We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Some 4 Star Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I can't rave enough about this hotel. What a wonderful surpise. Definitely ask for a room on the back side of the hotel and if it is a cool (or cold) night sleep with the window open! There are no lights shinning into your room, no parking, so the first floor is even perfect. I loved this place and could of made it my home. The common area was beautifully decorated with high ceilings, large windows and and rustic cabin appearence. This area also served as the breakfast room and it was nice not siting on top of other guests. Plenty of room for everyone! The pool and whirlpool area were clean and inviting. The staff were helpful and pleasant. They were upbeat and happy and I contribute that to the management. Kudos to you! If your guests are happy it is easy for your staff to be happy. I believe this hotel was priced perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjv2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 428 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night in late August (NOT during Sturgis.) The hotel is pretty new and in great shape. The front desk was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and quiet. Free wifi too!

I loved the waterfall in the back, but I wish it was a little easier to get out there during breakfast time. The only door I found had a typical room-key lock. Carrying your breakfast goodies and fumbling with that lock was frustrating. Maybe the door can be open during breakfast hours?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girllamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Love the western decor. Very clean. Looks pretty new. Front desk person was very helpful. Breakfast offered lots of options. Like the waterfall in the back. Wish we had stayed here a few more nights. FYI, they close for the season--end of October, I think.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiea497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nice hotel and great breakfast, but we did have some issues with housekeeping. Housekeeping didn't come to our room at all the first day...beds were still unmade, no clean towels, etc. We had to request clean towels, a box of tissues and coffee from the front desk. They did come to our room the second day, but left a dirty towel on the floor and left our clean towels on top of a wet towel on the rack. In addition, breakfast on the last day was somewhat of a disappointment as the biscuits were dry and tough, as were several of the bagels. My son found a long hair in his gravy, as well. Overall a pleasant stay with a beautiful view of the hillside and a waterfall from our window, but for the price per night, the issues we had shouldn't have happened.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErrinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a well equipped king bed room with fridge, microwave & bathtub. It also had a nice little balcony overlooking the Flintstones Theme Park(!). We didn't mind the mile walk into the centre of Custer, but there are nearer restaurants if you want - not to mention the justifiably popular Purple Pie Shop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
19.4 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
19.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.3 km away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.9 km away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Custer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Custer

Address: 433 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#4 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: ₹ 7,035 - ₹ 13,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful views of the Black Hills of South Dakota at our Custer hotel. Travelers will enjoy a comfortable stay at our newly-built, non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Custer hotel, located conveniently off Highway 16. The whole family is sure to enjoy staying at our charming hotel in Custer, South Dakota. Situated in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, our contemporary Custer hotel is just minutes from several of South Dakota's most popular attractions including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. Other nearby sights and attractions include Bear Country USA, Evans Plunge and Jewel Cave, the second longest cave in the world. Unlike some hotels in South Dakota that can be disappointing, business travelers are sure to be pleased and impressed with the accommodations our Custer hotel provides. Along with breathtaking views and close proximity to many Custer, South Dakota attractions, our hotel in Custer is also located near a variety of companies such as Custer Hospital, Pacer Corporation and the US Forest Service. During your visit to Custer, South Dakota, take time to relax by our indoor, heated pool and work out in the fitness center. Also, make sure you try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls. Start planning your South Dakota vacation or business trip now, and enjoy the best Custer hotel deals and rates. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Custer Hotel Custer
Holiday Inn Custer
Custer Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing