We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little bit of paradise”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Salkum, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband Ray and I stayed at the Roughly Manor in the sunset room for 4 days, wish we could have stayed longer, we loved every minute of it. Gary & Jan and "sammy" were very enjoyable. Breakfast everyday was worth getting up early for, delious food and served with a special flair by Gary.
We will most definitely return and we highly recommend staying here.

Janice & Ray Burley

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
236
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We recently stayed at Roughley Manor, for the second time. It is a wonderful place! There are rooms in the 3 story stone house, and also stand alone cottages. Everything, inside and out is perfectly done. Sitting in front of our cottage watching quail was so nice! The extensive grounds are peaceful and relaxing and Sammy the dog is there to keep you company.
Breakfasts are beautifully served and equally as delicious. You can eat outside in nice weather. Innkeepers Jan and Gary seem meant for this work. They get everything right! And be sure to check out the owls.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobeyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Co.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was so happy we chose Roughley Manor for our visit to Joshua Tree. It is an absolutely fabulous place to stay with comfortable suites and a beautiful garden and pool area. . I could have stayed a month.

Room Tip: I would call the owners for advice on which type of room would suit your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) that spent 3 nights in the Cholla room at Roughley Manor. We absolutely loved it there and it might be the best place we've ever stayed. The room was extremely large and comfortable; breakfast was delicious (breakfast panini, peach french toast, potato and sausage quiche); the owls were amazing; and the hosts were wonderfully available and friendly, yet appropriately reserved. We were lucky enough to see a bobcat on the grounds at dusk one night. We were told by the owner that this was an extremely rare sighting and a ranger at Joshua Tree told us that he had not seen a bobcat in the 20+ years he'd been stationed there. The grounds at the B&B are just lovely and there are many nice seating areas where you can sit and relax with a glass of wine or book. If we ever make it down to Joshua Tree again, we will definitely be staying at Roughley Manor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is from a first-time bed-and-breakfaster.

Being the type who dreads (and welcomes) new experiences, I waited till my mid-50's to finally try a bed and breakfast. I doubt I could have picked a better place to start. The idea of having a retired Marine colonel running the place did leave me wondering whether our mornings would start with a "Get your butts up now, you buncha maggots!!!" but it turned out to be totally stress-free, relaxing and downright comfortable. (And I am not one who gets comfortable easily.)

We stayed in one of the suites, which had the expected creaky floors, but was otherwise impeccably clean (highly important to my germ-phobic wife) and had the modern amenities one expects; i.e., satellite TV, Internet access (fairly slow, but good enough to watch NetFlix on the iPad), and even a hair dryer.

The breakfast was excellent, and although the cookies are not made purely from scratch, they are nonetheless absolutely delicious.

In short, we would most certainly go back, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone I know.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rfjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
7.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
6.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
37.2 km away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,970 - ₹ 10,498
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing