We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rose(Mayrhofen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 157
US$ 153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Manni(Mayrhofen)
US$ 185
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Mayrhofen)
US$ 194
US$ 187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 378
US$ 327
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 206
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 197
US$ 172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 393
US$ 374
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Edenlehen(Mayrhofen)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
282
75
20
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
75
20
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch bellsski busitalian buffetwonderful hoteltraditional hotelthe main hotelbilla supermarketfood is excellentsuperior roomski roomvenisonaustrian charmtrain stationunderfloor heatingfamily runhalf boardevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

My family, friend and I recently had our first ever weeks stay at the Alpenhotel Kramerwirt and were not disappointed.

I was a little apprehensive at first, as I knew the hotel is directly opposite the Church, some 25 meters distance. My/our concern was the Church bells, as we had experienced issues with the bells on a previous ski holiday Solden, thankfully we were not disturbed by them as we were located to the rear of the hotel in a Superior Room.

The transfer from Innsbruck took little over an hour and the coach dropped us directly opposite the entrance to the hotel. The reception and check-in on arrival were without any hitch, it's not the largest of areas for luggage/skis etc, thankfully we were only a party of six checking in and could all fit in the lobby/reception.

As dinner was being served we were advised to quickly get ourselves settled into our rooms ASAP, but a table was reserved for the duration of our stay. I have read some comments about the quality of food, but I can honestly say as a seasoned (not old) traveller, for a half board basis, this is probably the best evening meals I have experience, yes some were better than others, but one the whole it was excellent. My only gripe was having to pay for tap-water - frankly a bit of a cheek when we were paying 27 Euros for a bottle of wine with our meal. The breakfast was perfect for our group, yes some of the hot food was lacking, but there was sufficient bread, cold meats, cheeses, locally produced jams, cereals on offer.


The Spa area on the roof terrace was perfect to unwind at the end of a hard-day's skiing and has some perfect views, but it certainly will not be to all tastes.

Our room, a superior room on the third floor of the hotel was perfect - a lovely large bath with over-shower and copious amounts of hot water. There is no kettle; so for those who like a decent cuppa in the morning, bring your own or alternatively hire one from the hotel. There was only one minor issue with noise pollution one night (as we slept with the windows open) generated from revellers leaving the sports bar to the rear aspect of the hotel. Take your choice - the bells to the front or the occasional revellers at night. That said and done, the area around the hotel in general was quiet at night, unlike some of the noisier areas adjacent to the Penken Bahn.

On the lower ground floor (access via stair or lift) you'll find a decent sized ski room with sufficient racking and also boot warmers - there are no ski lockers, but ski can be secured to the racking using a cable-lock. However, many left their skis un locked and there were no reports of any equipment going astray. The ski-room is locked at 19:00, so for those who like a decent après-ski, you'll need to contact reception to have it unlocked.

Your area ski pass cover the bus travel - which stops directly to the front of the hotel and run every 10 minutes and take you to alternate sides of the main Penkenbahn Gondola - you can walk it if you so wish, but it is approximately 10 minutes. One of the buses will also stop at the railway station where you can catch the free bus to the Hintertux Glacier approx. 40 minutes away (your area lift pass covers this) Alternatively you can catch the free train service to Zell am Ziller and further down the valley. For those who don't wish to carry their skis or equipment - there are secure locker below the gondola available for a small..ish charge of 5-8 Euros a day depending on the locker size.

The staff of the hotel were perfect, particularly Christian and the owner's wife - Mrs Kroll, who gave a very warm welcome. Well done!

We are already planning a return next season - thanks Mayrhofen and the Kramerwirt for making our stay almost perfect - no pun intended, but we will be back.

Stayed: January 2018
3  Thank Hotfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Kramerwirt 20th January for one week travelling on a package deal with Crystal. On arrival we were upgraded free of charge to a superior room with balcony which was spacious, comfortable and clean. Shower en-suite was clean and modern with hot water always. One very small niggle was the extremely flat pillows. We asked reception for another pillow which was provided with no hassle. Our balcony was right opposite the beautiful village church which did have very loud bells as stated previously but we just slept with the windows closed and earplugs so we are not complaining! They start at 7am so it's not like they are chiming all night anyway.

The food was very good all the time. Plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner consisted of starter, soup, main course and a salad buffet, followed by a desert. We had wine most nights and provided we asked for water at the time of ordering the tap water is free. Christian was our waiter most of the time and he is very courteous and attentive. All the staff in the hotel are very professional.

We are experienced skiers and whilst Mayrhofen has plenty of skiing, we like to explore a little so we took the train 2 days in a row and skied in Zell am Ziller and Kaltenbach which are 15 minutes and 25 minutes respectively. The train journey is very easy and free with the lift pass and is no hassle whatsoever. We definitely recommend it if you're an intermediate or advanced skier. Both these resorts are good and can provide plenty of amusement for a day or more.

On the last day we got the green line bus from outside the Apothecary in the high street which is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and had a day skiing the Hinterux glacier. This journey is 35 minutes but again all very easy to do. It was rather windy on the glacier but the snow was excellent.

We found all the mountain restaurants in the whole area to be of good quality with clean WC's and facilities.

On our transfer day the coach back to the airport didn't pick us up until early afternoon so we spent the morning walking along the riverside which runs along next to the train line. It was a lovely walk with stunning scenery. Well worth doing if you have a few hours to kill or if you have a non-skier in your party.

Back to the hotel, we didn't use the spa facilities as we are not too keen on the naked policy but then we're not huge spa fans anyway so no big deal there. Overall we would thoroughly recommend the Kramerwirt so if you're thinking of booking it just do it! It's great. Would we return? Absolutely yes if we came back to Mayrhofen. We're sure it would be lovely in the summer also.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I have stayed in The Krammerwirt every year for 10 years and stayed on all sides of the hotel, a bit of an expert. This year I had the nearest room to the bells on the 4th floor and I sleep with the window open. Lets clarify, the bells chime a single note regularly then at 7.00 am do a proper chime. If your a seasoned traveller and have sensitive hearing, take earplugs, you will sleep like a log ! I did ! Actually bells ringing and snow falling adds to the whole charm of the village.
Don't let the tiny few negative reviews put you off, Alpenhotel Krammerwirt is wonderful with management and staff that treat you as family.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, I have no preference
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

An excellent base for a winter break. Service, food and reception by the staff is superb. Good for skiing or walking. The room we were in had more storage space than we have at home. There is a sauna on the top floor but be prepared to go in naked. The only downside is that there is no swimming pool.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Stop and go no further. If you are looking for an authentic Austrian hospitality experience in Mayerhofen then the hotel Krammerwirt delivers on all levels. I stayed for a week over NYE 2017/18 with my partner and daughter (9) and we had a perfect holiday in this delightful Tirolean resort.

The hotel has been operation since the 1650s so expect an abundancy of homely charm, wooded furnishing and a general cosiness in the glowing feeling of staying at a quality alpine resort. Located around a 7min walk form the main Penken Gondola and with the added advantage of the ski bus stopping directly outside the hotel is perfectly located to explore Mayerhofen.

We booked our stay directly on the hotel website, the newly refurbished premium comfort rooms (with half-board) that slept the 3 of us comfortably. The décor and bathrooms were clean and modern and with the added bonus of an outdoor terrace to watch the thick snow come tumbling down in the evening.

After a day’s skiing, the extensive spa area, complete with breath-taking view, is perfect to unwind in and soothe sore muscles before gearing up for a hearty Tyrolean dining experience.
The restaurant was excellent. 4 course meals in the evening, good wine selection and an extensive buffet breakfast meant that often lunch wasn’t required. Our waitress, Leija, was lovely and really looked after use throughout our stay.

Staff in general were great, particularly the owner Mrs Kroll who was always very welcoming, friendly and evidently has a talent for remembering names!

Overall 5-stars and will return on my next visit to Mayrhofen.

Chris, Victoria and Johanna.

Room Tip: Book Direct to get the best rooms
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevoIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews