We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
10
14
3
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
14
3
4
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Beds are good. View is very nice.The rooms are oldfashion. A collection of a little bit of everything. Everywhere fitted carpet, even in the bathroom. First breakfast: nice and enough real backery bread rolls, some other kinds of bread. Second breakfast: warmed-up pre-packed bread rolls you can buy in every supermarked. The other bread was not fresh. Next breakfast: only two pre-packed bread rolls. The basket wasn't filled again. De other bread was'n fresh, from the day before. From the nearby kitchen, a cigarette smell came over. The candlesticks on the table needs a duster.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

True of many Belgian restaurants, look where the locals go and make an effort to meet and build a relationship with the staff.

The St-Laureins is on a no through road on the beach dunes. It offers three serving areas.

During the day, there is an outside shielded zone where drinks and light refreshments are served. This is pet friendly and beautifully open air zone seconds from the beach.

The second zone is a casual zone with robust wicker chairs and ideal for brunch or in variable weather.

Thirdly, the main restaurant is a well laid out, professional and starred venue.

The evening menu offers set fixed prices options, a wide choice of meat, fish and lighter meals with delicious desserts for all seasons.

As for the service, for the evening, book a table, be ten minutes early, choose from their drinks range and have a great conversation about their recommendations of the day.

This team are friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The food is delicious and access is good with a long row of on street parking.

Overall, this venue is well worth a visit, trusted by locals and good enough value to compete with other restaurants in the area.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank spectrafashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

At first sight, the hotel looks a bit forlorn, standing by itself in the dunes near Westende, but at least that makes it very easy to find, as you can spot it from afar if you are using the coastal tram. This is a simple, family-run, unpretentious two-star hotel, and if not the most modern, is fairly clean and comfortable, so fine if you just want to use it as a base for exploring the area (which is pretty unattractive, I should add, but that's a matter of opinion).
We had a quiet, spacious room on the third floor with a view of the dunes and the sea, a small bathroom, two wardrobes and a small bar. There's no lift though, and the stairs are quite badly-lit and narrow, so not for someone poor-sighted or with walking difficulties.
Breakfast was adequate, and the evening meal in the hotel restaurant was of reasonable standard, if somewhat pricey. If you remember that it's rare to tip in this part of Belgium, then that's some consolation. And of course as a bonus there was the greatly appreciated free wi-fi, with good reception all over the hotel.
Certainly the location is brilliant - there is free parking, you are right next to the beach and the coastal tram stop is a couple of minutes' walk away (though you couldn't hear it from our room). In short, serviceable.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Merz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wanted to give a 2 week old baby his milk in the restaurant because it was windy outside. We had to go outside because we didn't eat. In the end we stayed inside but couldn't even drink something. I would never go back to this restaurant even if the quality of the food would be ok.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jef009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I must say the site & pictures look great, but the service was.... far from professional.

I tried to make a reservation and was informed I must send a mail to the hotel with all my data, including the mastercard code. This seems very unprofessional and risky for a 4 star hotel on the beach and therefore requested information regarding this procedure and a possible more secure manner of payment for my reservation.
At this point my reservation was denied and there was no talking to the lady on the other line any longer, "this doesn't feel right" she said (apparently the owner herself).

Summery: It is unbelievable that in the 20th century one must send a mail to a hotel on a non private secure line with all information regarding ones mastercard?!

I guess the conclusion here is:
The customer must do all to convince the hotel (if we are worthy or something...) and the hotel does whatever they wish to the customer.

Regarding customer rights, service & payment security:
Were they go??

I guess you can always take your chance and find out.
All the best and good luck.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Traveler77_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews