We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just stayed for 3 days for a conference. I got in early so my room wasn't ready yet but the bellmen took my bags and they called me 30 minutes later to pickup my key to get in. The Hotel property itself is very nice. It was nice to step into such a nice place amid all the insanity of the area.My room was on the inner courtyard and the pool area was amazing. The conference I attended had breakfast and lunch down in the courtyard. Perfect place breezy and cool and relaxing.My room as nice and COLD AC was working perfect. The bed was comfy and the extra pillows were great. They have very comfy robes and slippers that I used to really settle in. The bathroom was sizable and the soap smelled amazing. The food was STELLAR!!!! Desire is one of the restaurants I ate at several times because it was that good. OYSTERS. That is a separate review. I am not a fan of the whole Bourbon Street deal but If I had to come back to the Big Easy I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard room if you like quiet and want to get good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,210
    1,096
    325
    111
    95
See reviews for
487
1,685
113
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you don't want noise all night, don't get a balcony room. The hotel is great but fronts on Bourbon St. which is nasty and incredibly loud. I definitely would stay there again, I would just be smarter about the room location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbelfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I live close to New Orleans, but to celebrate our anniversary we wanted to splurge a little by staying in a balcony room in the French Quarter. Since we live so close, we waited until the last minute to book a room, and I booked directly through the hotel website. I was able to print the confirmation of our balcony room, and we headed into town for our fun celebration night.

When we arrived at check-in, we were told that we were somehow able to book a room that did not exist. The hotel personnel offered no apology, simply stating that he could give us a room "upgrade" to a poolside patio room.

Maybe the "upgrade" would have been appreciated by travelers with different circumstances. I, however, was very unhappy to have spent the extra money to stay at RS in a balcony room and then to be put in a poolside room. The whole reason for choosing the hotel in the first place had been eliminated. In my opinion, the hotel is otherwise a lot like many other, less expensive places to stay in the French Quarter (as we have done on many occasions). This was my one and only stay at RS. Next time I want a balcony room, I will not even consider booking it at Royal Sonesta. Overall, it was a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0re_c0ffee_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Last week we were preparing to go to New Orleans for the ballgame Sunday. I called the Royal Sonesta New Orleans to check on my reservations. Well Jessica helped me. She went way over to help me, I had made reservations for one weekend with no ballgame and hadn"t made one for a weekend that had a ballgame. She is Super! Well we just got home from The Sonesta. Saturday night we were sitting one the balcony and the door handle broke, good thing my husband had his cell on him. We called down and they came and rescued us! It really was funny. The maintenance man even gave us 2 coupons for drinks!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you do not get a balcony room! Get an inside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honey_blonde101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

All staff were great and we enjoyed our pool view room as it was very quiet (balcony/Bourdon St side can be noisy). First time visit for my customers and they were very pleased. Beautiful lobby area and the Jazz Club was outstanding!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,833 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,767 - ₹ 37,129
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing