We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hampton, good location, clean, small pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hampton, good location, clean, small pool”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Not bad for being in NO. Trolly stops a half block away, to take you to the french quarter, or the other way towards the zoo. The staff was good for the most part, house keeping doesn't speak English, but what's new.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSS-PTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    272
    75
    20
    14
See reviews for
345
251
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends under my Hilton employee discount. I throughly enjoyed my stay, as did they! The girl who checked me in was very kind and informing. Rooms are clean, housekeeping does a wonderful job. We had a problem with our A/C and the maintenance man, Gary, replaced our A/C with a brand new one even though we commented on a very small rattle. Now THAT is guest service...these guys totally went above and beyond for us. It is hotels like this that will keep us as returning guests...even the five star hotels I've stayed in throughout my life would not go above and beyond for us as much as these guys did. ALSO - I am so glad this hotel offers free parking. You can feel totally safe with your car parked here overnight due to the fact that you must have your room key to access the parking lot. It's extremely close to the FQ, which is where we always spend most of our time in NOLA. It is located right on the street car line which is convenient if you do not want to fight for parking in the FQ. Hampton Inn isn't the "fanciest" hotel under the Hilton brand, but this place was actually extremely nice and we were all very very VERY impressed. I really hope this place is available next time I book!!! Note to management: You have trained your employees WELL! Kudos to you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NextStopIsWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I liked this hotel and found it to be in a great location. It was walking distance to many attractions including the beautiful Garden District. It was also along the street car line which allowed me to access other parts of the city easily. I took the street car down to the WW II Museum which was fantastic. Despite being on a main road I found the hotel to be quiet and the beds were comfortable. There was also a drug store in walking distance as well as some cafes. The hotel also had good breakfast buffet that came with the room as well as a cheese and crackers late afternoon/early evening. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. I also found the hotel to be very reasonably priced compared to others in NOLA. I was traveling for business but extended my stay to visit friends and they had recommended staying in this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaclyn1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just like most Hampton Inn properties, this location was great; clean rooms, great breakfast, problem free stay. Stayed here during the BCS National Title Game weekend and had a great experience. Great location if you are looking to stay away from all the the crazyness of the French Quarter. Also the hotel is right by a trolley stop which is very convenient. If not into the trolley, Front desk is very good at calling for a cab that will be there within minutes. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HankHill1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Well, we weren't sure about taking our 3 & 5 year old to New Orleans, and it was suggested that we stay in the Garden or University district instead of downtown. This hotel was perfect! Not a lot of young families, but family friendly. Lots of business travelers, couples, and some older families, although judging by the beads hanging in the trees, it probably rocks during Mardi Gras.

HOTEL: Beautifully decorated, very historic & unique, lovely property, private/gated parking.

ROOM: We stayed in a king suite, end unit. It was very quiet and had a nice view overlooking the streetcar line and St. Charles. Room was very large and with the pullout couch could easily sleep more than the 4 people we had on this trip. Fridge, microwave, dining table & chairs, flat screen TV, lots of storage & dressers & chairs. Large bathroom with spa tub, double sinks, and large counter. Bathroom was a little dated compared to newer Hamptons, but very nice and clean. Housekeeping was efficient & timely.

FOOD: Great hot breakfast, loved the fleur-de-lis in the waffles. Pretty courtyard where you can dine outside on nice wrought-iron sets. Cheese & crackers put out every afternoon with tea. Fresh, cold lemon water in the lobby all day and you will need it when you get back from town because IT IS HOT :) Lots of food options in N.O. We ate at Mother's & Napolean House in the French Quarter - both amazing. We also ate at the Superior Grille (next door to Hampton, serves Tex-mex) and it was very good as well.

LOCATION: Great spot midway between the French Quarter/Downtown and the Zoo & University District. Neighborhood seemed safe. Streetcar stop right next door. Very easy to get on and off and navigate with the trolley.

EXPERIENCE: Well, we LOVED New Orleans, our kids had a blast! We took the streetcar everywhere with our day passes (zoo, park, aquarium, insectarium, carriage ride, ferry ride, French Quarter.) We did the "family experience" in the French Quarter- stayed off Bourbon, left after dinner, and it was fine. People were so warm and friendly.

PROS: Whole experience with hotel, would highly recommend
CONS: Water in hotel room never got cold, but not a huge issue. Also the pool is very small, a lap pool, but we were so busy we wouldn't have used it anyway!

Room Tip: Get an end unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michigangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
211 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District

Property: Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Address: 3626 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,947 - ₹ 26,752
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breathtaking Garden District, the Hampton Inn provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations in one of the country's loveliest settings. Discover an ideal blend of Old World charm and contemporary conveniences, including a 24-hour business center, an outdoor lap pool and a welcoming range of modern amenities. We also provide a generous collection of complimentary services, including free wireless Internet, a free daily breakfast and a complimentary tea and cheese reception every evening from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Situated among beautiful architecture, historic southern mansions and oak-lined streets, our charming Garden District hotel provides a peaceful retreat near all the Big Easy's most vibrant attractions. Reserve a room today and experience genuine Southern hospitality amid the best of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden District - St. Charles Avenue Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing