We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a motley collection of rooms from times gone by” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plains Historic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plains Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Plains B&B and Inns
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
595 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“a motley collection of rooms from times gone by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our second visit to the Inn---big rooms, each decorated based on a past decade---we were in the 1940's room---comfortable, clean and everyone is "Southern-friendly". If you are anywhere near this area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
50
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is one of the warmest & most comfortable places we have stayed. Looking forward to finding a weekend when can come back & attend church with President Carter. Want to organize a trip with friends a rent the entire inn. The photos on web do not do it justice. Rooms & common area are clean, comfortably & beautifully decorated, great beds & sheets & towels. Welcoming staff - they act more like hosts welcoming you into ther home . (We shy away from small inns & b&b because we like our privacy & quiet, so do not want to deal with overly talkative& possessive owners.) this is not like that - very professional but welcoming& warm & respectful of your desire not to converse all the time.

Room Tip: Look at web & pick your style. All fit the era they mark and are large ( very), clean & mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinnd, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stumbled onto this place by sheer dumb luck, with no plan of spending more than an hour in Plains. When I found plenty to keep me enthralled for a day and a half, I was sorry to learn that there was no place to spend the night. Word had it that the only place in town had only a few rooms, and those were all booked long in advance. Yet, I wandered into the Inn just because I was wandering through the shops on Main Street, and lo and behold, a cancellation had left the CHOICE 1920's suite open for the night, and Innkeeper Jan graciously welcomed me.

What a delightful stay! I can't say enough for the warmth of the people and the place. The suite was very roomy, comfortably appointed, very clean...the MOST comfortable bed and pillows I've ever experienced in a hotel. The period furnishings were fabulous, and just put the whole experience over the top! The common areas led to delightful meetings with other guests, and rocking chairs on the 2nd floor veranda proved to be a favorite spot of mine...overlooking Main Street, the famous Train Depot and a lovely park, with the entire town dripping in MONSTER wisteria, dogwood and azalea blooms, it was truly a li'l bit o' heaven! The housekeeper Ruby keeps the entire operation clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Oh, and lest I forget to mention...President Carter was teaching Sunday School class, and Innkeeper Jan made sure to hold a front row seat for me!!! The epitome of Southern Hospitality! President Carter was awe-inspiring; a true Prince of Peace, if ever there was one!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 1920's suite. SUPERB! Enjoyed viewing the other suites prior to them being occu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Even if you're not a Jimmy Carter fan, this hotel offers so much in comfort, luxury and good old fashioned southern hospitality you really shouldn't miss it! Nestled in the country, the amenities of the Inn provide a wonderful place to rest and relax. The rooms are all decorated in a different decade theme and are so cute, clean and cozy you won't want to leave. The Inn Keeper, Miss Jan, will make you feel right at home and provide everything needed to make your stay a great one. If you are a Jimmy Carter fan, which my husband and I are, you're in the perfect place to soak up the history. The National Park Service has done a fabulous job of restoring President Carter's boyhood home as well as his campaign headquarters in the old train depot. And there are plenty of gift and antique shops to satisfy your collector instincts. When staying at the Inn try and reserve the 1970's room. It's the Presidential Suite and is absolutley exquisite!

Room Tip: Go for the best and reserve the Presidential Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

There are 8 rooms in this upstairs historic inn decorated for each decade of President Jimmy Carters life. You check in at the antique store downstairs and there is an elevator. The wood floors and decorations make this a lovely, relaxing inn. You can sit in rocking chairs on the inn's porch and look out over the main street. Some rooms have sofa beds besides a regular bed. The kitchen area is stocked with breakfast items and you make your own breakfast on your own schedule. There is a nice sitting area with couches and a large TV. Free wifi. Be sure and visit Jimmy Carters boyhood home and the museum at the old high school. My third stay at this inn in 20 months and I look forward to another relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and spacious except the 1960's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
15.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
13.9 km away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
18.0 km away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plains Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plains Historic Inn

Property: Plains Historic Inn
Address: 106 Main Street, Plains, GA 31780
Region: United States > Georgia > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,047 - ₹ 7,503
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter have joined their hometown in developing an Historic Inn & Antiques Mall located on Main Street in Plains. Each suite is authentically furnished from the 1920s through the 1980s and includes a private bath, cable TV, a smoke-free environment, and meets accessibility standards. Guests enjoy exclusive use of the common room and balcony overlooking the historic square that provides a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plains Historic Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing