We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
221
71
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
71
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomthe busfree soft drinksminute walkski hirereduced costfree buffetstart endmain liftsregular busestourist infoski roommain courserooms are spacious and cleanboot roomevery nightswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We recently spent two very enjoyable weeks at the Hotel Daxer, Zell am See and can thoroughly recommend it. It has a peaceful, elevated location with a lovely view of the lake from our balcony and the terrace and an excellent half-hourly bus service to the town. The hotel has an informal and friendly atmosphere with efficient and helpful service from the hard-working owners and staff. Our room was comfortable and scrupulously clean. The food at the Daxer is outstanding, with a wide choice of expertly prepared and well-presented meals.We very much appreciated the afternoon tea and snacks and the provision of self-service soft drinks, chilled water and tea and coffee all day - all included. The summer card which was provided enabled us to take full advantage of the mountain lifts in Zell and neighbouring Kaprun, and also covered entry to many attractions such as the lovely Sigmund Thun gorge, and bus journeys for just one euro within the area. The trip to the Kitzsteinhorn summit at over 3,000 metres was breathtaking experience,and free with the summer card. It was good to have a quiet, relaxing retreat above the bustling town which, although very attractive, could be busy, noisy and very hot in the scorching June weather. If we return to Zell am See it will certainly be to the Daxer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have lovely views and are cooler in hot weather.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PatBridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Came here for a walking and cycling holiday with my son. We had a larger room in the new wing which had two Austrian beds and a new sofa bed which was very comfortable. Room was large, very clean and more than adequate. We paid extra for the large room being 2 men and it was well worth it.
Large shower/toilet bathroom fully tiled.

The food was typical Austrian but to a good standard and plenty of it and also a wide variety of choice. The hotel are also ok with you preparing pack up after breakfast which was a great bonus. Again a lot of choice with meats and cheeses plus apples and bananas.
The hotel has indoor and outdoor pools, sauna and steam room, decking area with sun beds, storage room for bikes or skis.

Now it must be said that the hotel is well up the side of a mountain but in providing the Summer Card for free, you can get a bus (every 30 minutes) up and down the severe hill. One day we biked up and stored our hire bikes overnight, not a good ideas idea unless you are good uphill on a bike!

But advantage is you are immediately on one of two cable cars up the mountain. Great for walking and I expect even better when skiing.

Two main shops hiring bikes in the town, one immediately next to where buses terminate.

Very friendly staff, great choice of food, good amenities (including children's play area), with regular buses at just 1 Euro using summer card, the hotel has a lot going for it and I would return if we revisit the Zell am See area. Also good free wi fi.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RandGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Visited Daxer in March for a skiing holiday and I can't honestly say it was fantastic. The staff are so friendly, rooms well kept and accessibility was perfect. Really enjoyed the food, something for everyone each night. I will be returning for sure!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Having read such positive reviews on the Daxer, we were looking forward to our skiing trip in March. We were not disappointed! The hotel is very warm and comfortable, the rooms a good size and very well appointed with a large bathroom and a balcony with nice views over the lake. The food was outstanding with a buffet with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. In the afternoon there were cakes and lovely snacks on return from the slopes which was just fabulous.. The free coffee, tea and soft drinks all day was a nice touch. The evening meals were superb with four courses and four mains (to choose from in the morning at breakfast). We quite like to eat out in the evenings but didn't bother as we would have been unlikely to find food just as good. The bar was very pleasant with reasonable prices too. The location is ideal for skiing with 3 lifts just across the road meaning you avoid the queue at the City Express in the town. The town itself is a good 20 minutes walk away but much longer up the hill to come back. However the bus is free with your lift pass and taxis aren't expensive. In terms of the skiing, There are some nice runs though it is a fairly small resort. However the lift pass covers the glacier skiing at Kaprun (about 40 minutes on the free bus) where there are excellent slopes and the snow is better in the late season as you are much higher. In conclusion I cannot recommend the Daxer highly enough ... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeMcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

enjoyed family skiing trip with 2 young children,proximity to ski lifts an added bonus in the mornings.Children were well catered for with plenty of choice from extensive breakfast and evening meal. While there was a set choice for the evening meal there was also a lovely salad and hot buffet for even the fussiest of eaters.The provision of unlimited hot and cold beverages (non alcoholic) was appreciated by all, especially on return from the ski slopes. The pool was an ideal size for the children. Would be very happy to return to this hotel again.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank greenbear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews