We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
453
201
55
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
201
55
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel guests tauern spa infinity pool self service restaurant sauna world rainy day dessert buffet dining experiences salt water pool pretzels rent bikes water world sauna area included in the room rate wonderful destination winter months great opportunity
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this hotel whilst competing at Ironman 70.3 Zell am See.

- The setting of the hotel is unblievably scenic. The view from our room was amazing and peaceful.

- The staff were all very helpful, polite, enthusiastic and went above and beyond to assist in any way they could.

- Very spacious, clean & modern facilities/ rooms.

- The food was great. Lots of variety and even plenty for our fussy children to choose from :)

- Regular buses from the hotel made getting to Zell am See/ Kaprun very simple.

The only thing I would like to complain about is the weather. Please do better next time Tauern Spa! Snow in August!?! :D

We will be back! Thank you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank manxfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUERNSPA, Executive Secretary at Tauern Spa Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear manxfitness,
it is a pleasure to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful words and recommendation. Our team is very happy to receive your great feedback. Looking forward to welcome you soon again and promise to smile the bad weather away for your next stay with us. See you soon and take care.
Cornelia Kugler, BA
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

was perfect but it doesn’t have AC and the weather is too hot
The staff was very friendly and good with us except one in the food area
The drinks in the dinner so much expensive the cola is 3.5 euro !!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank m_kamal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUERNSPA, Executive Secretary at Tauern Spa Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear m_kamal87,
thank you for your review about your stay with us at TAUERN SPA. We are proud that we could meet your experiences and provide you a great holiday. Feedbacks are really important for us as they show us how we can improve our services and quality. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to convince you that we can do it better. Looking forward to welcome you in Kaprun.
Cornelia Kugler, BA
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The stay at this property surpassed our expectations greatly. During our stay, a renowned Champions League Soccer Team stayed at the hotel for training, coaching and wellness. I am not big into soccer, but they must have been famous as they gave autographs to kids in the lobby. However, everyone was very courteous and respected their privacy, which spoke both to the professional conduct of the staff, and the level of guests.

I stayed for three days with my wife, a friend from Australia and a friend from Nevada and a friend from North Carolina. Once we explored the hotel's own thermal suites (we were mostly by ourselves in all of the brand new saunas and steam rooms - all which overlooked the snow-capped 10,000 ft Kitzsteinhorn and surrounding alpine peaks through huge panoramic windows) we knew this was a great choice.

Once we headed over to the public bath & thermal suites (even more saunas, steam rooms at various temperatures), we were convinced even further. Everything is brand new. The indoor and outdoor pool landscape for families is quite large, and the nude area featuring a very large outdoor nude pool, terrace and lawn, are all surrounded by majestic snow-capped alpine peaks (we were there end of July), and brand new.

Infusion ceremonies: everyone who knows european spa resorts (especially in the alpine regions of Austria and Switzerland), knows about the infusion ceremonies which are celebrated at specific daytimes. We tried to catch one at every full hour and enjoyed everything from cleopatra milk cremes, to salt rubs, to honey treatments - all while the hot stones in the Finnish sauna are infused with water and essential oils for aroma treatment.

The rooms: cozy, not overly plush in decoration, rather simple and reduced, but not "barren or naked". Heavy but modern curtains and comfortable seating areas, as well as modern bathrooms were all as expected in the 4-star Superior category. The beds were OK.

The interior: is modern and quiet, nothing outrageously eccentric in design, but all pleasant and soothing. The decor has the typical modern design-chalet style we so much love in many 4-5 star properties in Austria which emphasize on sport, the culinary experience and wellness.

The food: wow! This really surpassed my expectations. I have seen a lot of great hotels around the globe and also really fantastic wellness and spa resorts in the Alps. But: the half board service included in the room rate consists of a really good breakfast buffet and the typical 5+ course dinner. Now, due to great weather we had our dinner table outside in the center court, underneath the Kitzsteinhorn glacier and alpine peaks. Dining there in the fresh but perfectly tempered evening atmosphere, while the sun's last rays bounces off the rocky mountain peaks right above us, went beyond the regular for us. The dishes were prepared perfectly in every way, and our critical palates were surprised by creative combinations and tastes. Ingredients seemed extremely fresh and all organic. The multi-course tasting menu dinners (included in the reasonable room rate) also featured a gigantic salad, appetizer and antipasti buffet - which alone could have feed any hungry family with kids of any age, yet - there were several more courses served at the table + an enormous dessert buffet set up. Glad we had been burning calories hiking on the 10k ft Kitzsteinhorn Glacier during the day.

Don't waste time before venturing over to the big "therme" baths through the underground tunnel and head into the thermal suites to catch the next infusion "Aufguss" ceremony. You'll regret not having enough time in the thermal suites for all the wellness experiences.

On day 3 we were off to Venice, but everyone said that we could easily have stayed a few more nights at the Tauern Spa Kaprun and were looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The €20 upcharge per night for a room with a view of the glacier is worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUERNSPA, Manager at Tauern Spa Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear PlatinumGuest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the TAUERN SPA.

We are truly happy to hear that you have had such a nice time in the TAUERN SPA and that you have had the chance to explore everything we have to offer in detail. Furthermore, we are really delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Moreover, thank you for describing the lovely food experiences you have had. It is pleasant to hear that you have enjoyed your culinary experiences.

Thank you for your recommendation and we would be very happy to welcome you again soon.

All the best from Kaprun.

Georg Wiesauer, BA
Assistant SPA Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Great spa, the view outside is magnificent. It has an area for children too. Pools both inside and outside. Could have included saunas in the general admitance price. A big parking lot outside. A very fun place

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank vladm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUERNSPA, Executive Secretary at Tauern Spa Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear vladm21,
so many thanks for your feedback about your stay with us. It seems that you had a lot of fun a great day! Thank you and looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Sunny greetings from Kaprun.
Cornelia Kugler, BA
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Anything you want for reading in One wonderful place. Dell organize and big waterpark for whole Family and quiet, sophisticated sauna park for adults with amazing views from sauna Windows or open air bacony pool. Romantic and High class served dinner. Fully equiped rooms welcomes with bread, salt and water. Definetly worth the price

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Milena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUERNSPA, Executive Secretary at Tauern Spa Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Milena L,
so many thanks for your feedback and recommendation about your stay with us. It is a great pleasure for us providing you a joyfull and relaxed holiday. Looking forward to welcome you again at TAUERN SPA and send you all the best from Kaprun.
Cornelia Kugler, BA
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews