We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) that spent 3 nights in the Cholla room at Roughley Manor. We absolutely loved it there and it might be the best place we've ever stayed. The room was extremely large and comfortable; breakfast was delicious (breakfast panini, peach french toast, potato and sausage quiche); the owls were amazing; and the hosts were wonderfully available and friendly, yet appropriately reserved. We were lucky enough to see a bobcat on the grounds at dusk one night. We were told by the owner that this was an extremely rare sighting and a ranger at Joshua Tree told us that he had not seen a bobcat in the 20+ years he'd been stationed there. The grounds at the B&B are just lovely and there are many nice seating areas where you can sit and relax with a glass of wine or book. If we ever make it down to Joshua Tree again, we will definitely be staying at Roughley Manor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Campbell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is from a first-time bed-and-breakfaster.

Being the type who dreads (and welcomes) new experiences, I waited till my mid-50's to finally try a bed and breakfast. I doubt I could have picked a better place to start. The idea of having a retired Marine colonel running the place did leave me wondering whether our mornings would start with a "Get your butts up now, you buncha maggots!!!" but it turned out to be totally stress-free, relaxing and downright comfortable. (And I am not one who gets comfortable easily.)

We stayed in one of the suites, which had the expected creaky floors, but was otherwise impeccably clean (highly important to my germ-phobic wife) and had the modern amenities one expects; i.e., satellite TV, Internet access (fairly slow, but good enough to watch NetFlix on the iPad), and even a hair dryer.

The breakfast was excellent, and although the cookies are not made purely from scratch, they are nonetheless absolutely delicious.

In short, we would most certainly go back, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rfjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of our road trip in California, booked it whilst we were out there on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. It was amazing! We stayed here in our first week, and it really set the standard for all following accommodation (which none could meet).

The breakfast is the best breakfast I have eaten ever!

I also loved the history of the Manor and actually everything about it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently stayed at Roughley Manor which is adjacent to Joshua Tree National Park. We found the inn to be a charming retreat. The breakfasts were quite good and the area is peaceful and beautifully kept. Other reviews suggested that Roughley Manor is "too formal". We did not find that at all. In fact, just the opposite. The hosts are very open and friendly and the rooms were quite comfortable. We found it a peaceful and restful place after a full day of hiking at Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here last week, and it was a restful, wonderful experience. Our Cottage room was a delight, with a separate sitting area. Grounds were beautiful, stately and restful. Breakfasts were outstanding, hosts were gracious and caring. Everything worked together to provide a fantastic experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
7.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
631 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
3.7 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
6.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: ₹ 9,418 - ₹ 11,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing