We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say amazing?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I don't have enough words to tell you about this hotel and it's wonderful staff. The place is beautiful to say the least. The Irvin Mayfield Jazz bar is great and if you catch Irvin on a wednesday night you won't leave disappointed.
I have to give my new friends their some credit too because without them I wouldn't have had such a great trip. So, to Russell Murphy at the Consierge desk, Ebanks at the Bellman station, Malcolm and Jabari at the front door....THANK YOU! You were all wonderful to me. The kindness you showed us was very much appreciated. I can only hope you are all there when I decide to make another trip south. Again thank you.
The hotel itself is immaculate and charming. It is on Burbon Street, but you could hardly notice from inside the hotel, even pool side.
I would recommend that anyone booking at the hotel spring for a room with a balcony. You can choose to have one inside the hotel looking over the pool/courtyard or right on Burbon Street.
I have nothing but the best memories from this trip and a lot of that is Thanks to the Royal Sonesta. A++++

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleLee916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,892 - 3,896 of 4,316 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

The location is great, we upgraded to an inside patio room overlooking the courtyard to stay away from the bourbon street noise and we had no problems and enjoyed access to the courtyard from our room. The beds were comfy and there was some outside noise, mostly from the staff carting dishes in the courtyard below us but we got used to it after the first morning. The room was a little snug but had everything we needed, just wished they had 2 queens instead of 2 doubles. Housekeeping was great. Concierge helped us print our boarding passes when the computer in the business center had some technical glitches. There is a coffee shop in the lobby but recommend that you go 2 steps across the street to Cafe Beignet for a cafe au lait and a beignet (the most delicious fancy funnel cake donut you'll ever taste!) They also have great sandwiches. On a side note, we found the place to be totally safe, never had any safety concerns during our trip. I just wished the hotel was on Royal St instead of Bourbon (bourbon is so loud, you take 3 steps and you're listening to diff music from another club, another 3 steps and blaring music from another place but hey - that's what you should expect on Bourbon St!)

We found the restaurant choices very 2 sided, either fancy and expensive or fried food galore. We managed to find a few great places that were middle of the road prices and great food: Napolean House (great hummus sampler and salads), my favorite was Attika Bar & Grill (great kabobs and drinks). The last night we went to Le Meritage for dinner but it was closed so we went to their connected and more casual dining called the French Quarter Bistro and the food was fabulous. Not a lot of action there on a Monday night but a very good meal for a fair price.

One down side was that we had to pay for wireless internet, $10 a day so that was a bit of downfall, seems like it should have been included.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbeck_hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Royal Sonesta is right in the heart of the French Quarter and is very convenient to the
streets around Bourbon Street.
Area of the hotel is good, but very close to the seedy part of Bourbon Street.
Lobby facilities excellent with great Jazz Club (Mayfields in lobby)--nightly music from
late PM on. Staff very helpful.
We stayed 4 nights, and that was all that was needed to see the sights--Jazz, Food, and tours all good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkmccau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I've stayed at the Royal Sonesta 3 times now and have had great experiences each time. This past time was for my bachelor party and I must say everyone agreed that this was a great hotel! You can't beat the location - right in the heart of the quarter. Everyone we encountered working at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fantastic and actually exceeded my expectations which is something not often encountered. (we got a bourbon balcony as well as a large two bedroom presidential suite- the suite was absolutely incredible). Bottom line, when I go back to New Orleans, this is where I want to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My wife and I recently returned from a five-day, four-night stay at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street. On the whole, we were very pleased with our stay.

First, the hotel is right in the heart of the action on Bourbon Street, with all of the fun, revelry and debauchery literally right out the front door. However, despite its central location, the hotel is an oasis in the midst of everything occurring outside. The lobby of the hotel is opulent and clean. The hotel has done a subtle job of deterring the rabble from Bourbon Street from coming into the hotel unless they have reason to (bathrooms not immediately evident, etc.), so even in the middle of everything Saturday night, the lobby was quiet. Once into the hotel, the facility is very quiet, with little outside noise audible. There is a lovely, quiet courtyard off the lobby, which offers a nice place to have a cup of coffee in the morning.

Our room was generally nice and clean, and the housekeeping throughout the hotel was very good. The bed and pillows were comfortable and there was plenty of storage in the room. Our bathroom was a little on the small side with a very tight layout. The shower had average water pressure, and the toilet took a little extra effort to flush. Nothing, however, that would prevent us from taking up in the same room again.

We did take advantage of the pool and the fitness room each a couple of times. The pool and pool deck was nice, if perhaps a little old in appearance. The pool bar was closed during our stay, perhaps due to occupancy. The fitness room is basic, with two treadmills, three elliptical machines, a stationary bike and a half-dozen weight machines. The room was a little sweaty and despite modest occupancy, was often busy, with a wait for the cardio machines.

The staff at the hotel is generally very helpful and welcoming, especially the bellmen, who were quick with a quip, a tip on where to go, and pointers on the hotel and NOLA. The only small flap with the staff was at check-in. We were early to the hotel and our room was understandably not ready. The clerk offered to give us a call when the room was ready but never did. However, it really didn't affect our afternoon, so it was water under the bridge.

One last note: Should you find yourself at the Royal Sonesta on a Sunday morning, we would absolutely recommend the brunch at Begue's. While we aren't sure how it is any other Sunday, it was truly a spectacular experience on Easter Sunday. Decadent food and wonderful service. From everything else we've heard, it is similar every week. Also, Irwin Mayfield’s jazz club in the lobby was a nice feature that would be worth your time.

In closing, my wife and I would absolutely stay at the Royal Sonesta the next time we visit New Orleans and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmengi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,868 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,617 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,285 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 12,754 - ₹ 34,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing