We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 euro for a salad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forellenstuberl

Forellenstuberl
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 25
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 euro for a salad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I ordered a shnitzel which seemed a reasonable price. It came with a salad which was nice. When the bill came the salad was actually an addition and expensive at 5euro considering how small and basic it was. Food tasted ok, but I had a bitter taste in my mouth leaving. beware of hiden charges.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJQShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    11
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great healthy food and great service. The best in the area.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indoguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medveja, Croatia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We've had very good meals and wines for reasonable prices.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ValeMedea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is not a very fancy place and they pretty much only do fish, but what they do they do really well! As the name suggests, they specialize in fish dishes, in particular trout (forellen) & rainbow trout (lachforellen) of which there a number of dishes each. They also have a few non-fish dishes, but they seem mostly to be there for any non-fish-eating friends who might be part of your company.

We had the matjes trout and the cold smoked rainbow trout for starters and the "Müllerin" trout and rainbow trout roll with ham and spinach for our main course. All was very good, but the starters were especially so. The service was fast and efficient and prices were very reasonable and we even got two small shots of brandy as a special gift from the kitchen when we were about to leave!

All in all, we really enjoyed our evening at the Forellenstuberl and look forward to coming back the next time we're in Mayrhofen. A great little gem it is.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratatosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

WE visited this restaurant twice in the past 2 weeks after being tipped about it by a friend staying in Mayrhofen. We had passed it many times in the car and had never noticed it. Excellent fish and lovely informal atmosphere - the place wa buzzing whcih is always a good sign. We had to share a table the first tie theplace was so full. Great place if you like fish - so fresh.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forellenstuberl also viewed

Mayrhofen, Tirol
 

Been to Forellenstuberl? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing