We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
39
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
7
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This is the first time a write a "trip advisor" report, but this hotel (and especially the staff) have earned it. The quality of the rooms (we had two bedroom with 5 people, plenty of space), food, pool, sauna, service, attention for kids etc.: excellent! The staff is willing to walk the extra mile and offer help were and when possible. Even a pick up from the lift outside normal hours so I didn't have to carry my 2.5 old and my ski's up the mountain was no a bother. The kids are allowed to roam to around and little play areas are created in the dining areas so parents can enjoy their multi course dinners while the kids have quick meal and play within eyesight.

The only comment I have is that the temperature in the hotel is too high. I can be regulated in the sleeping room (just open a window), but in the dinning area is was a little warm.

I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a relaxing family holiday.

Best regards,

Peter Bob Deelen

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PBDeelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We spent the X-mas week in "Amiamo" and loved nearly ALL about it.

The location couldn’t be better: at the bottom of a (red) ski slope and just 50 m. away from the Schmittenhöhebahn gondola lift. The kids club, partner ski school and equipment rental were all very professional. On the other side, if you're after a huge water world or spa area this is not the right hotel for you.

We stayed in one of the hotel’s Enzian Suites and thought that it fully met our requirements. We had a spacious master bedroom with decent terrace, a living area and flat screen TV, whereas our (6 and 4 year old) children had a small yet cosy room with bunk beds & a small TV. In addition, there was a separate bathroom and WC.

The food, too, did not disappoint us, esp. the choice of items for breakfast as well as buffet salad bar and main courses for dinner. We’ve had a much better choice of desserts in other 4-star family hotels, though. In addition, we felt that the opening times of restaurant for dinner (6pm to 8pm) are a bit short and would recommend extending them to 8.30 or 9pm.

An additional thing we would have improved is the “link” b/w the indoor and exterior pools (currently, a staircase). Unfortunately, nearly all of us slid at least once in the pool area… On the positive side, our kids really enjoyed the newly-added water slide and even the baby/toddler pool.

The car parking (providing easy access to the reception), the free shuttle bus to and from the gondola lift (available in the morning and early afternoon), the (unheated) ski/sledge room and (heated) ski shoe room were all very well organised.

Amiamo’s childcare was great, too, and – although our kids did not manage to attend but the “general rehearsal” for the kids’s show – we were pleasantly surprised to see both our children performing on the stage the last day of our stay.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel to other families (with one or more children) willing to ski (or learn to ski) and enjoy the beauty of Zeller See.

Room Tip: An Enzian Suite with mountain view is best.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OccasionalReviewer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Amiamo for a week in a 2-bed room suite during the winter holidays. All in all we had a very good experience and can recommend this hotel to families with kids up to say 12 years of age.

What we liked:
- very friendly and helpful staff, also owner always present and very helpful (drove even the shuttle once when we were there)
- rooms are well appointed and have a "new/refurbished" look and feel, as has also the entire hotel
- location near the main lift (a gondola)
- Very good food. No gourmet food, but still very good food with plenty of choice
- Very good ski rental in building
- Good boots room and ski storage
- Ski school present at hotel every day
- lunch box on request on the day of departure

What we don't liked as much:
- have to pay for lunch as part of the package, even if most people stay on the mountain for lunch
- shuttle to the main road / lift only for brief periods during the day. In particular in times of not much snow when ski in/out is not possible this service should be extended
- Kids club could make a better effort to address interests of older kids and get them involved. Focus on and facilities target mainly younger kids (up to say six years of age).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WunderkindSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the amiamo for one week of ski. Normally we are not big fans of 'kids' hotels, but this place really found a good compromise...it can really be called a boutique hotel, as its not too big and very personal and friendly. The whole hotel is really thought through every detail, which makes it also relaxing for the parents: ski rental directly in the hotel, ski school in walking distance, rooms designed for young and old (e.g. in the bathrooms one higher and one lower sink), food options very nice, always something for kids as well, play rooms for kids, programme for kids, nice pool area.....the ski resort is nice, not too big, but certainly with the direct access in walking distance to the lift a real luxury. Kitzsteinhorn area accessible by bus. A perfect place really, for kids AND parents, so we booked again next year!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Achim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We took our 4 years old son and our 11 months old daughter and it was a really good experience. If you are looking for a 4 star family hotel, where you can rest assured your kids are in good hands while you are skiing of going for a walk; where you can put your skis on and step on the gondola right next door...well, this is the place.
They thought of everything!
The 'all-inclusive' format is great and very convenient for families. And it is not the standard-i-find-it-in-every-hotel 'all inclusive'.... the quality of the food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was superb for a 4 star hotel and the service was EXCELLENT. We must say THANKS ! Especially to the personnel in reception, at the bar, during meals (Balazs, Adel), cleaning lady (Sofija), shuttle driver and the playroom (they even had a small theater !!!)....
Having traveled quite a bit with family, I must say we are definitely going back there next year. We are happy to share our experience if needed. Congratulations Amiamo !

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are great because you can rely on your kids taking the stairs to go down playing in the playing room (instead of using elevators)
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex_Carlos_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georg H, Leiter Front Office at Amiamo Familotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Alex,

thank you very much for your excellent review of your winter holiday in the Amiamo. I’m very glad that your children have been happy in the child care and so you could enjoy your vacation.
In the name of our whole staff I thank you for your praise. Everyone is very proud of satisfying your needs during your stay in our hotel. We are always doing our best to make our guests feel at home and so your praise is very motivating for everyone.
I’m looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews