We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at first, then realized it was a gem”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at the Chief the last weekend in August with our two kids. When we pulled up, i thought my husband lost it again. I was wrong. The first impression of the motel was way off base. It ended up being a great inexpensive place to stay. It was CLEAN and the motel staff worked hard to make sure it was. The double room was nice; the kids we in one room and we were in another. The only downfall was that the AC was right next to the bed and if it wasn't turned up, the kids got warm in the other room. The use of the park pass was nice and we would totally recommend their breakfast and pie deals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNTravelerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at Chief Motel for 3 nights. The motel seems very old but well maintained and very clean (at least for the things that visible to us). The staff (or the owners) were very friendly. You park right in front of the house and that save you a walk and hunting. If I go back to Custer, I will stay at the Chief again!

I have to give it a five stars. Sure, the motel is far from perfect and is showing its age, but the service, location and price make up the 5 starts rating. It met and exceed my expectation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyHWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Friendly staff,
clean rooms
comfortable beds
We don't need anything more than that - and we got it all.
Had to pay a bit more than we're used to - due to Sturgis Bike week - but that's just bad luck for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spunk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here based on reviews from TA, and loved it! Since I am a fan of mom & pop type places, this was right up my alley. Super clean (the bathroom sparkled) rooms, friendly owners. My room had a nice quilt on the bed, and I asked about it. According to the owner, each bed in the motel has a nice quilt, each one different. They've also added nice touches by planting flowers in flower boxes in front of each room! Rooms have A/C, heat, a microwave, and fridge.

The motel has a large indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna--all well-kept and clean. There is a small sun deck, too, attached to the pool complex.

The location is excellent--I walked all over town while staying here. I traveled alone and felt completely safe at all times at this motel. Finally, the owner was accommodating when I had a change of plans and needed to push back my reservation by a day.

If you are into luxe properties or chain hotels, then this is not for you. However, if you are someone who likes to patronize local businesses, and enjoy a drive-up-to-the door motel with personal touches, this is just the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdstumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Chief Motel for 4 nights at the end of July and we loved it!. Bruce & Nancy were great and very helpful. When we checked in Bruce showed us pictures of certain areas and we went to all the sights. The breakfast tickets you can get for $1.99 is a fabulous deal. Our room was perfect in size with a queen bed. Lots of places to put suitcases and hangup clothes. We did not use the huge seperate pool area, but we found it got plenty of use and wasgreat for all ages.

Room Tip: We found the motel to be very quiet even when travelers were coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.4 km away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
267 reviews
1.2 km away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 km away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 11,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing