We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
123
22
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
22
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nativity scene on site restaurant min walk fitness facilities heated swimming pool xmas eve stayed here indoor smoking fantastic pool excellent ski comfortable room spar shop excellent holiday lift station fantastic week gala dinner buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Great hotel. Good food, lovely staff, really well placed for both gondolas. Short walk to either, and we were given a free ski locker up the Penken which was great. The hotel also runs a free taxi service to the lifts if you don't fancy walking. It's just outside the main town so nice and quiet, but only a few minutes into the middle if you want some nightlife. Good English spoken by most staff and the owners are lovely people.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank musher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieHundsbichler, family Hundsbichler at Hotel Edenlehen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear musher43,
thank you for the really nice feedback!
We are glad that you felt so great in our hotel and that you enjoyed your holiday time.
Hopefully, see you again :)

Yours, family Hundsbichler & the Edenlehen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I stayed here unfortunately only for one night as they were booked out for the other days. I had a small but cosy Single room which although it had no balcony, which I love, was perfectly fine, lovely bath however I didn't get to use it as there is a great spa area and a super pool. The pool is inside and swim outside. When outside it was amazing to swim around in the warm water looking up at the towering snowy mountains and breathing in the clear, cold air.
I had half board and the food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast, huge choices, hard to know where to start - or finish !
I was really sorry to have to leave the next day however I am going back, this time for 3 days, again fully booked for other days, and I can't wait, very much looking forward to it.
Great location, a nice walk to the Penkenbahn, maybe a bit far in ski boots but I always use the locker at the top or bottom of the station to leave ski gear. I think if you are booking directly and staying for a few days at the hotel they provide lockers at Penken, not sure but must check it out.

Room Tip: Single room is small but I would have liked a balcony but none available.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieHundsbichler, Familie Hundsbichler at Hotel Edenlehen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Rebecca G,
thank you for taking time your kind holiday feedback.
We are happy that you could enjoy your holiday time in Edenlehen.
Thank you for all the praise of spa area, food and location - we hope you will visit us again :-)
Yes, that is right - we offer for "private bookers" lockers for free at Penken mountain station.

Yours, family Hundsbichler & the Edenlehen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Stayed there again this Christmas after a wonderful experience a few years ago. We wondered whether it would be as magical the second time but we needn't have worried. Once again we received a warm welcome. The room was spotless, my wife wanted to leave our clothes and take the Duvet's home! There is a good choice at breakfast (though mainly cold options). The evening meals were invariably excellent with a choice of 3 meals + a veggie option. On Xmas eve, we had the magical experience of standing in the snow, around a fire listening to local singers musicians play Xmas songs/carols. The stars glowed on their little chapel and the nativity scene in the summer house was simply beautiful. IT REALLY felt like Xmas. THen in for a 7 course gala dinner - the food was superb. On Xmas day we were swimming outside the indoor/outdoor pool - good fun! This time we also went on a guided walk with their own guide Thomas - there was 8" of fresh snow walking up the valley - again - Austria at its best. And to cap the week I was allowed to escape for a days skiing - again with Thomas - around the Penken. It said only very fit and experienced skiers but in fact I found the day quite leisurely (although we did stay on mainly reds & a couple of blacks). I don't think you will find many British guests - we were the only couple on both our stays but all the staff speak good English and we always had an English menu/newsletter. Only downside for us was that smoking is still allowed in the bar after dinner so it got quite smoky - you forget how awful the smell and taste of smoke is after all these years. That said - they seem to allow smoking in other Hotels/bars as well so I presume Austria doesn't yet have the blanket ban on indoor smoking that we have in the UK.
We now have a grand-daughter so I was shocked when my wife said that she wanted to do it again in a few years time - but for a lovely peaceful traditional Xmas, we would not dream of going anywhere else.
But even if its not Xmas, they offer some ski-guiding, local walks, transport to the Penken lift and 10% off ski-hire at Intersport. And its only a 10/15 min walk to the railway station.
It is a traditional Austrian family run hotel, spotlessly clean, good amenities, great food - fully recommended.

Room Tip: The Finkenberg rooms are South facing but the Hotel is in the shade from around Mid Nov to Mid Jan as is the whole of that end of Mayrhofen.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieHundsbichler, Familie Hundsbichler at Hotel Edenlehen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Chris W,
WOW thank for taking time to share such a wonderful review of your holiday :-)
We are very happy about your 5 out of 5 points... and also that you enjoyed your holiday time in the Edenlehen.
With smoking it is very difficult - we want to do it right for anybody, so now it is allowed from 9.00 p.m. just in the bar area.
Thank you for the whole recommendation and listing of our services - we are glad that you noticed all these things.
Hopefully, we can welcome you again :-)

Yours, family Hundsbichler & the Edenlehen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here in August and used it as a base for mountain walking in the Zillertal area. Everything about the hotel is great. Clean comfortable room, good night's sleep, food that would qualify as an excellent meal out in the UK every day. Friendly helpful staff. Everything high quality. We were out most of the time so didn't use the health and fitness facilities - apart from the pool, once.
There is a Spar shop about 200m away where they will make up a filled roll for you if you need pack ups for walking. We did, and know this is useful information.
We got the Ziilertal Active Card though the hotel which gives rides on cable cars, buses, etc. V useful. Lots to do outdoors - we were walking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeandPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenlehen, Family Hundsbichler at Hotel Edenlehen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear MikeandPB,
wow - thank you for your very kind holiday feedback.
We are happy to heat that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel.
"THANK YOU" from the whole Edenlehen crew ;-)
Hopefully, see you next time.
Yours, family Hundsbichler & the Edenlehen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed here for the Snowbombing festival and had a fantastic week. We decided to rent a ski locker at the lift station so as not to have to carry skis back and forth each day which was worth every penny (especially slightly hungover!) The hotel is just over a 5 minute pleasant walk from the centre and meant we did get some sleep! There was also a Spar shop at the end of the road as I never made it to breakfast - however by my partners account it was a basic brekkie anyway! We paid extra for the dinner which was traditionally Austrian and 4 courses which filled us up and was definately worth it. The staff were great and really joined in with the spirit. The pool was also fantastic. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenlehen, Familie Hundsbichler at Hotel Edenlehen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear downo,
wow - thank you so much for taking time to share your great holiday feedback :-)
We are glad that you enjoyed your festival time in our hotel.
Thank you so much for all the kind words above :-)
See you, hopefully, soon.

Yours, family Hundsbichler & the Edenlehen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews