We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, great foodd, great service, crummy sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Ranked #56 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked this hotel - it had a cool vibe and mid-century modern decor. The restaurant is excellent and the service was great. Easy access to the French Quarter without being right in the middle of it. However, the windows are very thin, paint is chipping off, and some have gaps. There wasn’t a huge issue with draft because of the curtains, but we could hear EVERYTHING happening outside. I am a sound sleeper and woke up several times each night because of outside noise.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mollyc440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We love hearing how friendly our staff was and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that you were woken up by noise during your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in New Orleans.

Kindly,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was excellent and, unfortunately, only one night! The room was spacious and well appointed. The building has been nicely remodeled into a classy, charming hotel. We enjoyed the retro feel of the hotel and the interior is expertly appointed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback! I love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our design. We hope to see you again next time you are in New Orleans!

Kindly,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a nice look, with industrial exposed brick, a spacious room and bathroom. We had the misfortune of having a noisy neighbor who kept me up all night. The front office tried their best, but without success. I can only assume this is a rare occurrence, but it happened to us. The hotel management is working on helping me with a partial refund. Lastly, the towels were not thick, not soft.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great feedback! I apologize that you had noise issues during your stay, I assure you that is not the norm. I am glad to hear that our staff did our best to accommodate you. I hope that you enjoyed New Orleans!

Kindly,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyone was delightful and courteous. Room 441 was super large and comfortable - no view, faces a brick wall, but that was absolutely no issue, because I prefer quiet and this room is perfect! Love the hardwood floors, the bed is like a heavenly cloud, and the "rain" shower is absolutely incredible! Dinner at Compere Lapin was amazing...(we were so full we could barely eat dessert!) Thank you for a wonderful stay - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Swampie70119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We love hearing how great Compere Lapin was and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in New Orleans.

Kindly,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, walking distance to French Quarter but enough removed from any madness. Easy to find and helpful staff. Renovation occurring in lobby but didn't affect our stay. Thanks to all at Old #77.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We love hearing how friendly our staff was and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in New Orleans!

Kindly,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Ace Hotel New Orleans
Ace Hotel New Orleans
#99 of 167 in New Orleans
283 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#84 of 167 in New Orleans
932 reviews
Central Business District
The Troubadour Hotel New Orleans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#70 of 167 in New Orleans
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209 (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 8,590 - ₹ 25,577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery is a New Orleans' boutique hotel located just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter and Bourbon Street and three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center within easy walking distance of the city's top dining, shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing