We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Obergurgl”
Review of Hotel Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Madeleine
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Obergurgl”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Fabulous. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Warm, comfortable, exceptionally clean and one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The food was exceptional, the menu written in English a bonus and there was always a delicious vegetarian option. The small skiers afternoon snack was extensive and by no means small - diets all round now we are home! The staff were very friendly, fluent in English and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was generous, the beds comfortable and the modern bathroom had a bath and shower with endless hot water and clean towels every day.The TV in our room had English channels which made a great change from the endless CNN we usually experience. The spa was beautiful, again exceptionally clean, a lovely way to relax at the end of the day. The boot room was secure and the boot pegs really were heated making that early morning foot squeezing session so much easier! The lift stations were only a short walk, 2 or 3 minutes one way from the hotel and 4 or 5 minutes in the other direction; the ski bus stop again only 2 minutes from the hotel. There is just nothing to say about this hotel that is not complementary and having visited 2 or 3 of the other hotels during the week I can only repeat that The Madeleine is the only place to stay when visiting Obergurgl.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HilarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    38
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first visit to Obergurgl, We booked the Madeline on the strength of comments on trip advisor and below are our thoughts on this relaxed family run hotel.

We have just returned from a superb blue sky weeks skiing in Obergurgl staying at this hotel

We stayed in one of the newer family room gurgl rooms.

The room was excellent, large spacious and a bathroom with heated floor, a comfortable bath and shower which never ever suffered from the hot water shortage i have experienced in many ski resort hotels.

The bed was firm and very comfortable and the bedding excellent quality. (The only annoyance was the corner pieces at the bottom of the bed, we kept banging our shins or knee's on these, they could do with being round not square!)

The food in the restaurant was very good and plentiful, the only real fault we found is that the service could be very slow at times and there didnt appear to be a waiter/waitress that covered any one area. Often the wait between courses was frustrating. The drinks we thought were very reasonable for such a remote location, typically water on the table is expensive though but this seems to be the case throughout Austrian hotels.

The weather was so good throught our stay we never even got to check out the Wellness facilities (Sauna/jacuzzi etc) So cant really comment on these.

If Wifi is important to you we had a good strong signal from the free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel is situated midway on the main street into town, The views from the rear look out over a small car park with the mountains behind, They do not look out over the sking areas though.

The walk to nearest lift station is approx 300m away (If you hire your skis/boots at the Schieber sport shop you can leave your skis and boots there overnight) The ski bus service between all the lower lifts is superb and departs every 10 mins throught the day.

Apart from the frustrations over the service in the dining room we really do recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay and are seriously looking at returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stewart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked late so checked out the reviews for Hotel Madeleine and decided to go for it.We weren't disappointed.
After 1 1/2 hour transfer from Innsbruck we were dropped off at about 2030hrs.We went straight in for dinner which was first class.It was a 5 course meal with 3 choices for main meal (meat,fish,or vegetarian) I have never met such friendly and helpful staff.
We then went to our room.It was spacious with adequate storage space.The bathroom had a fantastic power shower which was great for aching muscles.It also had a large radiator for drying wet clothes etc.and a hair dryer.
Some rooms have balcony's some don't.
Breakfast is a variety of hot and cold.You won't go hungry.
The spa at Hotel Madeleine had a jacuzzi,sauna and steam room open from 1500-1900hrs.Very clean and spacious.
The boot room has plenty of room for everyone's skis and also heated boot racks.
It's a 5 minute walk (if that) to the gondola and ski school meeting point.
We didn't experience any queueing for lifts.The slopes were perfectly maintained,wide and not too busy.We couldn't have asked for better skiing conditions.The cost of lunch on the slope was similar to other resorts.
It is fairly easy to get to Hochgurgl either by skiing or getting the bus(lovely wide runs)Some people went to Solden for the day but you have to increase your ski pass to cover this area.
Obergurgl is a small village and only has a few number of bars and shops.It has a small Spar for your essentials.
All in all this is an absolutely fantastic hotel being in a great position with the most fantastic staff.I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Favro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stopped going half board when skiing as usually the food is bland and of poor quality, even in 5 star accomodation in France,Austria and Switzerland. However on a short notice booking to join friends this was all I could get. They were in a higher rated hotel and thier food was not up to standard. All I can say is if you are going half board this is the place to stay. Spotlessly clean, friendly and just the best to date. Fully recomended.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the lift. Not a noisy hotel but never be near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

It would be impossible to give this property anything but five stars - encouraged by previous reviews our expectations were high and the Hotel Madeleine exceeded these on every front. A fabulous five course meal on the first night set the tone for the holiday - beautifully presented and plenty of variety were the norm - always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian and not one meal disappointed - service was always with a smile and the efficiency of the staff puts many of our home establishments to shame. We opted for a large room - lovely new bathroom, big austrian twin bed (crisp white linen) - in essence very very comfortable and very peaceful.
To summarise a truly proper holiday in every sense of the word - we could not criticise this hotel in any way and enjoyed every aspect of it - if you get the opportunity BOOK IT!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.6 km away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#4 of 33 in Obergurgl
347 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
423 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
228 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine

Property: Hotel Madeleine
Address: Gurglerstrasse 116, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#1 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#2 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,966 - ₹ 41,846
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...The charmes of specialness! The wellness area at the Hotel Madeleine Lean back in a comfortable armchair. In front of you, a crackling fire. Feel the warmth. Savour the taste of your drink. The memories of a wonderful day out in nature will remain with you for a long time... Varied living. We will fulfil your every comfort wish. Our suites, apartments and rooms are appointed with a love of detail and personal involvement. Quality and sophisticated standards await you. Immerse yourself in the good feelings of relaxation and enjoyment. Regenerate and reconnect in our leisure area. At the Madeleine**** the sun shines even on cloudy days. Our wellness area is equiped with infrared cabin, whirlpool, steam bath, finnish sauna, biosauna, ice fountain, warm relaxing seats, relaxing area and vitamin bar. We are looking very much Forward to welcome you at the ****Madeleine! Yours Family Michael Gstrein and the whole staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Obergurgl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing