We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

When my husband and I were booking our first trip to the desert we wanted to avoid the chain "anywhere USA" rooms. We were seeking a "local experience". We found it at the Harmony. We stayed 4 nights 4/17/12-4/21/12. We were given room #6. It had a cute "eat in" kitchen that was large enough for two to work comfortably, a spacious bed room with interesting art work, and a small but lovely tiled bathroom. My personal favorite was the view from our room. All of the rooms have charming little cafe tables out side. Most of these over look the the interesting garden and pool area. Room 6, being on the far end offers a wonderful vista of the desert and distant mountains. Sitting on our little veranda with our coffee watching breathtaking sunrises is an experience I will carry in my mind for life. My son joined us on our last night staying in room #3 which was equally charming. We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The pool enclosure was great, with with a rustic but cozy decor and offered options for sitting in the sun or shade. Ash is a terrific hostess and I cannot say enough nice things about Renee, our housekeeper. She was cheerful, helpful and friendly. Everything, room and grounds were very clean. If I am lucky enough to get back to that beautiful part of our country, I would absolutely stay at The Harmony.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
dear guest,
Thank you for writing this great review on our motel, we are glad that our services made you feel comforatble, and you truly enjoyed the desert through our establishment. We hope to see you soon.
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    119
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
170
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

If I could give six stars for service, I would. Here's why I say that.
We stayed three nights - 4/18 - 4/20/12. We checked out on 4/21 not realizing that my 2 year old had stashed her Leappad laptop under the bed. Couple of hours into our seven hour drive back home, she asked for her toy. That is when we realized that we'd somehow left it behind. No way were we going to be able to go back to get it.
We reached home that evening and saw Ash's message waiting for us on the answering machine. I called her right back and she graciously agreed to mail it - at no charge to us.THAT, folks, is service.
We stayed in #1 which didn't have a kitchen since that room was closest available to the parking and the common room.
Although there was some noise from the highway, it really wasn't much as the traffic seemed to dwindle substantially at night. Ash gave us the key to the common room so that we could heat up milk for our toddler in the microwave anytime at night.
The room is your basic motel room, but nicely done, very clean and comfortable. The #1 has a small stand up shower. It does not have a tub. Water was hot the shower flows nice and strong. The gas heater worked fine when the storm that came up over the area on Friday drove temperatures down.
It is nicely located, about couple of miles from the Joshua Tree NP entrance.
We enjoyed our stay. It is a nice value for the money you pay.
U2 stayed here (twentyfive years ago this year) you should too :)

Room Tip: Not all rooms have kitchen/microwave/refrigerator. But the common room has both a refrigerator and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJKSClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
dear guest,
Thank you for writing this fab review.
We enjoyed have you and your family, we are grateful that you appreciated our services.

Thanks
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had another fun week here @ the Harmony Motel in Twenty Nine Palms. It’s right near Joshua Tree National Park just north of the main part of town. After our daily excursions, we all congregate in the protected patio for snacks and beverages before dinner. There were more than 20 of us this year, some ate at restaurants and some fixed meals in our kitchens. There’s beautiful views of the mountains on the east side of the park and the desert landscape is all around. At dawn, having coffee outside on the patio is fabulous. We can watch the sun rise in colorful skies some mornings. And, Ash, the proprietor is very responsive to our needs. She keeps the premises clean and very nice. Some of us have been coming since 2006 and we plan to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xylasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

For $100 a night for a one bedroom with big full kitchen, this place was just perfect. It was slightly run-down, but in a homey kind of way, It was clean and simple and had a pool and hot tub too. The location right outside Joshua Tree NP made this place perfect!

Room Tip: Half the rooms have full kitchens and the other half don't. There is a community kitchen and liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Chose the Harmony Motel based on the TA reviews. At $81 including tax it was good value. Staff were pleasant. Positives - large room with 2 king beds; clean; pool; WiFi; common room with fridge, microwave, ice, coffee and fruit for breakfast. Minusses - small bathroom; dated and needs maintenance (slats missing from blinds, stains on chairs etc etc); traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear guest,

This review is misleading, as our room types do not have two king beds(we only have room types that have two full size beds in our doubles) check website to verify. We do not serve any food ( no fruit). Our bathrooms are all up date with new fixtures. We do have blinds/and curtains in all our rooms to ensure that there is max privacy and comfort for our guests. If there was any discomfort, if reported to the staff on duty it would have been taken care of promptly to ensure that our guest was comfortable, our reports do not indicate any of the minsusses as a guest complaint that you have posted on this forum.

It seems that you have mistaken this motel with some other facility that you may have lodge in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
5.6 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.3 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.1 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,699 - ₹ 7,402
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing