We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$ 235
US$ 179
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 281/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Loews New Orleans Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 111
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 258
US$ 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 126
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grenoble House(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Richelieu in the French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 212
US$ 184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 139
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,812)
Filter reviews
4,812 results
Traveller rating
2,809
1,303
418
149
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,809
1,303
418
149
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingfrench doorsclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 4,812 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

we came into town for a weekend downtown and this was our first time staying at the R.S. The Hotel was stunning and the staff (starting from the gentleman outside parking our car to our wonderful Ms. Annie @ the front desk who goes above & beyond to make your stay spectacular, our experience was great! Breakfast at Desire also was superb! I had the eggs benedict......fantastic! Julie & Dave

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Julie & Dave,

We love impressing our guests and were thrilled to receive your wonderful review! Thank you for letting us know how much you appreciated the hospitality of our friendly team members and the delicious breakfast offerings in Desire. We can’t wait to welcome back on your next trip to the fabulous French Quarter!

Warm regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very disappointed with this hotel and will think twice of coming back. I have been to 100 of hotels and I understand they have conference rooms for special events and I respect that. Every company or group wants to have their own space for their venue. I am very disconcerted that they will rent out common areas like the beautiful garden in the main floor or lobby during a busy time when "all" their guests want to be outside enjoying the property. What makes it even worse is that I was already sitting outside enjoying my cappuccino bought at the hotel cafe when the hotel "police and management" comes down to tell me that I have to get out of this common area that I am already accustomed to visit. This was very rude to make a hotel guest feel like he's breaking the law in being there. I am not in their conference room or event I am just outside enjoying a coffee like I do every day. Another guest that was there was also complaining about this and we felt this was outright rude. Not acceptable. Very discomforting not customer focused and oriented. Rent out your conference rooms and buffet rooms not your common areas. I understand New Orleans real estate is expensive and very limited but you have to think on what your guest feel when they are approached by a security guard to tell them they have to move out in front of everybody. No disrespect intended but as a guest I didn't like the treatment. I would have rather have the door locked so I wouldn't have gone outside.

Room Tip: Get one with a view to Conti St or Bourbon St.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Pedro,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you enjoyed our location and comfortable accommodations. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the incident you experienced and share your perspective. We understand that you were enjoying your coffee in the courtyard, and we apologize for interrupting your relaxation. We certainly didn’t mean to upset you or any of our other guests. In the future, we will ensure that there is signage informing our guests of any scheduled private events, and we’ll ask our team members to suggest alternate locations within the hotel where our visitors may want to relax. We think you’ll like the space near our pool, and we hope you’ll come see us again soon and let you know what you think. Once more, we're terribly sorry for this inconvenience. Know that you are always welcome here.

Sincerely,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

this is the 2nd time we stay at the Sonesta in New Orleans. The staff is beyond amazing and always go the extra mile. We travel with our small dogs (2) and the staff couldn't be any nicer to them. We will only stay in the Sonesta.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank rey_delgado71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Rey,

It’s always a treat to welcome our return visitors, and we’re thrilled that our team members continue to impress you with their warm hospitality. We hope you’re a Travel Pass member so that you can earn rewards on every stay, and have the perfect excuse to bring your babies back to see us again soon!

Best regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We did an enormous amount of research before landing on the Royal Sonesta for our stay - we wanted to be right in the action but not with too much noise at night. The hotel got that part right. Other than that it’s just basic and not great value. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the pool/garden, unfortunately it was tiny (room 4703 - maybe we drew the unlucky straw). The rooms contain no items in the mini bar, even soft drink and the amenities are probably the most understated I’ve experienced - getting a bar of soap was tough. Interaction with staff is essentially nil. The hotel is fairly clean, the food in the restaurant was good but the biggest and most annoying thing for me was that there are extensive roadworks going on right on the front door step and the hotel never notified us. Whilst it’s not in their control what is is charging 100% when the offer isn’t 100%; had I been informed I would have stayed at any of the many other hotels in the neighbourhood block. If you’re considering staying in the next few weeks be warned, it’s annoying and very very noisy from 7.00am.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank charlibucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Charli,

We’re glad that you appreciated the tranquil oasis we provide in the heart of the French Quarter, and we regret falling short of impressing you with other aspects of your stay. Our guests often rave about the warm hospitality of our team members and we’re sorry if we failed to connect with you during your time here. We understand that the city’s improvement project on Bourbon Street isn’t ideal, and we’ve done our best to notify our guests about this project prior to their arrival. Regrettably, in cases that reservations were made through online travel agencies, we are not provided with contact information for our visitors and we’re sorry we were unable to contact you. We hope you’ll come see us again one day for the true Royal Sonesta New Orleans experience.

Kind regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had an excellent time at Sonesta with 2 other couples. Jazz playhouse had high quality entertainment, and revolution restaurant was excellent. Very friendly staff and perfect location for enjoying the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Ulisses G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Ulisses,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your party, and we’re delighted that you had such a great time here in New Orleans! We pride ourselves on offering an authentic and complete French Quarter experience, and we loved learning that you were able to join us for both live music and delicious cuisine. It’s truly the hospitality of our team members, however, that bring our repeat visitors back to see us time and time again, and we hope you’ll return to see us again one day soon.

Best regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews