We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent”

Chavkova House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Melnik
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The best in Melnik, after many visits.
Food was perfect, wine too. Big portions and value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Παναγιώτης Τ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

We spent a weekend in Melnik and we had dinner in Chavkova both nights plus our last day's breakfast- apparently we really liked it! It's a nice and traditional Bulgarian tavern with all the local dishes, executed and presented very well!
We loved the fries with the shredded cheese and the garlic, it was the bomb! Very nice salad with grilled vegetables and yummy and fresh chicken hearts, very nicely grilled as well! The one day I had a nicely grilled trout and really enjoyed it.
The omelettes are gigantic and so rich and filling. But for me the absolute treat is the homemade ice cream with the figs and the nuts, do yourself the favour and don't miss out on that!
We had great local rakia and we also had the red house wine, which to be honest was kind of heavy!
Lastly the VfM is great as more or less everywhere in Bulgaria! The menus are also in greek and I absolutely loved some of the random translations of the dishes that were displayed there!
Recommended!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kleio_Nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The food was average and typical of what you’d find at most restaurants. The service was terrible, with some very rude staff. I definitely do not recommend this place due to the service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mikeleesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChavkovaHouse, Manager at Chavkova House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

You are been terrible and rude customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great and cozy restaurant with a rich menu of traditional al dishes. We had a family meal and the service was good and fast. The food itself is one of the best meals we had in bulgaria with traditional dishes. Very recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 840gabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This was our first meal and Bulgaria and we were not disappointed. It is located in the centre with nice views of the town. The food and wine were good, reasonably priced and the service was friendly and excellent.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chavkova House Restaurant also viewed

Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
 
Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
 
Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
Melnik, Blagoevgrad Province
 

Been to Chavkova House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing