We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK hotel but somewhat disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Simmerlwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Simmerlwirt
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK hotel but somewhat disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

This hotel is near the slopes and some nice rooms with balcony views. However, I don't think I would ever stay at this hotel again. The reception is hardly ever manned. We therefore never left our key on the key hook beside the reception, as we were of the opinion that it might not be very safe and secure being left there. The 'heated' swimming pool wasn't very warm when we got into the water. The staff in general could have been friendlier and much more relaxed. Some of the staff were downright surly and at times we even felt we were almost a nuisance rather than valued, paying guests.

The housekeeping staff knocked on the bedroom door at 9 a.m. every morning, which is a little early in our opinion.

The food is generally hearty fare and generally tasty. However, if your bus is departing very early and you won't be able to have breakfast there, the staff will make you up a 'packed lunch' which consists solely of one bread roll with one mere slice of ham in it and one apple. Also, if you're a half board guest, the staff at the hotel expect you to sit at the very same table for your breakfasts and dinners for the entire week that you're staying there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skichampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Have stayed here twice now - both times a good experience. A very nice little hotel. Reasonable sized, clean rooms with balcony, friendly staff and nice food. The heated outdoor pool with coloured lights at night is a very luxurious touch. Get bathrobes at reception for a small deposit. Good location right opposite slopes and ski school so not very far to walk in your ski boots.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed for a weeks skiing in Neiderau, and were lucky to stay at The Simmelwirt,
We had a 2nd floor room, with a balcony with a great view of the slopes, it is a 2 minute walk from the slopes (even in your ski boots). The ood was varied all week, with a superb Roasted meat evening served by the hotel owner.
The hotel drinks were cheap enough, 1 beer each a night with dinner, added up to only £35 at the end of the week, with which we were more than happy.
Breakfast was served up until 10.30 every morning which was very civilised by mid week when your exhausted!
The maids did a great job in the rooms daily, cleaned and tidy, the room was compact with a Tv, balcony and good bathroom, lots of hanging hooks for ski gear, more than adequate for an excellent stay.
I think anyone booking the simmelwirt would not be disapointed.
The resort of Neiderau was brilliant, this was our 5th ski holiday, 3rd in Austria, and this was undoubtably the nicest friendliest resort.
Serviced by 3 good sized shops, including a good supermarket, a couple of gift shops, and 3 friendly bars, we liked O'malleys, and the bar man there is great!
Skiing was excellent, good conditions all week, queues went quickly, aided by courteous and friendly lift operators. Would highly recommend this to anyone, beginners, familys, couples and anyone looking for a relaxing ski trip.
The hotel also has an amazing outside swimming pool, bliss in the evenings after a full day skiing.
I hope we get a good deal next year and get to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canuck1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

This appears to be a Family run Hotel, It is very conveniently located for the Nursery Slopes and the Gondola lift to the main Skiing area. The Rooms were a decent size and well if simply furnished. We were on Half board and the buffet breakfast had a good selection ranging from fruit to cereals to meats/cheese/ eggs, enough to keep me Skiing all day. You got to select your evening meal at breakfast which speeded things up nicely too, The evening meal was four courses starting with soup then salad bar followed by main course and desert every meal was well presented and reasonable portion sizes too!
There is a Swimming pool which is outdoor, so what you say, well it's a Ski resort and if you've never had a swim with snow all around and snow settling on your head you should give it a go.
There is also a Sauna which we did not try but was in the same part of the complex as the pool so if of the same standard would be good.
The only negative from our perspective is that our room smelt of stale cigarette smoke on arrival, this appears to be mainly because everyone seemed to smoke and it is still allowed in bars,the concept of Non Smoking hasn't taken root here yet WHY?
Despite that it is a nice Hotel with competent Staff providing good food and accomodation. Altough tempted to keep quiet about it, I would recommend this hotel as a good base for a Skiing break.
Neiderau itself is pretty much as described in that it isa fairly quiet place from a nightlife perspective, which is a plus if you want to Ski and don't want to be kept up all night by revellers!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Just come back from Hotel Simmelwirt in Neiderau, Austria with the family. Talk about a perfect location, just a few yards from the slopes, the ski hire and the ski schools.
The staff were friendly and our room was clean and spacious, with not one, but two balconies. The one thing that surprised us the most was the inclusive meals, every one was superb and although the choice was limited each night, as you'd expect from half board, the quality was excellent and there was always a vegetarian option.
The heated outdoor pool was awsome, just what the doctor ordered after a day on the slopes, with a sauna and spa to boot. All in all I would highly recommend Hotel Simmelwirt and I'm booking it again for next year.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Reception not always manned
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niederau
0.5 km away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#2 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#6 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 km away
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
#5 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#6 of 25 in Wildschonau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simmerlwirt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simmerlwirt

Property: Hotel Simmerlwirt
Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,196 - ₹ 9,532
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Simmerlwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Simmerlwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simmerlwirt Hotel Niederau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing