We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
82
22
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
22
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake recommend this hotel austria spa furniture region accommodation summer
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My sister and I stayed there few nights in September. The weather wasn't the best but we enjoyed. The hotel is new and modern, our room was clean and serviced every day. We dined in the restaurant few times and food was delicious (beef tartar was the best). The spa is on the top floor where you can enjoy sauna with glass wall to overlook this beautiful lake.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights, September 19-22, 2016. Is this the right place for you to stay? We ask that question because it was not the right place for us. However, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel. It just wasn't the right place for us. Let me explain. We were on a self-guided, hiking/walking trip with a rental car through the Salzkammergut region (sometimes called the Lake District of Austria). We chose hotels that were directly on lakes and were walkable into the village or town. We also looked for the opportunity to swim from hotel properties. We looked for nice places, and on this trip we decided that we would be willing to spend more on lodging than we usually do to get that combination of qualities in a hotel. Seehotel Lackner fits those categories. It just didn't fit us. It was the most expensive lodging of the trip. It was the fanciest lodging of the trip. It was high- tech, ultra-modern inside and outside. The hotel is looking to attract fine wine and fine food seekers who are also looking to enjoy the pampered "spa" life of saunas and massages. It is not just a place to sleep. It's a destination. It has the feel of a hotel from an American Express credit card TV commercial for high end travelers. Picture in your mind ultra-modern with lots of stone, glass, stainless steel and wood. This hotel is in Austria, but it could be in almost any European city because it tries hard to be chic-international rather than Austrian. One reviewer called the hotel "pretentious" and I can see why it might strike someone as that. But in fairness to the hotel, that's what it's TRYING to be, and wants to be: chic-international. We are not chic-international and the overall feeling of the hotel stuck us as impersonal. The main element of the hotel that did tie it to Austria was the largely German speaking staff. Very few of the staff we dealt with in 3 days spoke English with any proficiency. We speak passable German, so it worked OK for the most part. But there were some awkward moments because of language. That was a first time experience for us on this trip to Austria and also on the 3 trips to Austria prior to this one. Kein Problem mit Deutsch! But if you absolutely need English, it might be a problem. The only other issue was bugs. The room instructions taught me a new German word, "Mucken". (By the way, if there were room instructions in English, I didn't see them). The hotel is located on a marshy portion of the Mondsee shoreline and has a long pier walkway leading to a dock on the water. The long walkway takes you over the marshy area to nice open water around the dock suitable for swimming. The dock also has a beautiful view of the Mondsee. But the marshy area brought with it mosquitoes and gnats, and the room instructions specifically tell the customers the best times to have the windows closed, open and when to use the room curtains made of netting behind the normal curtains. My wife is a human magnet for mosquitoes and we got bites. The room instructions seemed to say that this is only a problem at certain times of the year.

We can't say anything about the gourmet restaurant or vino-tek at the hotel because they were too expensive for our tastes.

So, the question remains. Is this the right place for you? And I have to say that "Yes", it just might be the right place for you. It just wasn't the right place for us. It was our misjudgement to stay there, and there is nothing fundamentally wrong with Seehotel Lackner. But we write this review in the hope that it will help you answer the question for yourself.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Out of 15 nights of eating in this area, this was the only meal we were not impressed with
A very small piece of local caught fish with not much else cost 29.00 euros
We were a group of 13 and were charged 45 euros to set the table (disgusting)
The restaurant was booked 2 months in advance and we were called to change our reservation time earlier, we were not impressed but accepted that the restaurant was busy, upon arrival we found the place to be virtually empty so we have no idea why the time was changed
The restaurant was still empty when we left
We would never go to this establishment again and the food was only okay, certainly not up to their so called 4 star status
If you don't like to be ripped off, don't go

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We have stayed at the Lackner number of times over the past years and our high expectations were always met. The food is exceptional and the quiet location on the lovely Mondsee lake not far from Salzburg add to a relaxing and rewarding overall experience. In addition the recent renovation has added a positive touch of luxury and flair to the hotel and restaurant. Mr. Lackner is a committed host and chef de cuisine and made our recent stay yet another positive experience.

Room tip: choose lake view
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 320williamtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We arrived by bus from Salzburg ( no 4 bus ) , not sure where the hotel was located , we call the hotel for directions , on the phone he did not appear to sound very helpful !!
We found the hotel , approx 5/ 10 minutes walk , from the bus station , when we arrived the owner / manager looked unkempt , untidy !!, not at all welcoming host !!! , showed us our room , then asked if was dinning there tonight ? ( we said no thank you ) far to expensive

The room , WOW , HUGE , just perfect , balcony , great view of the lake , separate , bath / shower , toilet , for 190 euros per person , per night , worth it , but let down by the host !!
Lake area by the hotel , nice relaxing , sun beds , even better view of the lake .

Mondsee is so pretty , but it appears nearly every thing shuts down after 18.30hrs !!!
( if you drive you could see more of the area )

We found a small café/bar near the lake for a meal , again the host not that friendly !!
( compared to Innsbruck , Salzburg , hotel , café / bars hosts lot more friendly , welcoming , the person in charge of the petrol station / café , very friendly , helpful , but not much on his menu , other wise we would have had a meal there .
Breakfast . at the hotel was very good , lot of choice , lots of fresh fruit , very nice breakfast area over looking the lake , waitress very pleasant , chatty , but never felt comfortable in the hotel , no atmosphere , plus the weather was poor ( raining )

In Mondsee when it rains it appears nothing to do , no shops to wander around
It gave better weather in Vienna , so we left .
Think is the weather been bit better , would have stayed just one more night , re fab room , great view of the lake

Would we stay in Mondsee again ( depends on the weather , would we stay at the same hotel NO )

Room tip: higher floor facing the lake
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joey023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews