We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,866)
Filter reviews
4,866 results
Traveller rating
2,839
1,318
423
151
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,839
1,318
423
151
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfectjackson square
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 4,866 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Very good hotel at an excellent spot smack on in the middle of the French Quarter.
Friendly and helpful staff. When I needed a dentist the concierge fixed an appointment at very short notice.
Lots of blues in town but not because of this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dirk542016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Dirk,

We love impressing our guests, and we’re glad that we succeeded in doing just that on your recent visit. Our visitors love us for our sincere hospitality and unbeatable location, and we hope both will bring you back the next time you’re in the area.

All the best,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old school hotel with stylish decor, and a grand persona . Rooms are good but get a pool access room if u can

Staff are great helpful,friendly and informal

Food was really good and the entertainment in the bar is great

A gd linked but separate restaurant is a nice 'non hotel' feel with great breakfast choices

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paul201960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Paul,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and impress you with our Southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans flair! We’re elated that you got to enjoy Desire Oyster Bar and The Jazz Playhouse, and we hope you were able to dine in the delicious Restaurant R’evolution, too! If not, you have a great excuse to come back and see us soon!

Warm regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Recently spent 5 nights at the Royal Sonesta, the R Club rooms are great includes a fantastic breakfast and cocktail hour. Patricia, Derin were great, very friendly, attentive and there to please. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueSimpson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was a birthday trip for my mom. The hospitality of the staff was top notch and the location was perfect. I didn't know about the location construction on Bourbon, but it did not impact our experience.

Room was clean and glad we got a junior suite as we needed that extra space. I could definitely see myself returning to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Nikkie,

Happy Birthday to your mom!! Thank you for celebrating such a special person’s big day with us! We’re thrilled that our team took great care of you and we’re honored to know that we’ll be a part of your memories from a fun mother/daughter getaway. We welcome you to make us a part of your birthday tradition; we can’t wait to have you back!

Best wishes,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta with my sister. There are no words to explain how amazing this hotel is. We were greeted by Malcolm outside the hotel, he ushered us in and lead us to check in. He was kind and energetic.Check in was a breeze, we arrived very early and our room was ready. The hotel room was clean and beautifully decorated. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street and the construction - we barely heard a sound. Every employee we encountered was helpful, fun, and eager to help. April helped us check out - she was so fun to talk to!

The Jazz Bar is convenient and awesome - definitely stop by if you are staying here.

Yes, there is construction on Bourbon Street, but that is not the hotel's fault.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from many great restaurants and galleries. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Lauren,

We loved having you and your sister here with us and couldn’t have been happier to receive your wonderful review! Thank you, especially, for highlighting Malcolm and April’s hospitality! They are two of the many gems on our team, and we’ll be sure to let them know that they’re appreciated. We’re delighted that you were able to join us in The Jazz Playhouse for live music, and we hope you had the chance to dine in Restaurant R’evolution or Desire Oyster Bar for some authentic and delicious cuisine to complement your experience. If not, there’s always next time, and we hope it comes soon!

Warmly,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews