We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
11
10
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
10
8
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The Hotel has a great location , you have shops and restaurants all around and there is a 10 min walk to the see. We had an appartment on two floors with 2 bedrooms,( upper floor)one livingroom with a small kitchen( lower floor) , 2 bathrooms with separate toilets( one on each floor) . The kitchen has a dishwasher, small frige, microwave, small stove with 2 burners , plates, tableware and glasses. For the price you pay for this appartment I must say a lot of things are outdated like the tv, there are 3 , one in each room but they are really old the ones in the bedrooms are so small you can't even see much from bed. The couch in the livingroom is also really old and full of stains and also has a funky smell in some places, one of the showerheads was broken , so we actually had only one shower in a 4 person appartment.
On the up side there is no mold that I could see or feel, I am alergic to mold, so had no problems there. Room was really clean and big with lots of storage space for luggage and clothes.
Breakfast was included in the price and was various, something for all tastebuds, even some sparkly wine.
The parking is free and very spacious and safe!
Our terrace leads directly to the pool so that was a huge plus and I would recommend it to anyone with kids because it makes things soooo much easier! The water was really clean and warm( the pool is slightly heated) and the pool has a decent size , there is not much action at the pool , in august in high season at 30 degrees outside there where never more then 10 people ! The kids pool is not more then 4 square meters and about 10 cm deep so not really a pool.
Right next to the hotel is a church that talls it's bells every 15 minutes, was really annoying at first, everytime I dosed off on the terrace I would get a small heart attack but you eventually get used to it, good thing it stops at about 8 pm .Also if you are here with toddlers the steps between the floors might stress you out but there is a door to the livingroom that can be locked.
The appartment door can only be opened with the chipkey from the outside so you can lock yourself out and there is no way of locking it from the inside so your toddler can easy open it and just walk out!
There is a playground outside in the yard also old and outdated and one inside that we never saw, so can't say about that one.
All in all a good experience but for the money you pay for the appartment I would expect a little bit more!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank mam1ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Pro: very good location
Very good breakfast

Con: unfriendly staff
wellnes area only opened from 16:00-20:00 each day

All in all solid stay but nowhere near 4 star. too ecpensive for what u get
Severall times i was shoked how unfriendly the staff was, will not come back here

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joerg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Location:
Good for skiing, as the skibus has a stop close to the hotel and the nearest lift is only one stop away. If you leave your equipment in a locker at the ski lift, you can walk there in about 10 minutes time.

Spa area:
Nicely done but the Ruheraum really needs a door to actually make it quiet from the showers and from the pool guests.
If you go after 18:00 it's quite/very quiet though.
Some unsupervised kids threw snowballs after my wife when she was doing laps in the outdoor pool. Unacceptable. Suggestion to the hotel: Ban unsupervised children from the spa-area! And consider separating pool access (better separation between zones - and kids).
On one occasion we caught a Polish guest with his hands in the pockets of our bathrobes provided by the hotel, hanging outside the sauna. Strong suggestion to the hotel: Get some lockers for the guests so nobody has anything stolen.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 103 which was in the hallway so you could hear people on the stairs and in general I could hear the neighbors both next door and above quite clearly.
Dated but not worn decor. Bathroom is of a good size and has a large towel drier we used for or wet ski gloves etc. and there are loads of closet space.
No wireless internet in rooms which to me is a huge drawback. Bring long Ethernet cable for laptop. There is WiFi in the reception and in a corridor in the cellar but it is very slow
On the Sunday, housekeeping asked if we wanted our room cleaned which we found strange (of course we want our room cleaned every day when staying in a hotel.
The hotel has a ski-room only accessible by the guests. Nevertheless, my wife's skis were taken one day and we had to rent skis and wasted many hours getting hold of our insurance company back home. In the evening they were returned but we kept them in the car until we had bought a lock for them. The hotel reimbursed the cost of renting skis, but here's another strong suggestion to the hotel: get a locker for every room so equipment is safe!

Meals:
We had half board with a good breakfast buffet.
We were only two and were throughout the week sharing a table with two other guests. Luckily they were somebody we could talk to, but the hotel should really consider giving each family their own separate table.
Dinner buffet was acceptable in quality but occasionally some of the dishes were not replenished.
In the bar, smoking was allowed despite a no-smoking sign over the door.
Also, in the bar, the owners dog was walking around. It didn't bother us, but I imagine it would bother some.

Staff:
Friendly and accommodating (except we would have appreciated some more proactivity when our skis were missing). Some guests had kids running around the restaurant but the staff stopped them and asked the parents to "control" them. Huge plus in our book! The owner most often seemed annoyed.

General:
Not a 4-star by any standards but rather a 3-star. I am sorry to say that we had too many accidents/incidents happen here to want to come back.

Room Tip: Room 103 (and probably 203) is on the stairs. Go for other rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Vitalhotel Glocknerhof with a large group (we had the entire hotel to ourselves) and had an absolute blast. The owners were very nice, the food that was served each night was good too, and the rooms were spacious with separate bathroom and toilet.

The bar is not very big, so on the last night when most of our group (about 120 people) were trying to squeeze in it got a little bit tight, but you can't fault the hotel for that. For normal evenings the bar is definitely large enough and a nice place to sit down with a beer.

The wellness center is a real asset too. The pool was warm enough to swim in it whilst it was freezing above the water (but still quite cold as you can imagine), and you can warm up when you get back inside in the sauna or the steam room.

Recommended, it's a very nice hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we haven't stayed at a European Hotel previously, we're always a little reserved what to expect....the Glocknerhof exceeded our expectations...for sure. We booked one of the suites since our 14 year old grandson was vacationing with us. The suite had a kitchenette and our balcony overlooked the rear courtyard and pool. Other than the 90's TV the suite was modern, clean and comfortable. If you plan to loose weight on your vacation, it will be hard to at the Glocknerhof....the morning and night buffet selections are too hard to resist. There are numerous sights and activities surrounding Zell am See. My grandson and I rented bicycles and biked 5 days to various locations, while my wife went sight seeing to the top of the Alps. As typical in Europe, the WIFi and fitness facilities are not to American standards. Our 8 day stay at the Glocknerhof really felt like a vacation (Urlaub) at an affordable price.

Room Tip: The newer rear addition faces onto the courtyard with less noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews