We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gruener Baum
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Neue Post(Zell am See)
US$ 294
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Garni Landhaus Gitti(Zell am See)(Great Value!)
US$ 154
US$ 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel St. Georg(Zell am See)(Great Value!)
US$ 217
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel zum Hirschen(Zell am See)
US$ 224
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 349
US$ 291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 454/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Stadt Wien(Zell am See)
US$ 399
US$ 356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Heitzmann(Zell am See)
US$ 240
US$ 219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Salzburgerhof(Zell am See)
US$ 379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 424/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seevilla Freiberg(Zell am See)
US$ 430
US$ 336
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seehof(Zell am See)
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
80
63
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
63
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of townzell amexcellent hotellarge bathroomexcellent roombreakfast and dinnerski liftcentral locationthe hotel managerthere is no air conditioningrestaurants and barsa great place to staynice breakfastlovely townwould definitely stay here againshort walkapres ski
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We were driving from Innsbruck to Vienna and had 1 night to spend. Drove towards Zell Am See and randomly picked a hotel to spend a night. Weren't disappointed. The hotel is at a great location right in the center of the town with several restaurants and bars all around. While we aren't skiers, the town was full of them and people told us no one was expecting it to snow but since it did everyone just drove in from all around. The hotel had a great staff who helped us with places/things around the hotel. Great, large rooms and comfortable bed. Even though the room overlooked the street with revellers, we weren't disturbed.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in June with my friends sharing one room and me sharing one with my husband. We were allocated rooms side by side on the second floor.

Our room was fairly spacious in my opinion and had its own balcony. There was plenty of space to put our belongings and the bathroom was pretty big - the shower though is only separated from the rest of the bathroom by a small wall but is otherwise open to the bathroom.

The bed was comfy, the shower was great.

The only problem was the weather. It was about 30C in Zell while we were there and like most Austrian accommodation there is no air conditioning. It was so warm. I even tried to sit out on the balcony late in the evening to write a postcard but it was so hot that I had sweat streaming down my temple. The weather is the weather, and it's not the hotel's fault.

The restaurant was excellent for breakfast. There is English breakfast tea available for people like my husband who just can't do without it, and some kind of pseudo bacon and sausages. You know what I mean - perfectly good and delicious items that just aren't what we Brits are used to. The breakfast buffet is incredible though - a whole host of cheese available including brie! Cake. Cereal. 3 or 4 different kinds of breads. 3 different kinds of eggs. We spent ages there. Oh and you can get soda water, which is a huge plus point for me.

Reception was very friendly indeed and they let us store our bags. They have a very secure room to put luggage in.

The only criticism is that my friend (who booked it) said they don't participate in the Zell am See card (or it might be the Kaprun card, I'm not sure) which would have saved us a lot of money on the cable cars, but you can't have everything.

Would happily stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaTheLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Booked up last minute on a recent motorcycling trip and was not disappointed. Great location with secure underground parking and friendly staff.

Rooms modern and clean and great value. Breakfast was decent and the hotel offered spa facilities however we didn't get the chance to try them.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Oinkbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We booked this hotel at short notice online and were met by very friendly reception staff who suggested we park our cars in the underground car park. The hotel itself is relatively new and in excellent decorative order, with marble floors and solid, natural wood finishings of a very high standard.

The rooms allocated to us were very large, with beautiful bathrooms as well as having free wifi , tv and a kettle, but no coffee or tea. There was a bit of noise from a nearby bar, but the double glazed windows did cancel this out somewhat. There was also no night service although we did have access to the hotel side entrance at any time.
Breakfast was excellent with friendly staff to help out, although it did consist of continental breakfast fare - if you're looking for a full English, then forget it !

We were so impressed with this hotel we arranged to stay a further night - I can't comment on what it will be like in full ski or summer tourist season, but with its central location, excellent décor and friendly staff, this is one that will be on our shortlist in future.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena H, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hello,

thank you for your good feedback. We are glad, that you were satisfied in our hotel.
Regarding the kettle without coffee or tea. The tea is possible to pick up in the reception, just the coffee is to buy yourself.
We are directly in the city center and so we cannot guarantee 100% quiet, for this reason we have double glazed windows and in the reception you can get ear plugs for free. We have as well guite rooms going to the other side, but these rooms don't have a balcony.
As three star hotel is not required to have open reception 24 hours, but in our restaurant our colleagues can help you till 11 p.m. or after are our colleagues in the bar till 04 a.m. or the third opportunity to contact us during the night is to call 151 and after you will connect to the reception phone, which is swithched to the boss phone.

We hope that you could enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We went to Zell am Zee for a company ski trip. We were having trouble to find a good hotel because our group was quite big. The hotel Gruner Baum was generous to accommodate us.

We did not have high expectations at the beginning and just were happy to find a spot to stay.

When we arrived, the hotel amazed us with its hospitality and tidiness. We have received a fully renovated apartments with super comfy beds. The hotel did not stop to pleasantly surprise us though. All our meals where full of nutrition and taste. Every dinner choice was unique and delicious.

Moreover, the hotel is located in the city center and if you are a apres-ski fan you are at the right place. If not, the windows are very well isolated so you do not hear anything of that while resting.

Conclusion: highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena H, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Oksana,

thank you for your good feedback. We are happy, that your group was satisfied with our hotel and that we could arranged a comfortable holiday for you.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews