortuanately you mislead us to believe that everything was perfect and you were very happy with the amentities, ( when our staff asked you if you were comfortable, you replied "yes very, love this palce").

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE. DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD & FIND ANOTHER PLACE. What was supposed to be a nice birthday weekend get away for us turned into a disaster, thanks to the no-so-kind people at Harmony. We had booked our room 2 days in advance for our 1st night's stay in the Joshua Tree area, with our 2nd night at another local hotel. We received a call on the morning we were preparing to depart....car packed, children at their grandfather's...all ducks in a row. A message was left which gave no explanation, except that there was no room for us, even though at the time of booking it still showed 6 rooms open. When we called the hotel, the receptionist was flippant & rude, to the point of being mean. Though we remained calm, polite & patient as we attempted to determine why they had cancelled our reservations at such a late time, she ultimately said, "it's not my problem," and then she hung up on us. When we called back & asked to speak to a manager, she informed us that she was the manager. She would not give her name or that of her superior, nor any other person to which we might voice our grievances. Again she hung up on us. Because of the late notice, we were unable to find another room in the area for under $200. Our only recourse was to cancel our 2nd night stay at the other hotel for our 2nd night and stay in town. Of course, because of the late cancellation on our part, we were charged for the 2nd room. I think it is ironic that The Harmony requires 72 hours for cancellation to avoid a room charge, yet they gave us 5 hours notice and offered absolutely no consolation...no comp or discount for another date, not even an apology. Just a loud click & a dial tone. We were astonished that anyone could be so cold and unaccommodating, especially the person who calls her self the manager. Perhaps the fact that U2 stayed here 20 years ago has gone to their head, maybe they are unorganized, maybe they haven't properly trained their staff. That is not our problem, but alas, it became so. UNBELIEVABLE & UNACCEPTABLE. AVOID THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: We wouldn't know, we never saw the facilities.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Steve67G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear traveler,

Our records indicate:

You called at 11.30pm the night before to reserve a room, the reservations office was closed, you were ask to call in at 7am to make a reservation, however you went online and made a booking through the booking engine. At 6.30 am the next morning the front desk clerk, received the reservation and realized that the booking engine let to an overbooking. Because you were arriving that afternoon at 3pm, she immediately called you and left a message on your phone to make you aware of the overbooking, and asked you to call the motel.
You called back at 2pm,
1.The front desk clerk explained you that a glitch in the system let to an overbooking, therefore called you immediately less than 24 hrs from the time the reservation was made, to notify you.
2.That your credit card was not charged by the motel,
3.And she advised you of hotels/motels that had rooms; these motels have the same price and the same amenities as the Harmony. You refuse to take this option,
4.You put a friend on the line (that was not part of the reservation) and insisted on a two nights complimentary stay, when the front desk clerk explained to your friend that this was not the hotel policy as no charges was made to your card, and the hotel advised you of places in the area that had rooms available, that provided similar pricing and amenities, your friend began harassing her by constantly calling and insisting on a two nights complimentary stay).


Sorry we could not meet your demands and your friends (of offering you two nites
free as we are a small business of 8 rooms only), we realize that this is what
got you and your friend angry with the motel staff).

In this situation our staff ensured that you were informed on time, less that 24 hrs from the time that the reservation was made, and provided you with reliable information so that you could continue your travel arrangements.We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Never mind the cute ambience this is a great value motel - try the Rib Co for great food and service just 200 metres down the hill

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you are in the desert ask for rooms further away from the office
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Love this place, just what we wanted. Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. The lady that owns the place (Ash) is super nice and very willing to give you information on where to eat, her favorite trails, and just to chat. We loved the fact that they will take the tv out of the room. Also there is a common "kitchen" with cute tables, a community fridge, a toaster oven and very good coffee. We even used wine glasses from there one night, so convenient. At night after long days in joshua tree we enjoyed relaxing in the perfectly heated hot tub and watching the stars. The front patios were a welcome place to enjoy a glass of wine or read a book. Speaking of books, there is also a great lending library by the common room.
Other amenities I didn't use but looked great:
A clean pool
Wifi
A community internet computer in the "library"

I will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I often stay at the Harmony: alone, with my husband, and when traveling with friends.

The owner, Ash, is super nice, reasonable and helpful. She takes good care of the property, and has taken care to impart a peaceful, relaxing, and lovely property. It has a great, low key, ambiance.

The rooms are spacious, with open, wooden beamed ceilings, and nice local artwork. You can tell the works were selected with care. The beds are comfy, but not too soft. The restrooms are accented with glass tile details, but are a bit smallish (shower stalls/no tubs - also on the cozy side).

Each room has an outdoor table, and chairs, to sit outside, and check out the view or check in on your laptops. (But why go to the desert to look at flat screens?)

The property is strung with tasteful little lights, that twinkle at night, to add to the brightness of the lighted pool and night sky.

I love the rooms with the kitchens - great, if you want to stay in and unwind. Fully functional - great for sitting at the table, drinking coffee, looking out the window, reading, and planning my day. (If they're taken, the common room sure comes in handy.)

I highly recommend sitting by the pool at sunset, watching the sun set, then settling in for a gorgeous view of the desert from the hot tub. It's very peaceful - almost magical. The view is unobstructed desert, for quite a way out - and you can see all the stars looking up.

The Harmony is located on Highway 62, so the closer to the highway, the more traffic sounds you hear. So, the Jack Kerouac cabin is not noise free - it is closest to the highway. My friend stayed here, and noted the sound, but wasn't bothered. If you are sensitive to the sound, ask for the rooms farthest from the road. : )

Please take time to visit this gem - close to Joshua Tree proper, but inexpensive, well cared for, and truly relaxing. It's close enough to most places to visit in the area. But it's delightful, if you have the time to unwind by the pool, and look up to see the night sky.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear guest,
It is always a pleasure to see. We are grateful for your patronage. Thanks for recommending us to your friends and for the wonderfull review.
Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews