We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If your skiing all day whats the problem.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonnschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschein
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If your skiing all day whats the problem.”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Its a low cost hotel, and you get what you pay for.

If your skiing, then it is easy to get on the slopes, just walk up the driveway, cross the road, take the button lift up the nursery/school slope and turn right at the top (as opposed to left onto the slope), ski down the pathway and join the bottom of the red to the main lifts (bit like pulling out onto the motorway though, but ok). If you were to walk to the main lifts from the hotel then it would be a nightmare, but everyone seems to use the route i mention above. Dont know how far it is, but it didn't feel more than 200m from hotel door to button lift.

Room was clean enough

Had to laugh at the review of the kids/games room being like a Romanian orphanage, yeah agree its not great.

Dont remember the food being as bad as some are saying, wasn't great, but bareable.

Our day was get up, have breakfast, get kit and get out on the slopes, come back, eat and go to the room. We had young kids with us so didn't spend time in the bar.

Its one of the lowest cost places to stay in Niederau, so you shouldn't expect a spa resort.

If you dont like it i dont know what to suggest, my understanding is that the owner pretty much owns everywhere in Niederau.

As a low cost base when skiing all day its ok.

NOTE: WE STAYED HERE IN JAN 11, BUT IT WOULDN'T LET ME GO BACK THAT FAR. THE HOTEL MAY WELL OF CHANGED SINCE THEN.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc-luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    146
    73
    30
    14
See reviews for
170
209
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Have just returned from a nine day holiday with Leger staying 6 nights at the Sonnschein.
The rooms were big and kept very clean by the staff, on the night we arrived I noticed one of the 4 mirror bulbs in the bathroom was out, I didn't have time to mention it to reception the next morning as we had an early start but on our return that day the bulb had been replaced. It is little things like that, that make you realise the staff are doing thier job.
The food was not "English Food" but we were in Austria so you expect it to be a bit different. It was pentifull at both breakfast and dinner we never went hungry, there was always something to fill up on, even a second helping of dessert if you asked nicely!
The week we were there the villagers had a get together one evening. with a band all dressed in national costume and playing a sellection of local music. As tourists we were made very welcome, the ladies of the village were making pastry, rolling it out and making it into a local cheese pasty.
This is a very popular winter resort so the hotels were not very full at this time of year, but it's a great place to tour from being half way between Innsbruck & Slatsburg.

Room Tip: All the rooms above ground level have balconies so you get a view which ever room your in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just returned from a very good week here, booked at short notice through Travelzoo. The included resort card was great, allowing unlimited use of the lift system and free access to museums etc.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly, - Jill who runs things very efficiently particularly so, as well as Chelsea in the restaurant.
Lovely room with large balcony and view of the lift and the paragliders floating down! Kettle and fridge most welcome, but as others have said, you need to bring tea/coffee in Austria for some reason. Bath and separate shower in bathroom - nice bath for a soak after a long walk.
Had use of the hotel e-bikes which were great, even on the hills. Thanks to all at the Sonnschein for a lovely break. Hope to be back, maybe September?

Room Tip: We had first floor corner room in older part of hotel; lovely, with good sized bathroom with bath a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabellaWales_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We visited this hotel in May 2012 and had a fabulous stay in very comfortable accommodations. Very spacious room with balcony and breathtaking view. Very modern bathroom. The hotel was very charming and well appointed and service was excellent. It was in a very convenient location. We were well fed. Wish we could have stayed longer!! We were celebrating our 40th anniversary in style.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed in Hotel Sonnchein in March 2012. The hotel is ideal for families with children but suits all sorts and was very good value. If you do book, try to book a room in the new section, Unfortunately our room was in the old section and the room was very dated and very dark and dreary. However it was warm and we had a nice balcony and it was functional.

The evening meal was very good, and the breakfast was particularly impressive. The leisure facilities were also very good (don't be too shy!) .

The night life in Neiderau isn't great but the skiing was excellent for intermediate level.

I found lots of places run by English ex-pats so I didn't get a very Tyrolean feel from the village but all in all the hotel was very good value, albeit a bit of a hike to the nursery slope when carrying skiis.

It is a nice hotel and I would recommend it but beware, they charge for tap water!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niederau hotels
0.4 km away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#7 of 11 in Niederau
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
168 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
79 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Hotel Simmerlwirt
#9 of 11 in Niederau
43 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschein? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschein

Property: Hotel Sonnschein
Address: Sonnhangweg 5, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niederau
#4 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,737 - ₹ 9,328
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnschein 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well furbished family run hotel in two acres of private park land. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the top class hospitality of the Thaler family.Spacious light and airy rooms with a homely feeling. Two heated indoor pools, two saunas and a steam bath. Solarium and massages available at an extra charge. Top quality cuisine and friendly service provided by our loyal team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonnschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnschein Hotel Niederau
Sonnschein Hotel Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing