We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cabin central to Black Hills”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tenderfoot Creek Tenderfoot Creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Tenderfoot Creek
Tenderfoot Creek
Driveway
Backyard
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
William M
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highway is an issue if your looking for quietness!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is very nice and the location is great as far as being close to sightseeing venues but sitting on the porch talking to my wife was really loud. I finally would pause the conversation until the traffic passed. If that issue doesn't bother you then I would stay here. There is no AC which wasn't an issue in late June. Sheralin was very helpful with any issue We had Only complaint is road noise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice cabin
Liked least: Road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treeharp
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin central to Black Hills”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a well maintained 2 bedroom, one bath cabin. Fully stocked kitchen, plenty of dinning space and comfortable living room. I'm rather picky about mattresses, and this cabin had neither too hard or too soft. (The 3 bears) it was just right! Cabin is between Hill City (6 miles) and Custer. Quiet. Turkeys is the yard every morning. Deer at night. Cable tv too. There were 4 adults in this trip. The only drawback was one bathroom. That kind of delayed us getting out every morning. Otherwise, very nice place with WiFi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

After much research into hotels, B&Bs, and a variety of cabins in the Black Hills, my husband and I chose Tenderfoot Cabin because it seemed to offer the most for a very reasonable price. Our vacation plans were to tour as much of the Black Hills as we could; Tenderfoot Cabin was centrally located, enabling us to easily reach all points of interest. The cabin was very clean, and offered all the amenities of home. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, plates, bowls, flatware, glassware, etc. All a guest really needs to bring is whatever food she may want. There were also supplies of books, DVDs, and indoor and outdoor games. Prior to arriving, I'd looked up the location of the cabin on Google Earth and saw that the property was adjacent to a main highway. I worried that we'd have the noise of traffic, but it turned out to be a non-issue - the highway is up and the cabin is down in a little valley. We were visited by white-tail deer each evening, and the creek that borders two sides of the property added the "music" of moving water to our enjoyment of nature from the porch. My husband was grateful for the DISH satellite TV and I was glad to have WiFi for making last minute map checks and reservations for tours and dining. We would stay here again, without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost all the comforts of home
Liked least: The beds were softer than we like, but we're picky about having firm mattresses. Yet, we slept just fine each night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestnutT...
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, perfect cabin in an excellent location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Tenderfoot Creek cabin was the favourite of our family during our vacation (we stayed in three cabins between Montana and South Dakota). The cabin itself is beautiful, spacious, very charming, and the perfect to spot to unwind. Numerous times we saw deer just outside our window (including a mom with two babies).
The cabin is equipped with everything we could possibly think of - from very comfy beds, a waffle iron, BBQ... right down to the inclusion of the movie "Frozen" tucked among the DVD's (an exciting find for our kids). The attention to such details - big and small - made us feel right at home.
The management maintained excellent communication, and were extremely helpful to us. I cannot say enough about this. They were easy to access and quick to provide assistance when required.
The cabin itself is in an ideal location - short drives to Mount Rushmore, caves, and Needles highway. About an hour to Deadwood. The towns of Custer and Hill City are minutes away, providing everything we needed to cook in the fantastic kitchen.
At first glance, the cabin seems close to the road - but due to it's location at the bottom of a hill, and the thickness of the walls - any traffic noise was quite minimal (and also, due to the angle, rarely seen).
When we return to South Dakota we hope to return to Tenderfoot Cabin. We absolutely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing