We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is a very nicely appointed hotel right in the heart of the action about three blocks from Canal on Bourbon Street with plenty of entertainment and food options nearby. You are right across the street from Jazz Legends Park, an outdoor sitting area with New Orleans Jazz bands all day and night, an outdoor bar and a small food counter. There are several casual oyster bar-type places within 2 blocks, a couple of upscale eateries with nicer "casual business attire" required also within 2 blocks, including the bar with carousel in the lobby (that's about 2 blocks away and around the corner). There's also a great little bar called the 21st Amendment that's a block down Bourbon and around the corner where jazz quartets bang out Dixieland Jazz all night. If you want to head all the way over to Pat O'Brien's and Preservation Hall, it's about four blocks, maybe 10 minutes. We strolled over to Jackson Square in about 20-30 minutes our first afternoon, but we were really taking it slow; you could do it faster. You're also just two blocks from Canal which is where you pick up the trolley to the WWII Museum and the Garden District (highly recommend both).

The only problems with the hotel? As of 10-7-17, Public Works crews were still digging up Bourbon Street in front of the hotel and down in the next block to lay new pipes. This made negotiating the street difficult. They had started to re-open the block in front of the Royal Sonesta on our last day, so maybe that's getting better soon. The next block was still crammed with dump trucks and tractors, though, with only a wee narrow sidewalk on either side of the construction zone to squeeze through. Regardless of the construction, all the local businesses and bars/restaurants were still open.

Another issue some will have is the obvious one: noise. If you stay on Bourbon Street, you have to expect a lot of music and people sounds late into the night. Actually, in the late afternoon and evening, we really enjoyed the moderate hubbub from our balcony on Conti Street, about five rooms down from the Bourbon Street corner). At night, we had a white noise machine which muted a lot of the noise and made it possible to sleep. Bring a good one of these and you should be fine.

The worst problem was that at 5:58 am on our first morning, either the construction crews or trash pick up guys decided it would be a good idea to start making a noise for about a half hour that sounded like somebody was dropping large metal drums into a dumpster. Boob, boom, boom. Even our noise machine couldn't keep us from hearing that -- and yes, we had our windows closed. Yikes! Another morning, we had the engine of a Coca Cola delivery truck backing down the side street to contend with. Nothing the hotel can do about all this early morning action, I guess, but it sure ain't pleasant. Again, this was all happening on Conti. Maybe rooms on the Bienville side would be better, but over there, you have the cab pick-up spot, so maybe not if there are lot of people checking out early. If you think this is going to be a big problem, you can ask for an interior room or try somewhere else, say, over on Royal Street which isn't quite as busy as Bourbon.

One last thing, the band that plays at the bar at Conti and Bourbon is a top 40 rock band, so if you're expecting to hear Jazz lulling you to sleep or wafting across your outdoor balcony, that's not what you get on the Conti side of the hotel. The electric bass from this band does penetrate the white noise machine a bit more than if this was a jazz band with an upright bass, too. Rooms that face Bienville may be slightly more sheltered from this bar.

As for the hotel itself, it's upscale, clean, and has a very friendly staff. But then, almost everyone in New Orleans is friendly, so I don't know that they have the market cornered on that. We thought it was a nice, well-run hotel overall, though. New Orleans is a blast and so much fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on Conti Street have delivery truck noise early in the AM and a top 40 rock band at night. Bie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 4,318 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Very good hotel at an excellent spot smack on in the middle of the French Quarter.
Friendly and helpful staff. When I needed a dentist the concierge fixed an appointment at very short notice.
Lots of blues in town but not because of this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dirk542016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Dirk,

We love impressing our guests, and we’re glad that we succeeded in doing just that on your recent visit. Our visitors love us for our sincere hospitality and unbeatable location, and we hope both will bring you back the next time you’re in the area.

All the best,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old school hotel with stylish decor, and a grand persona . Rooms are good but get a pool access room if u can

Staff are great helpful,friendly and informal

Food was really good and the entertainment in the bar is great

A gd linked but separate restaurant is a nice 'non hotel' feel with great breakfast choices

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paul201960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Paul,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and impress you with our Southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans flair! We’re elated that you got to enjoy Desire Oyster Bar and The Jazz Playhouse, and we hope you were able to dine in the delicious Restaurant R’evolution, too! If not, you have a great excuse to come back and see us soon!

Warm regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Recently spent 5 nights at the Royal Sonesta, the R Club rooms are great includes a fantastic breakfast and cocktail hour. Patricia, Derin were great, very friendly, attentive and there to please. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueSimpson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was a birthday trip for my mom. The hospitality of the staff was top notch and the location was perfect. I didn't know about the location construction on Bourbon, but it did not impact our experience.

Room was clean and glad we got a junior suite as we needed that extra space. I could definitely see myself returning to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Nikkie,

Happy Birthday to your mom!! Thank you for celebrating such a special person’s big day with us! We’re thrilled that our team took great care of you and we’re honored to know that we’ll be a part of your memories from a fun mother/daughter getaway. We welcome you to make us a part of your birthday tradition; we can’t wait to have you back!

Best wishes,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
4,873 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,622 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,293 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 12,664 - ₹ 33,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing