We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Obergurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a brilliant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I've been skiing to Obergurgl on several occasions and this hotel has to be my absolute favourite. The location for ski in/ski out is brilliant and the atmosphere and service is excellent.
The food is lovely and yes you have to pay extra for all your drinks (except for breakfast time) but I expect that from this grade of hotel in this type of village. The price you pay to get there tells you that this isn't your average ski resort or your average hotel. Both Obergurgl itself and the Hotel Gotthard are special and for that you may have to splash out a bit more but it is definitely worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsogier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pompey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Back in Obergurgl after 20 years and decided it was time to try a touch of sophistication (The little Pension we stayed in before seemed to have been absorbed by the Crystal Hotel). The Gotthard looked to fit the bill and did not not disappoint. What a fantastic hotel. Wonderful owners and staff, fabulous accomodation and amazing tucker (The sommelier was so helpful and kind without any sign of disprespect to non wine officianados and all reasonably priced!) This really was a different class, with excellent spa facilities, ski in ski out and amazing views from the lounge, terrace and spa which we would suggest cannot be surpassed elsewhere in the village. We will be back soon :-) !
Tony & Lee, Southsea

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Really lovely hotel, but beware of expensive wine list. The wines are average Spa shop types at greatly elevated prices. Cakes are served in the afternoon, but you have to buy tea to go with them. The staff have been instructed not to provide tap water in the evening, so you are forced to buy bottled water at €4.90, this was really greedy.
We had a lovely time but would not return due to the drinking water policy.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BusyBrightonBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

This was our first Skiing holiday as a family. Obergurgl provided EXCELLENT skiing conditions providing more than enough slopes for us all to ski! The longest we queued at any of the lifts was about 20 seconds . . . . I think we have been spoiled :-)

The hotel was clean and perferctly located as it was only a few steps from boot room to slope. A short 1 min ski down to the main lift area with access to the 2 main ski lifts.

Both the breakfast and dinner which were included in the price were of excellent quality! A wide choice of food was always on offer and many courses were available . . . some of the best inclusive food I have seen.

Unfortunately the hotel was kept at a very high temperature (about 29-30 degrees c 24/7)
and despite being a 4* hotel you could not adjust the temperature in your room. This left all of us unable to get a comfortable night's sleep during our entire stay. After asking reception I was told they could not turn down the temperature as it would effect the whole hotel and that we should try opening a window.

Sleeping with the balcony door wide open all night cooled the room to a reasonable temperature (it was -10 outside so this shows you how hot the room was) but left us dealing with a cold draft through the room.

Another downside to the hotel was the quality of the toilet paper . . . . . minor point but something that really makes a difference. The cheap paper they use is what I would expect to find in a public convenience not a 4* hotel. It's like using sandpaper! TAKE YOUR OWN!

Final point - There was no room service available and purchased drinks / food had to be kept downstairs in the restaurant. Not ideal if you wanted a tea/coffee in your room.

All in all not bad but we will look for an alternative hotel next year when we return to Obergurgl . . . . certainly if you like it hot then this is the hotel for you :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Great location, great rooms and food, very very rude owners who ruined our holiday and our friends holiday with their rudeness
Shame to spool a beautiful hotel with great other staff with this attitude

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank stephenskier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obergurgl hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#8 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Alpen Wellness Resort Hotel Hochfirst
0.6 km away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.1 km away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard-Zeit? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard-Zeit

Property: Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Address: Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
#10 Luxury Hotel in Obergurgl
#13 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,988 - ₹ 31,477
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotthard-Zeit 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Hotel Gotthard Zeit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing