We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
203
101
20
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
101
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto escondido great ocean views very attentive staff private beach an adventure pedasi area nice pool isla iguana pools panama paradise landscape cook administration flow relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The location on a cliff edge is beautiful, but the journey down a dirt path to get to the hotel along with poorly maintained rooms did not counterbalance the location. We had a family "suite" which was just 2 rooms with beds and no other furniture. One of the bathroom toilets did not work despite maintenance coming twice, no hot water in the shower, and the room was infested with insects in the morning as the windows were not sealed and had large gaps around them.
Better to go 20 minutes down the road to Playa Venao where there are nicer hotels where my family stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent! Although the rainny weather, everything was just fine.
Great food, cozy rooms, amazing view, everything clean and comfortable.
Really recommend this place. The road way to enter the hotel is not finished, so be careful during rainny days.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ruby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Very nice and clean rooms, two pools and great views of the ocean. The main building looks like a Tuscan villa.
The restaurant is OK.
Breakfast was delicious.
Service could be improved tho. Also the fact that they advertise a gym on there website which is non existant, was a bit of a disapointment.
Also you should have a good knowledge of Spanish as apart from the manager who is only around for a couple of hours a day nobody really speaks English.
Also make sure you have a rental car as the place is extremely secluded and it takes at least 20 mins by car to reach Pedasi village.
Also the two pools get really crowded around weekends because outside guests can use the pool for a small fee. That kind of kills the relaxed vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

After a few missteps out of Pedasi, and a few curse words for the lack of direction/signage, we finally found the dirt road leading up the hill to Villa Romana. As reported, the dirt road left much to be desired, but once we located Villa Romana, it was worth the drive. It's a beautiful property and without a doubt has one of the most unforgettable, once-in-a-lifetime views off the bluff up and down the rocky coastline. The sun on the ocean was gorgeous, the tides were fun to watch, even the beach was nice but I wouldn't recommend going there for the beach. The larger pool (only one we used) was to die for. It was warm, clean, and a great size. That said, there are a few oversights that don't match the advertisement and we certainly can't say we met the manager or anyone even resembling the manager. We don't mind the fact that we speak very little Spanish and everyone working while we were there spoke absolutely NO English. We managed with a lot of signage and fumbling to get checked in and into our bungalow. It's a good thing we're handy with our luggage because no one there was in the least bit inclined to lend a hand. We settled into our bungalow and although the view from our doorstep was unobstructed and gorgeous, over the course of our stay, a few things could have been better. Let's start with meals: we arrived (our fault, we were starving and didn't realize the restriction on meals) at 2:30, got checked in and settled in our room, and a few minutes past 3 went to the dining area for lunch. Darn it, with only two groups of occupants, lunch was over at 3 and they couldn't serve us ANYTHING! No snacks, cookies, crackers, nothing. The cook was standing right in front of us so that wasn't the problem but they weren't serving, end of story. When is dinner? They start serving at 7 pm. Wow, good thing we brought a few of our own snacks. They were willing to serve us a glass of wine and a beer however for the usual fee. You better believe we were there promptly at 7 for dinner. By our third day, they had decided to take the day off and when we appeared for breakfast (included in the reservation), there was nothing prepared or set out, the ladies in the dining area were shocked we were even there (hello, still a paying guest), and proceeded to do nothing in the way of leaning toward breakfast. Decision made for us, we placed our bags in the car (still no offers of assistance), checked out and stopped in Pedasi for a wonderful breakfast. Despite the gorgeous location and view, our bungalow was rudimentary at best. A couple of enhancements would go a long ways to making it much more comfortable - a 1st decent bedside lamp, taller and brighter, a 2nd bedside table and lamp period, at least one luggage rack, a few hangers, muted vanity and living room/bedroom lights so you're not literally blinded by the light, and a chair - easy, folding, dining, something to sit on besides the bed. Not that they're required to but have to say we were pretty much on our own when there. The staff did not even occasionally check on us if only to see if everything was okay, we definitely had the pool to ourselves because we saw no one except a gardener, who threw down a couple of pool towels for us to use, they never asked about whether or not we would be eating there to plan for whether or not they had to prepare meal/food, and for sure they never got us anything liquid (water, soda, alcoholic beverage [except upon arrival]). Have to say, for being billed as a luxury boutique b&b hotel, we were surprised and disappointed. Got to see that beautiful scenery though so there's the bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

If you like a bit of adventure, this is the place to go. Villa Romana is a beautiful place but it is not if you love the beach; way too far to walk down to a rocky setting with high waves
In Pedasi' you will find ''Dona Maria Hostal'' with a family setting you will be comfortable with it. A half hour by car there is ''Las Tablas'' a larger town.. Hotel ''Piedmont'' is a nice place for the money. My best beach is ''Playita Beach'' 32Km. from Pedasi'....the BEST.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews