We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this place”
Review of Hotel St-Laureins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel St-Laureins
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Westende
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We've dined here on numerous occasions and booked to stay here overnight and have dinner.

Upon arrival they were so lovely, the daughter even helped me with my luggage.

I went to my room which was on the top floor and the best in the hotel... the view was simply stunning.

The room had the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in and the room had character, lovely furniture (it had lots of character) and a mini bar that was better stocked than many bars!

The breakfast was great, lots of choice and beautiful scrambled eggs cooked fresh to order.

Parking is just outside the hotel and is also free.

We had a delicious dinner, I had baked cod and my oh my was it one of the best fish dishes that I'd ever had and a lovely chocolate mousse to finish.

My friend had a scampi dish, the dish was huge! An amazing dinner all round.

Every time we have eaten here we've been delighted with the food and are always well looked after.

I'm surprised with the previous comments, we've been visiting here for around 5 years and are always happy.

We will certainly return, I enjoy hotels and restaurants that are individual and this one was truly unique.

I loved it


Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2015

Beds are good. View is very nice.The rooms are oldfashion. A collection of a little bit of everything. Everywhere fitted carpet, even in the bathroom. First breakfast: nice and enough real backery bread rolls, some other kinds of bread. Second breakfast: warmed-up pre-packed bread rolls you can buy in every supermarked. The other bread was not fresh. Next breakfast: only two pre-packed bread rolls. The basket wasn't filled again. De other bread was'n fresh, from the day before. From the nearby kitchen, a cigarette smell came over. The candlesticks on the table needs a duster.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

True of many Belgian restaurants, look where the locals go and make an effort to meet and build a relationship with the staff.

The St-Laureins is on a no through road on the beach dunes. It offers three serving areas.

During the day, there is an outside shielded zone where drinks and light refreshments are served. This is pet friendly and beautifully open air zone seconds from the beach.

The second zone is a casual zone with robust wicker chairs and ideal for brunch or in variable weather.

Thirdly, the main restaurant is a well laid out, professional and starred venue.

The evening menu offers set fixed prices options, a wide choice of meat, fish and lighter meals with delicious desserts for all seasons.

As for the service, for the evening, book a table, be ten minutes early, choose from their drinks range and have a great conversation about their recommendations of the day.

This team are friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The food is delicious and access is good with a long row of on street parking.

Overall, this venue is well worth a visit, trusted by locals and good enough value to compete with other restaurants in the area.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank spectrafashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

At first sight, the hotel looks a bit forlorn, standing by itself in the dunes near Westende, but at least that makes it very easy to find, as you can spot it from afar if you are using the coastal tram. This is a simple, family-run, unpretentious two-star hotel, and if not the most modern, is fairly clean and comfortable, so fine if you just want to use it as a base for exploring the area (which is pretty unattractive, I should add, but that's a matter of opinion).
We had a quiet, spacious room on the third floor with a view of the dunes and the sea, a small bathroom, two wardrobes and a small bar. There's no lift though, and the stairs are quite badly-lit and narrow, so not for someone poor-sighted or with walking difficulties.
Breakfast was adequate, and the evening meal in the hotel restaurant was of reasonable standard, if somewhat pricey. If you remember that it's rare to tip in this part of Belgium, then that's some consolation. And of course as a bonus there was the greatly appreciated free wi-fi, with good reception all over the hotel.
Certainly the location is brilliant - there is free parking, you are right next to the beach and the coastal tram stop is a couple of minutes' walk away (though you couldn't hear it from our room). In short, serviceable.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Merz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wanted to give a 2 week old baby his milk in the restaurant because it was windy outside. We had to go outside because we didn't eat. In the end we stayed inside but couldn't even drink something. I would never go back to this restaurant even if the quality of the food would be ok.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jef009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westende hotels
1 km away
Belcasa Suitehotel
Belcasa Suitehotel
#3 of 6 in Westende
35 reviews
1.5 km away
Villa Hotel
Villa Hotel
#1 of 6 in Westende
207 reviews
0.7 km away
C-Aparthotel Zon en Zee
C-Aparthotel Zon en Zee
#1 of 9 in Westende
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Apparthotel De Wielingen
Apparthotel De Wielingen
#8 of 9 in Westende
12 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Westendia
Hotel Westendia
#5 of 10 in Westende
58 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
B&B Vanloo
#6 of 10 in Westende
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Laureins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Laureins

Address: Strandlaan 12, Westende 8434, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Westende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Westende
Price Range: ₹ 9,391 - ₹ 9,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel St-Laureins 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel St-Laureins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing