We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
317
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course dinner st anton michelin star each morning steam room breakfast and dinner small hotel view from the balcony perfect hotel lift tickets five courses ski vacation the entire staff rooms are lovely short break walk into town room was large
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here in January and found Michael, Andrea and their staff so charming, the hotel pristinely clean and georgously fitted out, and the food unsurpassable...so we had to return again at the beginning of April. We had yet another wonderful week and cannot find a fault. Der Waldhof is a short bus ride from the centre and lifts, but with a morning taxi door to door, ski storage free through the hotel at the bottom of the Galzigbahn, and buses every 10 minutes back throughout the day this is not a problem. It is quietly situated with plenty of space around and woods opposite. Many thanks for another wonderful and relaxing break.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O-Teece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Another year and another excellent meal at der Waldhof. I reviewed this wonderful restaurant in the hotel last year and would like to add a few comments as we were a larger party this time. The food is still sublime and obviously freshly and lovingly prepared by the patron Chef Michael. We were able to further explore the extensive wine list sticking to Austrian fine wines. I did like the pre-dinner wine ( Gruner Veltliner) taken before the open fire in the lobby and this set the tone for a very relaxed meal. Why don't we get such fine Austrian wines in the UK?. Andrea was on hand to oversee our attentive service and dinner was concluded with friendly Schnapps and chat with our Hosts. Great to see standards are being maintained and I recommend you make the effort to have a high quality meal, remembering to book ahead and check if the menu is to your liking that evening. Still only €42 a head for 4 courses!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gaspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Two adjoining rooms made a very comfortable stay for our family of 5. The hosts made us welcome and were about whenever they were needed but never intrusive or officious. The quality and variety of the food was the highlight. Well done to Andrea, Michael and the great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Excellent hotel, children friendly, we have spend a perfect snowboard week with our kids in the hotel. Michael and Andrea (the owners) are so nice, and he is outstanding cook.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed one night at Der Waldhof on a long drive to Italy from Scotland. A traditional, high quality building beautifully decorated, we had a large comfortable room with balcony, a first class shower with impressive toiletries and fluffy white robes. Both dinner, no choice but they did ask if the menu was acceptable beforehand which it certainly was, and breakfast with food cooked to order, were excellent. Our hosts are both experienced in the hospitality business and it shows, they found time chat to us whilst keeping everything running smoothly and their staff were welcoming and attentive. We would definitely stay here again, in fact after 10 weeks in Italy and far too much pasta we were longing to be back for more of that delicious cooking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews