We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,857)
Filter reviews
4,857 results
Traveller rating
2,834
1,316
423
150
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,834
1,316
423
150
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingfrench doorsclub levelperfect locationthird floormardi grasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,975 - 1,980 of 4,857 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I had a business trip and conference at the Royal Sonesta Hotel which sits right on Bourbon Street in the middle of all the action. The Hotel is beautiful (inside and out), having many amenities and tastefully equipped through out. These are a few nice little bars inside, a great restaurant and a New Orleans style atrium in the center. This is the place to stay for absolute comfort yet can walk out the front door and get your bourbon street on. only caveat for getting sleep is to get a room in the back. If you want the full New Orleans feel can get a room right along Bourbon with balcony to sit at and people watch but know you will not get any sleep.

Room Tip: For sleep after out all night need a room in the back (away from Bourbon street)
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sams171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback as a business traveler. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but please keep in mind that only about 15% of our guest rooms are street-facing, and the majority of our courtyard and pool-facing rooms on higher levels are surprisingly very quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The excellent service and customer care in this stylish hotel is quite remarkable. We arrived late morning and only had to wait a few minutes before our newly refurbished room was ready for occupation. We chose a room overlooking Bienville Street with a balcony which was close enough to the action without the constant noise of Bourbon Street. The bed itself was extremely comfortable and the pillows soft and supportive. There were 2 comfortable easy chairs but no upright chair to facilitate the use of the computer on the desk in the room however a suitable office chair was immediately supplied on request. This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the noise of Bourbon Street for a restful night
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this pleasant feedback on our newly renovated and luxurious guest rooms! Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

First visit to New Orleans and had a great time. This hotel has great sized rooms, but try to get a room on the internal courtyard or you'll hear the partying on Bourbon Street all night long. We stayed in 2 different rooms on either end of a cruise. The first faced Bourbon Street and kept us most of the night. The second was on the concierge floor and was well worth the extra cost. Free breakfast and happy hour snacks and no issues with noise at all. The pool area in the courtyard is also beautiful and relaxing for families.

Room Tip: Interior courtrooms are a must for a good nights sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank radtravels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to the Crescent City! We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxurious RClub accommodations. On your future travels, we hope you will consider one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Although the construction and renovation of the hotel makes getting a room some what harder than it will be (they are roughly at one half capacity.) the new room was charming, and the design was inspired. Let me recommend the spiral staircase two floor suite with the top floor overlooking the pool . The bottom rooms bedroom offers comfort and privacy. My wife and I have become great fans of the Royal Sonesta chain chiefly because of this French Quarter Flagship hotel. If you are looking for romance this is the location. This may be the most Romantic Lodging in the entire United States.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank TravelingTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your charming experience of your stay in one of our luxurious Split Level Suites! We are pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans met your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Service is excellent here. We just arrived a few minutes ago but we got situated smoothly to our room. The excellent service started out while Annie took her time to guide us to the hotel since we had to take a different turn and went a bit farther than we should. Kenneth with the valet staff helped us unload our things and took care of our car and parking. Matthew, who checked us in was very professional and friendly. And Wade took us to our room and helped us familiarize ourselves with hotel and the surroundings. My request is to please recognize these hotel staff for the good work they have done for their customers tonight because we're sure they will be lore than willing to do the same thing to your other customers on other days. Thank you for training your staff in the proper way of delivering customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank andrewpP1585IB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We were excited to share your comments with our team! Our hotel consistently strives to provide the most authentic New Orleans experience our guests have always imagined by offering a variety of on-site dining and entertainment options with the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans truly values your patronage and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews