We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
165
48
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
48
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening mealbutton liftboot roomski schoolski roomfantastic family run hotelspar supermarketmain gondolafeel so welcomecontinental buffet breakfastweek staytravel agentyogurtthree course mealsteam roomthe ski bus stopfriendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed at the Hannes hotel for a weeks skiing and had a great time.
This family ran hotel is so welcoming I honestly felt at home they could not do enough for us. The rooms are clean and big enough for our party 2 adults and 1 child aged 13. We got a strong Wi-Fi signal from our room 107.
Breakfast was your standard eggs and bacon, full continental and a selection of cereals you can’t go wrong we were very impressed. Evening meal was a selection of 2 menus of 3 courses again you cant go wrong the food was good and the soups are great.
The skiing is great you can ski from 20 meters away in Niederau or a 15-minute free bus ride to Auffach where the skiing and mountain views are amazing.
Hannes is such a nice guy he organised a day snowboarding with an English instructor (Eddie) for 60 euros even getting our ski gear exchanged for boarding gear from our hire shop saving us a fortune.

Room Tip: 107 perfect for WIFI and a lovely veiw
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We have just returned yesterday from a weeks skiing in Niederau having stayed at Hotel Hannes and had a wonderful week. We were a group of 7 with ages ranging from 21 to 60 and we were all of the same opinion that should be return to Niederau again then we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Hannes again. We have been to the resort before and stayed at a different hotel but the Hannes comes out on top for us.

Reggie and Hannes made us feel so welcome and were always friendly and smiling. Reggie knew the names of everyone in our party within minutes of arriving and this made for a really nice personal touch. The service was fantastic and I cannot rate it highly enough. I am in awe of them that they never fail to smile, stop for a conversation or to do anything in their power to keep you happy. Well done Reggie and Hannes, your hotel is a credit to you.

The rooms are typically Austrian, with large comfortable beds and balconies with great views. The room was well heated and there is lots of storage space for all of your bulky ski equipment. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom which saved me having to take my own. Plenty of space to call the room home for the week.

The location of the hotel is ideal. Opposite is a nursery slope with a button lift that will allow you to ski straight over to the gondola, or for access to the wider ski area, the bus stop is no more than a minutes walk away. We did not use the boot room as we had beginners in our group who couldn't ski across and so chose to get a locker under the hotel Austria to save walking in ski boots.

The food was hearty, hot and home cooked. We never had a bad meal and always enjoyed the food presented to us. You can choose from two options in the morning whilst at breakfast.

Niederau is a lovely resort and I would recommend hotel Hannes to anybody who may visit.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AbsF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We felt this little hotel offered great value for money and was well-set up for skiers for Niederau/Alpbach and even Hopfgarten.
It's a typical Austrian style pension, with wooden interiors and typical Tirol furnishings. The room size is above average, with plenty of room for ski clothes and a well-designed wardrobe that has space above for luggage. There is a little balcony and the windows are Austrian tilt & turn. Smallish towels, changed everyday in a small ensuite which was perfectly adequate for this type of stay. Beds had super-comfortable warm snuggly duvets and pillows.
The family-run hotel featured friendly Reggie and her son Hannes, front of house, and Hannes was very energetic serving guests simultaneously in the bar and almost at the same time, in the restaurant. He loved to engage with the guests in the evening, giving a great service (remembering everyone's regular orders) and socialised with repeat guests as well. No wonder people seem to come here year after year - they feel like part of the family.
Food was great, with a traditional different Austrian soup to start every night. A three-course meal, Eg Wiener Schnitzel followed by Apfel Strudel. Very good skiers (or walkers) menu. Breakfast was typical Austrian - delicious hams and cheese, fresh bread rolls, eggs (boiled or scrambled) etc etc, and there were two fresh coffee machines.
Superb sauna/steam room/solarium and jazzy showers! Watch the floor though - it can get wet, and I went flying on to the hard shiny tiled floor, which was ironically the first time I'd fallen over in the first few days!!! Boot room, standard warmish room with racks and a good ski locker with plenty of rack room for skis. It's locked every evening and my expensive skis were very safe in there.
The hotel is ideally situated for skiing especially when there is snow, for being able to ski almost all,the way back. The bus stop for Auffach/Alpbach is a 3 min walk. (Note the buses do not run regularly but do stay more or less to the timetable). On one occasion I waited 30 mins for a bus and another nearly an hour from Auffach. There is a taxi service nearby who will run you to Hopfgarten (SkiWelt) so for keen skiers, consider 3 days Ski Juwel pass, three days a SkiWelt pass, could be an interesting option.
The hotel itself is great; very welcoming, very well-run and a good choice for skiers or walkers wanting a value for money option. Watch the shower (in the room) with young children; there is no thermostat and the water suddenly can scald or become icy cold in a moment.

Room Tip: A room at the back will save you hearing guests returning to the hotel in the early hours!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Just returned from a ski week at the Hannes Hotel with Crystal Holidays. This hotel is positively the most welcoming and friendly home from home I have ever stayed in. Reggie and family make everyone so welcome and treat you like guests in their home. The rooms are spacious, warm and fully equipped. The food is tasty wholesome home cooking. The bar has a great atmosphere and Hannes (junior) is the perfect host who pours an excellent 'disco water'!!!
If I return to Niederau I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abz8dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This hotel is a perfect example of Austrian hospitality. The family owners are more like friends by the time you leave. The food is wholesome, with perfect service. Very well placed for the slopes and ski bus, would love to stay there again. Both myself and my daughter will certainly look to going back there next year.

Room Tip: Superb views from both sides of the hotel. We were on the third floor. Not a problem as the lift did the job for us.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews