We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the French Quarter”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Hotel St. Marie at the end of May and were delighted with our stay there. We have stayed at the Hotel St. Marie at least once or twice a year for about 10 years and have always had a great experience. Our courtyard room was fresh, clean, and comfortable and quiet..and a bargain at 89.00.....We were happy to see that the bar, cafe and restaurant have reopened as, "Vacherie". The bar had a nice little happy hour and the bartender was pleasant and efficient. The front desk staff were very friendly.....We ate breakfast in the restaurant and I had a delicious plate of greek yogurt with honey, walnuts and all kinds of fresh fruits for $6...really 2 people could have shared it and my husband had a typical 2 egg breakfast that was served hot...the restaurant staff were very pleasant as well....The only slight problem we had involved the valet when we first arrived....(we did arrive early before 10)....however we have always done this and parked the car and checked our luggage at the front desk and wandered around until our room was ready later in the day and never had a problem) The valet was unpleasant and not happy that we had arrived early and gave us a hard time about parking the car....he finally relented and took the car...but we were made very uncomfortable about this...........maybe he was just stressed.... again this was the first time in 10 years that this happened....... We did take an afternoon dip in the pool and it was cool and the setting is beautiful.....but it did need to be cleaned......Hotel St. Marie is a great comfortable and safe place to stay with a great location right off Bourbon....I look forward to returning to this special hotel

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the 3rd floor or below....check website for rates and choose a courtyard room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gulfcoastgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,180 - 1,184 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

this was my second trip to N.O. and this lodging was a "10"...so close to Bourbon St. yet so quiet. The decor, courtyard and room was very.very nice.Staff so very friendly and helpful.Both the cafe and restaurant food was excellent. The restaurant dessert was "to die for" especially the peach cobbler and buttermilk pie(first time for tasting this) and had it twice. My dream would to return for a 3rd visit to N.O and staying here would be the utlimate to complete this dream

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed a couple of days at Hotel St. Marie. This is a smaller, older hotel but I would stay here again. The location was great! The staff was very friendly, check-in uneventful and it was reasonably priced!! You can certainly tell that this place could use a bit of remodeling but it was clean. The lighting is really bad, hard to get ready to go out with the lighting that is offered! Small TUBE TV, but we never had the TV on so it didn't matter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieCincinnaitOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My daughter and I spent three nights at the Hotel St. Marie in New Orleans and it was a very pleasant experience. Our room was very large, hotel staff was very accommodating and any dealings with them was pleasant. Location in the French Quarter is wonderful, and price was great. Will definitely stay at the Hotel St. Marie on future trips to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suevindianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My friends and I rented three rooms in this hotel, and our room was definitely the worst of the three, so they might have a sightly higher rating. That said, this was one of the worst hotel rooms that I've ever visited. We had a room with two queen beds. The room was very, very dark with just one small window (and no view). There was an awful smell throughout the weekend. Also, the room was located next to the service elevator, so we were startled awake a few times during our stay.

I also had an extra charge on my credit card after check-out, which I had to call the hotel to sort out the following week. In the end the charge was removed, but it was an extra hassle.

The only plus for me was the location... but there are lots of hotels in this area and I will certainly try a different spot on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadtripReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#58 of 166 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,733 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,184 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 7,777 - ₹ 21,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing