We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Got The Royal Treatment @ The Royal Sonesta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Not quite sure where to start, but from the time we walked in, to the time we left the hotel everything was perfect. We were welcomed in our room with two complimentary cheese and fruit plates - a great snack while unpacking! The room was recently renovated, very clean, bright, and well appointed. The Jazz Bar was comfortable, and the service was great. PJ's Coffee onsite was a big asset for snacks, treats, and coffee. Desire was awesome, with great food and good service. And most of all we had our daughters wedding there. The Courtyard is beautiful, the service was great and the food was absolutely delicious. I can't thank Wyeth and her staff enough for making the wedding an outstanding experience. All night long our guests mentioned what a "First Class" Wedding it was. I would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bourbon Street Side / Courtyard Rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Congratulations on your daughter’s nuptials! We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and took the time to share this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,624 of 4,499 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

I had a business trip and conference at the Royal Sonesta Hotel which sits right on Bourbon Street in the middle of all the action. The Hotel is beautiful (inside and out), having many amenities and tastefully equipped through out. These are a few nice little bars inside, a great restaurant and a New Orleans style atrium in the center. This is the place to stay for absolute comfort yet can walk out the front door and get your bourbon street on. only caveat for getting sleep is to get a room in the back. If you want the full New Orleans feel can get a room right along Bourbon with balcony to sit at and people watch but know you will not get any sleep.

Room Tip: For sleep after out all night need a room in the back (away from Bourbon street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sams171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback as a business traveler. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but please keep in mind that only about 15% of our guest rooms are street-facing, and the majority of our courtyard and pool-facing rooms on higher levels are surprisingly very quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The excellent service and customer care in this stylish hotel is quite remarkable. We arrived late morning and only had to wait a few minutes before our newly refurbished room was ready for occupation. We chose a room overlooking Bienville Street with a balcony which was close enough to the action without the constant noise of Bourbon Street. The bed itself was extremely comfortable and the pillows soft and supportive. There were 2 comfortable easy chairs but no upright chair to facilitate the use of the computer on the desk in the room however a suitable office chair was immediately supplied on request. This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the noise of Bourbon Street for a restful night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this pleasant feedback on our newly renovated and luxurious guest rooms! Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

First visit to New Orleans and had a great time. This hotel has great sized rooms, but try to get a room on the internal courtyard or you'll hear the partying on Bourbon Street all night long. We stayed in 2 different rooms on either end of a cruise. The first faced Bourbon Street and kept us most of the night. The second was on the concierge floor and was well worth the extra cost. Free breakfast and happy hour snacks and no issues with noise at all. The pool area in the courtyard is also beautiful and relaxing for families.

Room Tip: Interior courtrooms are a must for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to the Crescent City! We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxurious RClub accommodations. On your future travels, we hope you will consider one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Although the construction and renovation of the hotel makes getting a room some what harder than it will be (they are roughly at one half capacity.) the new room was charming, and the design was inspired. Let me recommend the spiral staircase two floor suite with the top floor overlooking the pool . The bottom rooms bedroom offers comfort and privacy. My wife and I have become great fans of the Royal Sonesta chain chiefly because of this French Quarter Flagship hotel. If you are looking for romance this is the location. This may be the most Romantic Lodging in the entire United States.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank TravelingTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your charming experience of your stay in one of our luxurious Split Level Suites! We are pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans met your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 13,540 - ₹ 44,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing