We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
456
71
22
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
71
22
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pension claudia outdoor jacuzzi salad bar farmers buffet steam room walking guide next year the main hotel wilder kaiser mountains warm welcome a family run hotel gala dinner skiing holiday fish or vegetarian first class spa facilities home from home
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Our second stay at the Hochfilzer, and wouldn’t hesitate in coming back or in recommending. We stayed in the Haus Garden annex across the road in a large one bedroom apartment. This was clean, comfortable and cozy, with a large balcony with amazing view (see photo) over the hotel to the Wilder Kaiser range beyond. Half board food superb, particularly farmers buffet and gala dinner. Breakfast choice extensive.

Enjoyed seeing people’s imagination in the hotels snowman competition , pic attached.

Leisure facilities great, and clean.

We’ll be back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid27, Manager at AktivHotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hello Colin and family !

Active and creative guests are a pleasure - but the most important fact is that all guests are having a good time !
We will keep on doing what we are doing because we enjoy bringing smiles to your faces ! This sounds like sweet talk but it is true...
See you soon in our beautiful home country Tirol !

Ingrid with family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Great accommodation in the hausgarten. Loved our stay. Thanks to the lovely Andrea and Rafael who looked after us so well in the dining room where the food at both breakfast and dinner was superb. Enjoyed coming in from skiing to relax in the pool area every evening. Great facilities here, especially the outside hot tub and sitting at the glass window in the sauna looking over to the impressive Wilder Kaiser mountains.
Thank you Ingrid - you set the tone for such a great atmosphere throughout the hotel. Our first visit. To be repeated!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nhbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid27, Manager at AktivHotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you so much for your soothing words !
We all enjoy what we are doing most of the time and that is what you can feel. We will also keep on creating an even more beautiful hotel by renovating and building .....
I can show you a lot of new, pretty things next time.

Sunny and snowy regards from gorgeous Ellmau at the Wilder Kaiser Mountains

Ingrid with family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We have just returned from a winter holiday staying at the Hotel Hochfilzer in Ellmau and as usual everything was perfect. We have been staying at the Hochfilzer for 20 years now, no need to say anything else!
Will be returning in July...can't wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Wilder Kaiser
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid27, Manager at AktivHotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

20 years !!! That says it all !

See you soon !

Ingrid with Family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The hotel is of a high standard in all respects. The hotel and our room were kept very clean and lost count of how many new towels we got. The food was of excellent quality, imaginatively presented and very well prepared. Best of all is the team who work there. Everyone we met very so friendly and helpful and obviously enjoyed working there, they create a great atmosphere to relax and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid27, Manager at AktivHotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you Paul and family !
It is wonderful for family Hochfilzer to hear that our team is constantly friendly and happy and therefore they provide high standards of creative customer service with
a very good sense of humour and no problems with hard work !
There will be beautiful new rooms built and more creative renovations going on soon - you will have to come back and see !

Family Hochfilzer with the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

I slept at the AktivHotels` sister hotel Claudia - with breakfast - and which included evening 4-course meals taken in the main hotel (AktivHotel). With years` of visiting various resorts in Austria (on ski holidays), I`m absolutely knocked-out by many aspects of these two hotels:- The friendliness, efficiency, cleanliness, location (in relation to the main part of town and ski slopes), the service, attention to detail and probably more important - the quality and quantity of the food; certainly the quality of the food here would be expected in higher-classed hotels. I shall definitely return one day! For skiers, there`s a bus stop nearby for the short bus ride to the main Hartkaiser gondola station, or a very short walk to the nursery slopes opposite.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid27, Manager at AktivHotel Hochfilzer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dearest John F. !
We love to know you out in a positive way !
I will have to print this comment for our head chef - he will get tears in his eyes whilst reading your words !
....and I have to admit that I am also touched because you described our lovely product so perfectly - it reassures us that we are walking on the right path !

Ingrid & Michael with Family and the super Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews