We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,914)
Filter reviews
4,914 results
Traveller rating
2,863
1,331
429
154
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,863
1,331
429
154
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews r club jazz club bourbon street desire oyster bar desire restaurant french quarter balcony room pj's coffee beautiful hotel oysters people watching club level third floor mardi gras street noise the location is perfect jackson square
Filter
Updating list...
4,483 - 4,488 of 4,914 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The location is great, we upgraded to an inside patio room overlooking the courtyard to stay away from the bourbon street noise and we had no problems and enjoyed access to the courtyard from our room. The beds were comfy and there was some outside noise, mostly from the staff carting dishes in the courtyard below us but we got used to it after the first morning. The room was a little snug but had everything we needed, just wished they had 2 queens instead of 2 doubles. Housekeeping was great. Concierge helped us print our boarding passes when the computer in the business center had some technical glitches. There is a coffee shop in the lobby but recommend that you go 2 steps across the street to Cafe Beignet for a cafe au lait and a beignet (the most delicious fancy funnel cake donut you'll ever taste!) They also have great sandwiches. On a side note, we found the place to be totally safe, never had any safety concerns during our trip. I just wished the hotel was on Royal St instead of Bourbon (bourbon is so loud, you take 3 steps and you're listening to diff music from another club, another 3 steps and blaring music from another place but hey - that's what you should expect on Bourbon St!)

We found the restaurant choices very 2 sided, either fancy and expensive or fried food galore. We managed to find a few great places that were middle of the road prices and great food: Napolean House (great hummus sampler and salads), my favorite was Attika Bar & Grill (great kabobs and drinks). The last night we went to Le Meritage for dinner but it was closed so we went to their connected and more casual dining called the French Quarter Bistro and the food was fabulous. Not a lot of action there on a Monday night but a very good meal for a fair price.

One down side was that we had to pay for wireless internet, $10 a day so that was a bit of downfall, seems like it should have been included.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbeck_hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Royal Sonesta is right in the heart of the French Quarter and is very convenient to the
streets around Bourbon Street.
Area of the hotel is good, but very close to the seedy part of Bourbon Street.
Lobby facilities excellent with great Jazz Club (Mayfields in lobby)--nightly music from
late PM on. Staff very helpful.
We stayed 4 nights, and that was all that was needed to see the sights--Jazz, Food, and tours all good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkmccau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I've stayed at the Royal Sonesta 3 times now and have had great experiences each time. This past time was for my bachelor party and I must say everyone agreed that this was a great hotel! You can't beat the location - right in the heart of the quarter. Everyone we encountered working at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fantastic and actually exceeded my expectations which is something not often encountered. (we got a bourbon balcony as well as a large two bedroom presidential suite- the suite was absolutely incredible). Bottom line, when I go back to New Orleans, this is where I want to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My wife and I recently returned from a five-day, four-night stay at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street. On the whole, we were very pleased with our stay.

First, the hotel is right in the heart of the action on Bourbon Street, with all of the fun, revelry and debauchery literally right out the front door. However, despite its central location, the hotel is an oasis in the midst of everything occurring outside. The lobby of the hotel is opulent and clean. The hotel has done a subtle job of deterring the rabble from Bourbon Street from coming into the hotel unless they have reason to (bathrooms not immediately evident, etc.), so even in the middle of everything Saturday night, the lobby was quiet. Once into the hotel, the facility is very quiet, with little outside noise audible. There is a lovely, quiet courtyard off the lobby, which offers a nice place to have a cup of coffee in the morning.

Our room was generally nice and clean, and the housekeeping throughout the hotel was very good. The bed and pillows were comfortable and there was plenty of storage in the room. Our bathroom was a little on the small side with a very tight layout. The shower had average water pressure, and the toilet took a little extra effort to flush. Nothing, however, that would prevent us from taking up in the same room again.

We did take advantage of the pool and the fitness room each a couple of times. The pool and pool deck was nice, if perhaps a little old in appearance. The pool bar was closed during our stay, perhaps due to occupancy. The fitness room is basic, with two treadmills, three elliptical machines, a stationary bike and a half-dozen weight machines. The room was a little sweaty and despite modest occupancy, was often busy, with a wait for the cardio machines.

The staff at the hotel is generally very helpful and welcoming, especially the bellmen, who were quick with a quip, a tip on where to go, and pointers on the hotel and NOLA. The only small flap with the staff was at check-in. We were early to the hotel and our room was understandably not ready. The clerk offered to give us a call when the room was ready but never did. However, it really didn't affect our afternoon, so it was water under the bridge.

One last note: Should you find yourself at the Royal Sonesta on a Sunday morning, we would absolutely recommend the brunch at Begue's. While we aren't sure how it is any other Sunday, it was truly a spectacular experience on Easter Sunday. Decadent food and wonderful service. From everything else we've heard, it is similar every week. Also, Irwin Mayfield’s jazz club in the lobby was a nice feature that would be worth your time.

In closing, my wife and I would absolutely stay at the Royal Sonesta the next time we visit New Orleans and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmengi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Ok let's make a few assumptions clear:

The Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon Street...check.
Bourbon Street is "the dirtiest street in America"...check.
You stay on Bourbon Street because you want to experience NOLA...check.

That said, The Royal Sonesta is one of the MOST Authentic NOLA experiences you will ever get. Prices are high, people are nice (to your face), and Bourbon street is one stinky place! That's New Orleans!!!

The room we were in (Courtyard View) was very nice. It was suprisingly quiet from 1am-4am (couldn't hear any street noise). The room was a typical room with two beds and a nice bathroom. The hotel is in the middle of everything and is perfect for partiers and sightseers.

**NOTE: I do NOT recommend bringing children to NOLA. It's a place for adults only. There are strip clubs on every corner and alcohol bars every two steps. So please, don't bring the kiddies.

Back to the hotel. Bellhops were polite...but they DO expect a tip. If you tip them any less than $5 expect delays or lost luggage. The front desk people are wonderfully polite to your face (just don't evesdrop on them). The hotel is georgous. The food is so-so. I recommend the seafood resturant/bar across the street--better food, better prices.

So here's the bottom line...expect to pay $$ and smell the stench that is NOLA. Expect the hotel to be polite and clean. But don't expect to see service like New York or Las Vegas offers. This is NOLA and it's like it's own little country. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews